We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hospitality, exemplary service. We'll be staying again in the future...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vienna

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vienna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vienna
107 State Rte 296, PO Box 487, Windham, NY 12496   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Golf & Stay from $167
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Windham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding hospitality, exemplary service. We'll be staying again in the future...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

While we didn't have the pleasure of meeting Amy, our positive experience with Rick started before we even booked the room! Fantastic experience from start to finish! Clean rooms, excellent service, and a fantastic location. A top notch operation!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    57
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
49
92
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I used the very convenient eighty dollar mid-week-stay coupon found on the Tripadvisor site and enjoyed a spacious second story room with a pretty view of the distant hills. The well-kept room and bathroom were very clean, as were the furniture and king bed. A sign in the bathroom notes that the hotel's water source is an artesian well and may have a sulfur odor - I did notice a slight smell when showering but it wasn't a concern. Only the Jacuzzi looked tired and in need of a face lift.

The room included a new flat screen TV with extensive cable coverage plus a DVD player for the many movie titles available at no cost from the front desk (whose staff was always friendly and helpful). Sure, the fabric styles and lighting fixtures are dated, but I wasn't expecting the latest in fashion. The hotel was extremely quiet and I had a great night's sleep before an early rise to hike the Catskill high peaks.

I appreciate a hotel like the Vienna where the staff works to keep the rooms and grounds in order. Not everything here is brand new, but I enjoyed a clean, friendly and quiet stay and will return if I'm back in the Cats.

Room Tip: Second story rooms facing the mountains have a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

First off it is more a motel than a hotel. The place is neither charming nor rustic, it is just an old place in need of a major upgrade. The room was repulsive, musty and smelly. Bed linen was so outdated and had a terrible musty smell. Old, worn carpetting. Uncomfortable bed and pillows. Old TV with few channels. Bathroom was renovated with a jacuzzi-like tub but I dared not soak in the tub cos I was just so disgusted with the general atmosphere of the hotel room. We had food delivered from an outside restaurant. We were definitely not interested in the continental breakfast nor did we use the indoor pool. We would have left if we hadn't had such a long work week and driven such a long way to get there. The hallway reminded me of some, old drab western motel (like in the movies).

We get that you (hotel vienna) are a small town hotel but for the price, do some upgrading.

On the other hand, the staff seemed friendly. The hotel did have some nice scenery. But no nice views if your room faced the parking lot like ours did. We came here after reading the favorable reviews, which after our stay I can't fathom why anyone would write them. We don't plan on coming back and would not recommend this place to anyone we know.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel Vienna was a marvelous place and an exceptional value with the Living Social special. It was a nice way to meet sole proprietors who take pride in their establishment and do everything possible to make your stay with them memorable.

Breakfasts consisted of a continental breakfast with fresh baked croissants, as well as a delectable strawberry/cream cheese filled pastry, fresh fruit, oatmeal, cereals, and yogurt. They also had a variety of coffee, juice as well as teas and cider/hot chocolate packets. And in the afternoon, if you were lucky enough to be at the hotel during late afternoons, Rock made an amazing bread pudding that was simply scrumptious!

The rooms were spacious, with a private balcony and chairs, and maintained in excellent condition. Views were breathtaking, especially during last week’s peak foliage season. Jacuzzi tub/shower with hot water to spare and along with spa favorites and a welcome wine basket gave an extra flair to the accommodations.

A piece of heaven in the Catskills. Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Great places to eat within a mile of the hotel but make sure you save room for the lavish breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bellmore, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had another great family weekend at Hotel Vienna!! It's like a home away from home!! Love the people that we've met and Rick, Amy and their staff are just the nicest people!! Do yourself a favor and pay them a visit - you will not regret it!!! We will be back in January!!!! ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanticoke
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Hotel Vienna is one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed at, the host was very helpful, great place to stay if traveling through the Catskills. My wife and I traveled to the Catskills to go to Catskill Mountain Thunder Motorcycle rally.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Vienna for the weekend right after Labor Day and this was the best weekend getaway in every respect. The hotel is situated in a very small town where everything you encounter has this small town feel to it. The hotel itself is clean, quiet, and has everything you need and nothing you don't. We had a mountain view King size bed room, which was very spacious, it had a balcony overlooking beautiful trees, and we even some a bird on our balcony. The room and everything in it was clean and not outdated like some other hotels have. When we walked into the hotel to check in, there was a very pleasant smell in it and some soft music playing in the background, which made us feel right away like we were in a very serene and homey place. The dining area is very clean and organized just like everything else there, it has a fridge (there is a small fridge in every room as well), and you can warm us something in the microwave, have tea/coffee throughout the day as well as orange juice and milk. For breakfast, they serve freshly made croissants and danishes with cream cheese and jam, bananas, cereal and yogurt. If you are looking for a big breakfast, then this may not be enough for you in which case they have a breakfast place nearby, but for us this was sufficient. Maybe a little more variety of fresh fruit for breakfast would be a nice addition. The indoor pool and Jacuzzi is located in another building steps from the main one and there are towels there and two bathrooms/change rooms. The water is warm and there were hardly any people there during the day. There are also some chairs outside so you can sit and relax outside if you like. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful. I am so happy I picked this place based on the wonderful reviews in Tripadvisor and did not disappoint. We will definitely go back next year for another getaway from our hectic NYC lives.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vienna

Address: 107 State Rte 296, PO Box 487, Windham, NY 12496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European Styled Chalet located one mile from Windham Mtn and 1/4 mile from the Windham Country Club. Each room has 32" LCD TV w/DVD, Ipod docking radio, refrigerator, in room phone, private bath, private balcony, A/C, blow dryer. Continental Breakfast served daily, and the pool and Jacuzzi are open year round 10am to 10pm. Wifi available through the entire hotel, computer for guest use, living room with fireplace and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vienna Hotel Windham
Hotel Vienna Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.