We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous Hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Brook Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Brook Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Brook Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5712 NYS Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Generous Hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Generous Hospitality is the phrase that came to mind when staying here. Little extras that make a stay so nice, popcorn packs in the room, PLENTY of towels, lovely bed spreads with throw pillows, a drip tray for boots inside the door, and the most generous choice of breakfast items for the continental breakfast, that I've ever encountered! Comfy beds too!
The 50 year old bathtub was as shiny as the day it was minted too! Really enjoyed our stay here and we hope to come back in the summer! Closer to Whiteface than Lake Placid, too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you!!!!! Closer than Lake Placid and we save you money!!! Housekeeping loves the comment about the sparkling clean 50 year old tub! Please hurry back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    27
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
70
78
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Yaphank, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Mountain Brook Lodge is comfortable, warm, and inviting, and the hosts, Al and Alicia are incredibly friendly and outgoing. I travel a lot and have stayed in many places that are much fancier than the Mountain Brook Lodge, but I have never stayed any place that I enjoyed nearly as much. The price is awesome, the atmosphere is very welcoming, the lodge is full of personality, and the people are great. I highly recommend MBL and will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you Collen!!!! You and the family were wonderful! Great picture of BamBam. Please hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just spent a weekend staying here and can't thank Al and Alicia enough for their hospitality. You can tell they take great care of their property and have real pride in ownership. Rooms are warm and inviting, complimentary breakfast hits the spot, and they know all the best local spots for dining, outdoors, and fun. Family/pet-oriented and super military friendly; you can bet we'll be back many times for sure. :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
You are welcome!!! Yes, we love taking care of the troops! I wish real names were posted instead of aliases so I could be more personal in my replies! Semper Fi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mountain Brook Lodge for the New Years holiday. I can state unreservedly that this is one of the best little lodges I've ever stayed in. The owners were warm, welcoming, and attentive to our needs. The rooms are clean and homey, with nice furnishings and comfortable memory foam mattresses on the beds. There were plenty of pillows, extra blankets, a fridge, microwave, and a high def television in our room. This lodge has the feel of a bed and breakfast, with wonderful hospitality and fantastic rooms. It's located only a few miles from Whiteface and only 15 minutes from Lake Placid. There is a continental breakfast offered every morning in a cozy dining room located near the office. Plus, the price can't be beat! We will definitely stay here again if we ever return to the Lake Placid region.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful words!!!! I need to hire you as my marketing manager!!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, New York
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here the weekend while visiting Santa's workshop. My husband, son and I were greeted like family upon arrival by Al and Alicia. What great people! Alicia walked us right to our room and made sure we had everything we needed. Al was up early making sure we had what we wanted for breakfast. He even made some french toast sticks for my son :) The room was clean and cozy, a very "at home" feeling. Anyone young or old would feel very comfortable here. Al is a veteran, and being a daughter of a veteran, we had some great conversations. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you!!!! We pride ourselves on the little things such as walking you to your room! And, I love making the French Toast sticks for the kids! Semper Fi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a clean, Adirondack themed hotel very close to Whiteface Mountain and out of the traffic and noise of Lake Placid, but still close enough to get there in about 15 minutes.

the room we stayed in had new furnishings, carpet, and a new memory foam mattress.

The hosts are awesome people, and they offer a very nice breakfast every morning.

Just an all around good motel. Don't hesitate to make a reservation, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Me and my boyfriend just stayed here this past weekend. our first time ever going to lake placid. My boyfriend found this lodge which was just 10 miles from lake placid, and this by far was the best place I have ever stayed at. Al & Alicia welcome you with open arms like your family. He showed us our room turned on the little heater for us, and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Its a comfortable cozy rustic motel. In the morning you have so many choices for breakfast, and theres a cute little gift shop too. The location is perfect!!! DEF going back just to see Al and Alicia again. thank you again guys you made our trip that much better :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Brook Lodge

Address: 5712 NYS Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 miles from beautiful Whiteface Mountain, where the 1980 Winter Olympics were held, in the heart of the Adirondacks! 12 miles from Lake Placid!! Free late check out for skiers. Go home comfortable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Brook Hotel Wilmington
Hotel Mountain Brook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Brook Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.