We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish steak sandwich!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grill

Sunset Grill
3 O'Connell Island, Wilson, NY 14172
716-751-6868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Wilson
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Wilson, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delish steak sandwich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visitied Sunset Grill on Friday night and while it was fairly crowded, we were able to get a table on the deck fairly quickly. I ordered a steak sandwich and fries. Very good steak - tender and done just the way I asked for it. My husband had the beer battered fish fry and it was good, as usual. Our favorite place to eat outdoors!!! Great staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanborn, New York
1 review
“Terrible Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were told it would only be a half hour wait if we were willing to sit inside. 45 minutes later we were still waiting and when we finally asked the hostess when we would get a table she told us it could be another hour. There were only a handful of tables inside that were actually full. We got no apology and when we tried to protest the time that was given to us and the time we were still waiting, the hostess simply waved her hand at us and told us to talk to the manager cause she is not dealing with it. Needless to say, we never got a table and we left.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Superb Summer Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We are circumnavigating Lake Ontario in a small sailboat for a second time. Wilson New York is one of our favourite stops. Very quiet, peaceful summer vacation spot. Well hidden off the beaten track, is an always favourite eating spot, the Sunset Grill, which is about a 20 minute walk from the Tuscadora Yacht Club. He had the steamer pot filled with Lobster, clams, shrimp, corn on the cob, sausage....all in a small roasting pan. Every bite was delicious for the amazing price of $27.00. I had the New England Clam Chowder and broiled haddock and coleslaw (came with fries or baked, but I had neither as the Chowder was chunk full of veges and potatoes). Every bite of mine was fabulous. The chocolate cake was a piece large enough to feed a family of 4. We brought some back to the boat for net evening. All that and glass of local Pinot Grigio and a beer came to about $50.00. Worth every penny. Sit outside. Going again tonight.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best place to spend a summer evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We live in Wilson, but feel like we are on vacation every time we go. It's a relaxing beautiful setting for a night out for dinner. The food is consistently great! We have never had a bad meal. I love the steamer pots. The outdoor bar is so nice, sometimes we just stay there. We usually end eating dinner there every weekend of the summer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Was there in 2012 several times, first time this season. Couple of new additions to the menu. Steak was delish! Sandwiches are always good. Prefer eating on the deck, but still too soon. We'll be back (with all our friends!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.