We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountaintop Moments!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christman's Windham House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Christman's Windham House to your Saves list
Christman's Windham House
5742 Route 23, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pleasant Valley Special
Ranked #5 of 10 Windham B&B and Inns
Williston, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mountaintop Moments!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A vacation getaway at Christman's, whether a weekend or, as in our case, 2 weeks, is worth the trip from wherever you are. Repeat visitors for years, we came almost 2,000 miles, and will, most definitely return next year. Why? To breathe in the fesh, mountain air, golf on challenging and aesthetically awe inspiring course(s), dine on really good food, both breakfast and dinner, and experience the restorative power of the beauty of the northern Catskill's Windham, NY. If you choose, there's a lot to do in the area. If not, Christman's has great spots to sit, read, and exhale the stress of life. The Christman family and their staff work hard to offer a consistenly GRACIOUS vacation experience to their guests. What are you waiting for? Make your reservation without any reservations!

Room Tip: Rooms with porch are BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were cancelled out of our "regular" hotel due to their pool being out of order, so called very last minute looking for 6 rooms to accommodate our group. Ruth Christman could not have been more helpful. The entire weekend was wonderful. We had the pool practically to ourselves, fabulous meals (breakfast and 1 dinner) and Brian prepared the fire pit for us each night, complete with candles. The property is beautiful, and plenty of room for us to set up croquet, badminton and and ladder ball. We have officially changed to have our mini-highschool reunion at the Christman's Windham House every summer! It was just perfect!

Room Tip: Several buildings to choose from...ours was a bit of a distance to the pool, but fire pit were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Burg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We attended a meeting in the area and spent two nights at Christman's over the weekend. It was okay, but nothing special. The paint was peeling off the bathroom ceiling and one bathroom light took awhile to turn on. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but we couldn't get cellular service in the room (not their fault), their Wi/Fi connection was spotty, and the TV was real small. For what we paid, I'm used to a Hampton Inn quality room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alattheinn, Manager at Christman's Windham House, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
All rooms in this building have been upgraded to 39" Wi Fi enabled Vizio TVs. The ceilings are popcorn painted. There are many quality amenities at our resort, restaurants' , golf, pool and 300 acres of grounds. Our guests are our only focus, we are striving to provide a great and satisfying experience for them every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haven
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A group of us have been coming every year since 2001. If you are looking for a laid back relaxing trip with a great golf course this is the place. Tee times are fairly easy to get, and you will love the 18 hole mountain course. Challenging, fun, and the course still leaves room for some error on t shots. The package we book includes breakfast and dinner and the staff is awesome, friendly, helpful, looks like a great family place. They will go out of their way to make your trip enjoyable. This year I forgot something in my room and Ruth mailed it back to me without me even asking. Overall the scenary is spectacular, the food is just as good, but the atmosphere will blow you away.

Room Tip: If you want a room by the pool ask, but overall any room here is peaceful and quiet and near the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Three years ago I was fortunate to be invited to join a group of friends who have been planning and enjoying golf outing together for many years. Last year they changed their upstate resort to Christmans Windham House and everyone was blown away by the food, the amenities and the friendliness of the staff. Bob and Ruth Christman treat you as one of the family. The mountain course is well maintained and the panoramic views are worth the price by themselves. We played a round and a half on Friday, two rounds on Saturday and some of us who still had some energy left played a round on Sunday morning before we left. I can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just held our weekend golf outing at Christmans. The mountain course is challenging but not overwhelming to the average golfer. The rooms are quaint and clean. The food is well prepared and plentiful. The pool was refreshing after our rounds of golf. There were outdoor activities available such as horseshoes and shuffleboard. On Friday night there was a band playing in their bar/lounge. The bar/lounge had darts, pool, shuffleboard, ping pong and plenty of space if you just preferred to relax at a table or at the bar and listen to the music. There is also an outdoor deck where you can enjoy the views. The real attraction of Christmas is the owners and staff. The owners are friendly and accommodating and the service and staff are outstanding. I can’t imagine you getting a better value for your dollar than Christmans

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Christman's are really nice people and very accommodating. The rooms were nice and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the mountain course in great shape and very challenging. The employees from the golf pro to restaurant staff are very friendly and really make you feel at home. This was our second outing at Christman's and we all plan to be back next year. It is a great value and I would recommend to anyone looking to get away for a nice golf trip or any groups looking for a great outing and a good time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christman's Windham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christman's Windham House

Address: 5742 Route 23, Windham, NY 12496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windham NY mountain resort, hotel, getaway, restaurant, bar, golf, skiing, equestrian, jacuzzi, AC, summer Pool, wireless, cell, pvt bath, newly renovated rooms, suites, efficiencies, packages, families, groups. One mile from Windham ski mountain. Great value, immaculately clean rooms, fine dining, 300 acre resort grounds, 27 golf holes, championship 18 hole course. Largest golf practice and learning facility in NYS. Family owned and managed for 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Christman's Windham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christman`s Windham House Hotel Windham
Christman's Windham House NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christman's Windham House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.