We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christman's Windham House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Christman's Windham House to your Saves list
Christman's Windham House
5742 Route 23, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Windham B&B and Inns
dc
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Played the mountain course in early November and really enjoyed it even though it had recently been aerated and the greens sanded. Would love to return here and play in the summer, would provide great views in the fall. Very nice layout, challenging but not overpowering. Hole 18 is a great challenge with a green hidden down behind a large elevated pond.

Good course for long ball hitters but precision required on many.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catskill, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

This year was the 8th year of a quilting retreat at Christmans. As in the previous 7 years the owners and staff couldn't do enough to make my stay a pleasure. I look forward every year to my mini vacation at Christmans. I only wish the retreat was a full week instead of 3 days. The views from the barn where we quilt are just gorgeous. For the person who had a bug in their room, this is the mountains sweetie, we have bugs and sometimes one gets in, get over yourself and step on it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing,NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

My special thanks to Ruth, Brian, and the entire staff for such great service and making you feel at home. I can't say enough good things about the golf at this resort. Both the Valley and Mountain courses are in great shape and always well maintained. Golf prices are about 1/2 of NYC Muni prices and this is a great place for a golf weekend or week with your golf buddies. The food, breakfast and dinner, is first class. Only 2 1/2 hours from NYC to clean air, great golf, clean rooms and excellent food. Don't hesitate-book a room! And to Dylan- wishing your Grandfather a speedy recovery.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The owners and staff are wonderful. The mountain course was well kept and was challenging but a pleasure to play. The rooms were clean. Breakfast was great. There were many good choices for dinner. Bill who mans the shack at the turn always has a smile and warm food and cold refreshments at the ready. This is a great place to hold a golf outing. I doubt that you will find a more accommodating place to relax and play 18.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our room had wildly sloping floors and a few large bugs that scared my 12 year old daughter. The restaurant was closed the one evening we wanted to eat there. The hotel was not as close to the ski resort as we had been led to believe. On the up side the staff was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

my wife and i went last Minuit to the country music fest, it was a blast Linda at the desk was fantastic and the breakfast was great.The room was old but very clean,the golf course let us take a cart and drive around the course it ways amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at Christman's Windham House being part of the Parkinson's Foundation Golf Tournament - first of you could not find nicers hosts! Brian, his wife and the staff will make you feel right at home! The breakfast cooked to order was wonderful . We stayed at the Grey Rock House and the accommodation was really very good , everything very clean. Having a kitchenette, even we did not have time to use it , is a definite plus!
The view right from your bedroom is amazing. Everything is so tranquil and well kept. The golf course proshop and Tavern right across the street . If you are a golfer - the Mountain Course is a must play in Windham! Spectacular! The food after the tournament was absolutely delicious served in the Tavern - can only highly recommend it!
Thank you everyone for making our stay so perfect - we will come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christman's Windham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christman's Windham House

Address: 5742 Route 23, Windham, NY 12496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windham NY mountain resort, hotel, getaway, restaurant, bar, golf, skiing, equestrian, jacuzzi, AC, summer Pool, wireless, cell, pvt bath, newly renovated rooms, suites, efficiencies, packages, families, groups. One mile from Windham ski mountain. Great value, immaculately clean rooms, fine dining, 300 acre resort grounds, 27 golf holes, championship 18 hole course. Largest golf practice and learning facility in NYS. Family owned and managed for 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Christman's Windham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christman`s Windham House Hotel Windham
Christman's Windham House NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christman's Windham House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.