We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Al and Alicia Have The Best Place to Stay in the Wilmington Area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Brook Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Brook Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Brook Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5712 NYS Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Al and Alicia Have The Best Place to Stay in the Wilmington Area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Wilmington is a nice quiet area away from the big crowds in Lake Placid. This was the third year in a row we stayed at the Mountain Brook and the place is better than ever. Brought the whole family, took up four rooms and all were nice. Plenty to eat for breakfast, Al doesn't skimp here. The pool area is nice and there is a big campfire every night, weather permitting. Plenty of hiking and other activities close by. Call Al for reservations way ahead of time because the place fills up fast. Will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Book directly with Al, all the rooms are good, rooms with double beds are a lot bigger though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    27
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
70
78
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Allegany, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The room was more than adequate, at a very reasonable price. The owner, Al, was just amazing. It was as if we were old friends, and we had come for a visit. The hospitality was great, and he gave us great ideas on what to do and where to go. We even stayed 4 nights instead of our planned 3. We really enjoyed the firepit which was burning each night (except when it rained), and it was very interesting meeting the other guests from all over the country and Canada. We would definitely stay there again, rather than in Lake Placid, which was much more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Al and Alicia Armstrong, owners of the Mountain Brook Lodge, are wonderful hosts. They are friendly, helpful, and fun but not overbearing. They make you feel like friends/family coming for an enjoyable visit. Their lodge is more like a bed and breakfast. We stayed in the summer but the room would also be wonderful in the winter months with its electric fireplace, drying racks, and cozy mountain lodge décor. We would highly recommend the Mountain Brook Lodge. Carol and Dick Fochler

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We wanted to spend a couple of days at Lake Placid and not spend a fortune. We found this on Tripadvisor and luckily got the last room available. We got there, and the owner, Al, greeted us so warmly and showed us our room. Exactly what a room in the Adirondacks should be. Clean and cozy, all the amenities, a wonderful breakfast every morning. Al and Alicia were so helpful and accommodating, telling us the best sights, how to get the best value and places to eat. We have spent a great deal more and had rooms and service that could not compare to this, it is an amazing value for the very modest price they charge. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I'm just calling to know if a room is available for 2 nights, the women at the phone is answering me like shi... i'm gonna spend my money on a decent place. I'm just asking a simple question and she doesn't take time to answering me and hang up the phone. You do good buisness.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Sir, this is a total crock!
My wife is the only woman here that answers the phone. She would never treat a customer like that.
Please provide me your phone number and roughly the time you called. I will check out caller ID to see if you did indeed call.
You may e-mail me the number at mtbrook@frontiernet.net
Regards,
Al Armstrong
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Our family of four just came back from a trip to the Maine coast. On our way home, we stayed one night at this lodge, in a room with a double and a bunk bed. Our kids were thrilled to sleep in the bunk bed! They also liked the popcorn in the room. Al (the hotel) owner was super friendly. He offered us food to eat when we arrived late. Breakfast had more than enough varieties for us. The room was clean. It was an overall homey feeling during the stat. We highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herat, Afghanistan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our rugby team stays here ever year for the big Can-Am tournament. Al and Alicia treat you like royalty . The motel facilities and rooms are clean and the views from the lawn chairs are amazing. You get a great free breakfast to start the day. It is located in a cozy little village at the foot of Whiteface Mountain away from the hustle and bustle of Lake Placid but only a short drive away. There are several great restaurants close by so you can stay local and avoid the crowds. Save your money, avoid the crowds and enjoy a great Adirondacks experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Brook Lodge

Address: 5712 NYS Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 miles from beautiful Whiteface Mountain, where the 1980 Winter Olympics were held, in the heart of the Adirondacks! 12 miles from Lake Placid!! Free late check out for skiers. Go home comfortable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Brook Hotel Wilmington
Hotel Mountain Brook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Brook Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.