We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to Beds on Clouds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beds On Clouds

Save Saved
You added Beds On Clouds to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beds On Clouds
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5320 Main Street, PO Box 787, Windham, NY 12496   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Windham B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Back to Beds on Clouds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Returning to Beds on Clouds this fall was like visiting old friends again. Even though we hadn't been there for four years, the owners, Rebecca and Sato greeted us with wonderful warmth. They have been doing a marvelous job recovering from the devastating storm that hit Windham last year and the room we stayed in was brand new on the first floor. It was beautifully decorated with stained glass lamps and photos taken by Sato on the walls. His remarkable photography is found throughout
the house and he is an accomplished chef as well. He and Rebecca are caring, lovely people who go out of their way to make sure their guests enjoy their stay, providing maps to hiking trails, advice about restaurants and lively conversation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    20
    1
    2
    8
See reviews for
31
132
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Voorheesville, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Not living very far from Windham we had passed through the charming little town several times before wandering into Beds on Clouds. Our first visit made it clear that a stay at the delightful bed and breakfast was a necessary move. We finally stayed in the warm, eclectically decorated 19th century Inn back in September.

I attempted writing a review shortly after our stay, but to be honest, I was having a difficult time capturing just how lovely it was. Rebecca is more than a hostess, she was a friendly face with so much knowledge and kindness that she was willing to share.

One of my (many) favorite parts, I have to say, was the 'sweets' station located in the common area/dining room. Two cookie jars filled full to the brim were pointed out to us after Rebecca had helped us get settled into our room (she even turned down the bed, just like a sleepover at Grandmas!). "You never know when you might just need a nip of sweetness in the middle of he night. Help yourself whenever you want!" she said as she gleefully showed us the goodies. :)

From the colorful palette of the modern-Renaissance design scheme, complete with Tiffany lamps on either side of our lusciously comfortable bed, to the savory balance of flavors in her husband's famous and fresh omelets at breakfast, it really felt like a luxurious home-away-from-home. And how could I leave Susumu's wonderfully striking photographs and portraits in the gallery outside of our room? (Susumu Sato is Rebecca's husband and a brilliant photographer.)

... I could go on for days, but the bottom line is that this place is a warm welcoming destination full of old fashioned hospitality that seems lost in our modern world. If you want cookie cutter rooms with white bread linens and hard bagels at a 'continental breakfast' then this place is not for you. But if you're looking for creativity and kindness, and a small-town atmosphere that may only rival that of good old Mayberry, then Beds on Clouds is a stop and stay you shouldn't miss out on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the last weekend of September 2012 while we're were in town to visit family. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom was spacious with modern features - i.e., no old plumbing, great water pressure and plenty of hot water in the shower. We enjoyed having a flat screen TV with cable to watch a late night movie and the morning news. Rebecca and Mr. Sato were marvelous hosts. The eclectic decor and Mr Sato's photography were great conversation pieces at breakfast. Plenty of street parking available and within walking distance to everything on Main Street. If we come back to Windham, we're staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We went there last weekend with friends, and we had the most wonderful experience. The rooms were clean, comfortable and cozy, and decorated with a real flair. The breakfast was just yummy - they use organic veggies and fruit from their own garden. Sato makes a great omelet, and he was so accommodating to the vegan guest in our party. Most of all, the owner, Rebecca, is so much fun to talk to!!!! We will definitely be returning there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, quiet and cozy. Perfect place to escape the busy city life. Rebeca was an outstanding host? She went out of her way to make us comfortable. Mr. Stood breakfasts are amazing as well! Can't wait to come back n the winter for a long weekend!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights here for our marriage getaway this summer, and couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay. The house itself is comfortable, very well kept, and full of interesting antiques and art. Our hostess, Rebecca, was extremely accommodating and friendly, and went well out of her way to make our stay as memorable as possible. Her husband prepared wonderful omelettes every morning accompanied by fresh fruit, warm croissants and jam, juice and coffee. His photography is impressive and prolific.

The town of Windham suffered a great deal from Irene, but it's a lovely town worth visiting in a beautiful location. If the idea of walking down the street of a picturesque village with so many neat, locally owned shops and restaurants where locals smile and wave or say hello to you appeals to you, Windham is your destination.

Don't wait til winter to go - it was beautiful in summer, and I can only imagine how gorgeous the fall colors will be!

We had such a nice experience that we already have plans to return to Beds on Clouds for our anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous stay at Bed on Clouds located right on Main Street. Although it has been 2 years since our last stay there, Rebecca, the Proprietor, remembered us and warmly welcomed us back. Our room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The decor was eclectic but stylish with all the modern amenities. We had an amazing breakfast every morning which was both delicious and artfully presented (i.e., mushroom omelets, Japanese potatoes & tiny organic tomatoes with fresh basil, fresh fruits, croissants and freshly brewed coffee). Since we are golfers, Rebecca and her husband, Susumu coordinated the breakfasts with our tee times! This Bed & Breakfast is a hidden gem and we give it our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beds On Clouds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds On Clouds

Address: 5320 Main Street, PO Box 787, Windham, NY 12496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Windham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beds On Clouds 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round!Elegantly restored 1854 Victorian mansion.3 Awards of Excellence for its hospitality,2013 ,2010 and 2012 .Situated in Windham’s lovely Historic District.Choose from 5 cozy rooms,intimate,luxuriously furnished with original art and antiques.Down feather beds,plenty of pillows and private, pink marble tiled baths. Filtered water throughout.Cared for with ECO friendly products Charming, convenient hub for your ski, hiking or golf vacation. . On premises is a photo & fine arts gallery featuring award winning photographer Susumu Sato. Ideal for skiers,hikers ,honey mooners,art lovers, antique hunters and the common man. Within 10 minutes walk to Slopes, 5 miles to Hunter Mountain , 3 minutes walk to PUB,Fine Dining, Bars, Galleries, Concert hall, Beauty spa and NYC Bus.32 Flat screens TV's ,Free WI-Fi, AC and Cable. Member of Small & Elegant Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Beds On Clouds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beds On Clouds Windham, NY - Catskill Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beds On Clouds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.