We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christman's, the Quintessential Country Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christman's Windham House

Save Saved
You added Christman's Windham House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Christman's Windham House
5742 Route 23, Windham, NY 12496   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pleasant Valley Special
Ranked #5 of 10 Windham B&B and Inns
Branchburg, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Christman's, the Quintessential Country Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our family has been staying at Christman's for approximately 10 winters. The inn is a wonderful, charming and historic site with warm and friendly Innkeepers, Brian and Ruth. You always feel at home. No request goes unanswered. They make the ski season a great family adventure. Staying at Christman's is like being in a charming home. The Innkeepers are full of excellent advice and suggestions. After all, they wish you to be happy and enjoy yourself. I want to share one little example of how they are: I brought my own towels and they were taken to laundry by the staff in error. Once they realized it they searched the linens and found my towels. Thank you

Room Tip: Discuss your concerns and needs with the Innkeepers and they will provide you with the best choice f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ridge, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is my second time in a month to visit Christman's Windham House and have to say we'll be coming back again. We are avid skiers and found the lodging and restaurant to be of high quality and close to the mountain. They make it very easy to travel with children and could not be more gracious to our children. We look forward to going back in the coming weeks and months.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Me, my wife and son stayed here over MLK weekend. We were pleased with the friendly staff, the owner is on site and even tends bar at night for guests. The inn is close to Windham ski area,they serve a free continental breakfast and a very reasonably priced hot breakfast. The main building where the restaurant and check in are is old, (1803) and looks a little worn, but we stayed in that building and the room was clean, spacious, beds comfortable and the bathroom had been obviously renovated with new tile and fixtures. Their website is not clear on the fact the restaurant is closed in winter for dinner, but there are plenty of great places nearby. Overall a good experience and would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the great reviews here, I had a moment of disorientation when I entered the inn. This cannot be the place these people stayed. I was tempted to walk outside, then back in, just in case there was some sort of hallucination involved. Nope, apparently people adore shabby rooms with leaky, rusted faucets, plexiglass screwed over the door window ( to keep out traffic noise from the road a few feet away or to stem the fresh subzero breeze playfully ticking our toes? At least it helped with the musty smell!). I could go on ( and on...and on), but at the end of the day, it all got much better when we adjusted our attitude. Expect far less, and you will be much happier. Perhaps it's better in the summer? We were here for skiing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alattheinn, Manager at Christman's Windham House, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
After numerous communications with this guest about rooms in the Inn, he insisted on reserving in this Bldg despite the fact that the bedding was not adequate for his party. We attempted to dissuade him even after his arrival when he complained. He was shown and he refused standard rooms in another bldg.
The Inn is but one option for lodging. It is for people who desire to experience other than chain hotel-like rooms. The Inn, built when Thomas Jefferson was president, evokes more of a home-like or Bed and Breakfast atmosphere. All rooms have modern private baths, yet each room is different. So that the original antique eyebrow windows in the porch door could be protected but still be seen they were covered with plexiglass. To avoid subzero breezes, the guest just needs to turn up the thermostat.
We are sorry this guest's expectations were not met. We are sorry that he struck out mean spiritedly on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, there is no filter on Trip Advisor for mean spiritedness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Amboy, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at Christman's Windham House during the holiday weekend. It was a last minute reservation and I have to say it was probably our own fault that we didn’t get a better room. Everything near the ski area was already reserved. This place was the closest to the mountain very conveniently located 1.5 miles from the village. All the stuff was very nice and I really didn’t mind the fact that this was an old, in some way outdated establishment. Those places have a unique charm about them. My complaint is that the room we stayed in was very musty. It smelled of mildew so horribly that we were waking up with a headache. I can still smell mildew in my clothing. Please don’t rent rooms to the customers that are virtually not livable. First think if you would want to sleep in that room. If not for that fact we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is the third year that I have attended a quilt retreat at Christman's Windham House. I am looking forward to next year's already and I just got home! The food is always excellent. The wait staff is pleasant and quiet. Ruth and Brian Christman, the owners, are ready to help with any issue although issues are a rare event. You won't find them in a corporate office far away from the Inn. This is a family owned and run business and a "fixture" in the Windham area. Ruth might be found serving coffee to help her wait staff and Brian may be found changing light bulbs. Even after last year's Tropical Storm Irene devastated the mountaintop area of Greene County the Christman's were busy working hard to get back to business as usual and at the same time helping their neighbors. Many students in the area have learned real customer service skills working at Christman's. If you want granite, glitz and ultramodern you may need to go elsewhere. If you want wonderful people, a relaxing stay, beautiful scenery, fabulous food and from what friends have told me- a challenging golf course--- then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Been doing golf weekends for years and always hit up Christman's. Challenging mountain couse will keep you coming back. Don't bother with the valley course. Staff is always pleasant and accomodating. My family has a cabin nearby which is the reason we don't stay but I know people who have enjoyed the hotel side of Christmans. We have had some great meals there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
Boutique, Pool...
Show More
2.8 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#3 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
2.6 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#1 of 6 in Windham
5.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
8.3 mi away
Scribner Hollow Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pets Allowed, 2...
Show More
17.0 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Boutique, Free...
Show More
2.6 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 10 in Windham
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Winwood Inn & Condos
Winwood Inn & Condos
#6 of 6 in Windham
3.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christman's Windham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christman's Windham House

Address: 5742 Route 23, Windham, NY 12496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windham NY mountain resort, hotel, getaway, restaurant, bar, golf, skiing, equestrian, jacuzzi, AC, summer Pool, wireless, cell, pvt bath, newly renovated rooms, suites, efficiencies, packages, families, groups. One mile from Windham ski mountain. Great value, immaculately clean rooms, fine dining, 300 acre resort grounds, 27 golf holes, championship 18 hole course. Largest golf practice and learning facility in NYS. Family owned and managed for 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Christman's Windham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christman`s Windham House Hotel Windham
Christman's Windham House NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christman's Windham House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.