We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whiteface Chalet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whiteface Chalet
Save
You added Whiteface Chalet to your Saves list
Springfield Road, Wilmington, NY 12997   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“nice little getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We had decided to go for a nice little getaway with a couple of our friends to Wilmington, NY the beginning of August 2010. We were very pleased with the service from the innkeepers. They were very accommodating, and they were very approachable. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious and nicely furnished. It was also very clean. I would suggest a litlle bit more lighting, stronger pl bulbs which are energy efficient. We loved being away from the hussle and bussle which makes a quiet and serene evening and a peaceful sleep. You do not have to travel far by car to go to town or to Lake Placid for dinner and there is plenty to do for sightseeing close by. Breakfast was great! There was a lot to choose from. The innkeeper had baked a very moist bananna bread and had even provided us with the recipe. You don't get that personal service in too many places. We would definitley recommend Whiteface Chalet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We loved the rooms-very clean and nicely decorated. The location is beautiful during the fall months. They offer a great continental breakfast and the innkeepers are very friendly. There is a small pub/game room downstairs, although we did not use it. The only downfall to this lodge is that the beds in our room were horribly squeeky and the dining room is so quiet that you can hear someone across the room chew their breakfast (quick fix with a little background music). Other than that, everything was great!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

I am confused by all the good reviews! I thought this place was a horrible ripoff and I would never stay here again! I'll start out with the two good things about it: (1) the owners were almost always very warm and kind, and (2) the shower was great, very roomy and good water pressure. Also, there was a nice TV.

Now the rest. The room had NO light! I had brought several books to read in the evenings and I couldn't even see enough to walk around let alone read. There was also nothing to do. At night, there is nothing within walking distance and barely anything within driving distance, so it is very important for there to be something to do. There was an advertised pub and rec room with games, a ping-pong table, pool table, etc. The "pub" is basically like someone's basement. There is no beer and no service! It's just a corner with a fridge and a couple chairs! And there are a few old board games, all from the 80s and with pieces missing. There is a pool table and ping-pong table, but how long can you really stay entertained with just that? Worst of all, all of this closes at 10pm.

The owners were nice, as I said, but they were always there. If you are looking for a little privacy, I wouldn't stay here. They are always in the kitchen/common area. Also, there was one glaring exception to how nice they were: we thought the checkout time was noon, but it was at 11. So the housekeeper walked in on us at 11:05am and the front desk CALLED five minutes later demanding that we leave immediately. We offered to pay for a late checkout if they would let us stay until noon, but she said absolutely not. The funny thing is that at the time, there were maybe four rooms occupied in the whole place.

All in all, you should stay at a more decent priced place because this hotel has no extras. If you want light or any privacy at all (by the way, the walls are paper thin) or anything to do, don't stay here! It's a serious rip-off. Only stay here if you have loads of extra money and want to do nothing but lie around and watch TV all night.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitefacechalet, Manager at Whiteface Chalet, responded to this review, January 7, 2008
We hope we can explain some of the issues these guests had during their stay with us.

Our pub is always advertised as BYO (“Bring Your Own”). This is mentioned on our website, in all of literature, and in your confirmation letter. We usually close the common areas at 10pm as this is when we go to bed. We need to be up early to get breakfast ready for all of our guests. However, we never ask people to leave if they are still enjoying the facilities, and we always keep the areas open upon request. Guests are more than welcome to stay on in the common areas as long as they like. Again, this is all spelled out in the confirmation letter so people know what to expect before they arrive.

My husband and I manage the inn and always try to be accessible since guests quite often have questions and need our attention. The Whiteface Chalet is a bed and breakfast style inn and we live here. This is our home, and we find guests are inconvenienced if they need to go looking for us. All guests are more than welcome to use the living room and enjoy the fireplace, and there is plenty of room for more than just us. We also try to respect people’s privacy and often vacate the living room couches when guests enter. Most of the time, our guests wind up having us stay to engage in conversation, but we always make an effort to leave the couches available for our guests and only use them ourselves when guests are not around.

The Whiteface Chalet is located in a rural area at the base of Whiteface Mountain. Most people come to the area for the outdoor activities, such as world-class skiing, snow-shoeing, hiking and fishing as well as the beauty and tranquility. There are several restaurants and shops right here in town (although not within walking distance), and the village of Lake Placid is just 10 miles down the road if people want more action, shopping and dining experiences.

Our check-out time is 11:00am which is advised in advance in writing. If anyone has not checked out by that time, we call their room to check on their status. Sometimes we are able to honor special requests for late check-outs, but during the busier times (such as Christmas week) when we are sold out, we are not able to do this, especially when we have other guests checking into that room later the same day. We are a small inn with 16 rooms and a small housekeeping staff, so Christmas week is one of those time periods when we do not have the flexibility to accommodate any late check-outs.


Holly Aquino
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2007

we spent the weekend at the chalet for the yultide family weekend. what a fabulous time we had. our room was updated, very spacious and nicely decorated. the themed accent pieces were a nice touch. the kids loved the bear toilet paper dispenser. what a great view of the mountains from our balcony. the staff was outstanding and very attentive to our needs. the food was also excellent. they have a nice lobby with a huge fireplace and cozy couches. the kids loved the playroom. dont judge this book by it's cover. you wont be disappointed.

  • Liked — the coziness
  • Disliked — the outside appearance of the building
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

We enjoyed a long weekend at the Whiteface Chalet. As some previous reviews indicate, we were a little concerned when we pulled up to the motel. it certainly looked older.
However, the renovated room was very nice. The room accomadates a family of 5 with no problem.
The breakfast was nice and the small staff was great. The facility has plently to do with swimming and in our case a morning family ping-pong tournament. Pretty close to the attractions in Lake Placid.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2007

My daughter (13) and I just returned from several days of skiing at Whiteface Mountain. After reading about various properties on this website, I decided that we would stay at Whiteface Chalet. We were not disappointed. Our room was large and comfortable, panelled with knotty pine boards. The room was furnished with two double beds, a small table, rocking chair, futon couch, and television. The room was very clean and well maintained. On the negative side: the room was a little dark at night, but not overly so (would have been nice to have an overhead light); and there was no in-room fridge (but you can use the fridge in the bar downstairs to keep drinks cold). One thing I missed was a hot tub or bathtub to soak my sore limbs in at the end of the day. Our room did not have a bathtub, only a shower.

As pointed out by other reviewers, this property has common rooms which you are free to use. My daughter and I ended each day in the Great Room, curled up on comfortable leather coaches by the fireplace. Downstairs, there is a ping pong table, and a pool table (50 cent charge per game). These were a hit with a youth group that was also staying at the hotel.

One significant advantage of this property is the location. It is only a short five minute drive to Whiteface. The chalet is also on a quiet road in an area with many trees, so it is very quiet at night.

Breakfast, what I would call an extended continental breakfast (cereal, bagels/cream cheese, coffee/tea, juice, hard-boiled eggs, bananas), is included and available until 9:30 a.m. every day.

Finally, the operators of the hotel were friendly and very helpful with restaurant recommendations. I thought that Whiteface Chalet was excellent value and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville Valley, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2006

We stayed at the Whiteface Chalet the weekend of August 12th. The motel was recommended by family members for a large family reunion in the area. We were very pleased with location, amenities, and very warm hospitality of hosts, who went out of their way to make us feel at home.

The rooms are well-appointed for the price -- recently and tastefully redone in "High Adirondack" style, with lots of varnished pine and attractive "stick" furniture. Our room had two doubles and a fold-flat futon, which was perfect for our family of four. The Continental breakfast was well-prepared and a nice bonus with the room.

Our family (about 30 strong) had booked the Whiteface Chalet dining room for a special dinner on Saturday night, and we enjoyed the use of the on-site private pub before and after. Diane and her staff provided a delicious dinner and very gracious service, and we had a wonderful evening.

The Whiteface Chalet -- just a few minutes from Whiteface and Lake Placid -- gets our vote, and we'd like to return this winter for a ski weekend.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms, warm hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whiteface Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whiteface Chalet

Address: Springfield Road, Wilmington, NY 12997
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Whiteface Chalet Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whiteface Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.