We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Brook Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Brook Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Brook Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5712 NYS Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Fulton, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A cute and cozy get away. Becky was on duty as manager while my husband and I stayed there. Room was comfortable. Nice breakfast set up in the am. Becky always had a wonderful tip, idea, directions on what would make our stay better. She went above and beyond to make us feel at home. We will definitely be going back to this lodge. Beautiful views from the yard and parking lot. Great prices on rooms. Just an all around great place. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    27
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
70
78
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newton, nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our family's first vist to Mountain Brook, although we have been coming up to the Adirondacks for many years. Al shook our hands and introduced himself and actually walked us to our room. The room was clean, comfortable and very reasonable. He made a great fire and shared stories with the guests. Lulu the bulldog is the cutest. Thank you for a nice stay in a great little town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

From the moment we pulled in we knew this place was different. We have traveled a fair amount in our life, stayed in a variety of places: resorts, chain motels/hotels, B&B's etc...ranging from 5 stars to get me out of here. Al and Alicia (the owners) have a unique blend of service with a smile and a level of comfort I've never felt in a hotel. The rooms are cozy and spotless, there is a fridge,microwave and coffeemaker if you don't feel the need to eat out every meal. The continental breakfast is served with a smile and enough variety to keep almost anyone happy. We especially liked the fire at night, where we could sit and socialize with other guests and the owners. While this was optional, many of us found that we were planning our night around it. It was that fun! Given the location of the lodge, it's perfectly located so that you can take in all the area has to offer without a lot of traffic and just far enough away from the congestion of Lake Placid. If you are a Vet, you can't go wrong, these folks love to serve those of us who have served. Thank you Al (top) and Alicia for a fabulous weekend! We plan to return often! Gary and Mary Ann.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

First, the owners are excellent hosts, so from the check in we felt very welcomed. The lodge is located in the center of Wilmington and it is a very good starting point for trips around to Lake Placid and High Falls gorge. The room was clean, nicely decorated and the beds arrangements gave us a lot of room. The bathroom is rather small, but comfortable. The breakfast was good and plenty. The evening bonfire is a bonus that adds to the charm of this motel. I wish they used less Chlorine in cleaning the room - it took many hours, with the door open, to diminish the chlorine smell in the room. Otherwise, everything else was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay!! Yep, the bathrooms are on the small size but they were built in the 1960's! Glad you enjoyed the bonfire. It has proven to be a hit!
Our housekeeping department believes in sanitizing well. Sorry about the bleach smell. We have addressed that issue.
In what ways could we improve our service?
Thanks,
Al
mtbrook@frontiernet.net is my e-mail address
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is the best place we've ever stayed. The rooms were clean with many new items. The beds were so comfortable- I never sleep well the first night away from home, but I slept soundly every night here. The nightly bonfire makes you feel right at home and we met so many great people there. The owners, Al and Alicia, made everyone feel like part of the family and we met people who stay there every year. The location is great, close to Whiteface and Lake Placid, but out where it's not so crowded. The continental breakfast was almost overwhelming with options; you could eat healthy or satisfy your sweet tooth. Veterans receive a 10% discount and can talk war stories around the fire. We were there celebrating our 25th anniversary and it was perfect. We will be returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just got back from our second stay at the Mountain Brook Lodge, and we are soo happy we chose to come back. The rooms are clean and have all of the amenities you may need (fridge, microwave, HD TV, etc..) The location is great too because it is located in the center of Wilmington and only a 20 minute drive to Lake Placid. The breakfast served at 8AM is a pretty extensive selection of pastries, oatmeal, fruits, cereals and bagels definitely a great bonus considering it is free! Staying at this hotel feels like staying at a relative's house more then like staying at a resort, in the evening many of the hotel guests hang out around the bonfire which makes for a community feel. Most importantly the owner Al & Alicia are fantastic hosts they are super friendly and make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive until you leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stumbled onto this Adirondack motel late one evening. They had a vacancy and we are so glad they did. The room was Adirondack in décor, but very clean and comfortable. Sometimes, the findings by chance are the best ones. The continental breakfast available in the morning was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Brook Lodge

Address: 5712 NYS Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 miles from beautiful Whiteface Mountain, where the 1980 Winter Olympics were held, in the heart of the Adirondacks! 12 miles from Lake Placid!! Free late check out for skiers. Go home comfortable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Brook Hotel Wilmington
Hotel Mountain Brook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Brook Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.