We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay...Feels Like Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Brook Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain Brook Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Brook Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5712 NYS Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay...Feels Like Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a welcome! Just like the motel visits I remember as a kid where the owner escorted you to your room and showed you around the place. A terrific value especially for US and Canadian military, veterans & 1st Responders! Al is a retired Marine First Sergeant and quite the character. He has a fire going every night and encourages his guests to hang out and enjoy the company of others!!! If you are a family with kids, pets and generally just enjoy a clean, safe affordable place that makes you more than feel welcome please stay here. In our short time here we met some great people to hang out with for a pause on our Adirondack adventure. From the early rising fishermen from VT to the speed skating parents from Michigan it was a pleasure for this Army family with 2 kids from everywhere! Although we declined, Al & Alicia give all returning service members their first night free and all others (above) a 10% discount. A Friday night in July was only $80.10

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    30
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
76
85
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We rented a room last minute, the room was small but clean. When we came back from dinner there was a party around a fire in the front yard and the owner greeted us and was highly intoxicated. He wanted us to join the party and did not want to take no for an answer. He kept insisting and kept putting his arms around me. We finally got away from him and tried to sleep but the noise kept us awake and we were afraid to go back out. It appeared to be a scene from the Beverly Hillbillies. A guess the room was clean...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am sorry that your experience here was less than stellar. I am unable to locate a "Carol H" in my system. If you will contact me at 518-946-2262 I will gladly refund your money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
482 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you're a veteran, there is just no other place you will be made to feel so welcome. The accommodations were much more than I expected for the price and for a motel. You get microwave and refrigerator, use of the outdoor gas grill, bonfires at night, and a comfortable bed. There's a breakfast of bagels, cereals, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, and other snacks included in price. The pool was small but refreshing. Once you're there, you just feel like family. We met another family here for a few days, and our kids could freely go between the rooms without me worrying about their safety. This is the kind of place where you want to return, and a couple of days just won't feel like enough. A great location to see the area, and much cheaper than Lake Placid hotels.

Room Tip: The motel is right on the main road, so the rooms closer to the main lobby are a bit quieter, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Tx
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin? From the first second we drove up to Mountain Brooke Lodge, we felt like family! Al escorts us to our rooms, personally tells us about the best attractions, cheapest deals and favorite restaurants. They have a big family bonfires, s'mores and hot air balloons at night, horseshoes and tons of toys and games for the kids. He remembers your name and caters to your every need. This is the place to be of you want GREAT personal service for a WONDERFUL deal (especially if you have ever been in the service). Breakfast is a plethora of foods and drinks that will suit anybody. You can not help but laugh and smile the entire time!! Come as strangers - leave as family!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review!!! Come as strangers, l;eave as family!!! Thank you! Can't wait to see you again. Go Aggies!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Mountain Brook Lodge in Wilmington, NY (near Lake Placid).

We were instantly welcomed by the owner, Al. Al is a fabulous host who makes everyone feel welcome and comfortable. Al is quick to figure out what you need and what you should discover in the area. Al's gregarious demeanor is a definite reason to return!

We had a comfortable bed (memory foam) and a well-appointed room with a microwave, fridge, desk, TV and comfortable sitting area.

The lodge is well-maintained and it was a pleasure being able to have a screen door to your room, so that you could keep your door open and enjoy the fresh mountain air.

What was most unique and enjoyable was the nightly bonfires. Al supplies marshmallows, chocolate and graham crackers to make your own S'mores. The bonfire also allow you to meet other guests and hear some of Al's amazing life stories.

Continental breakfast is provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello!!!! Thank you for the very nice comments on our lodge and the way you were treated!! Hopefully you will come back soon! I noticed that you rated us a bit lower on rooms and cleanliness. In what areas could we improve? Thanks again! Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and I just returned home from a weekend at Mountain Brook Lodge. The first thing I would like to say is that we arrived the day after the previous reviewer and we're given a spotless room with no bugs to be seen. I will say that you might be bitten while sitting around the fire at night, but this can be remedied by spraying some of the repellent provided by Al and Alicia!!!

I will also say that Al and Alicia are wonderful hosts. They are definitely proud of their property and will do what it takes to make your stay a worry free one. Shortly after arriving I went to ask Al if I could borrow a cork screw. Not only did he make the effort to find us one, he also brought us two wine glasses because as he said "I wouldn't want you drinking out of paper cups".......Amazing!! Just as has been stated by many previous reviewers, Al and Alicia truly go the extra mile and we left feeling like we had made some new friends. We will be back, and we will be bringing others next time. See you in awhile guys.

Brian and Melissa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi and thanks for the great reviews!!! You have been here several times and you are definitely family!!! The corkscrew and wine glasses are awaiting!!!! Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The service from al and Alicia is great.
The rooms are small but cosy.
There is everything you need in the room, even popcorn for the microwave and hot chocolade.
The matrasses where great, we had à very good night sleep only the room was very clear in the morning.
Breakfast was also very good, there is enough for everybody and there is enough to choose from.
We got a good tip to go up the mountain from al and the vieuw was awsome.
We went to diner in a little restaurant nearby (the wilderness in) and got a 10% discount because we stayed in de mountain brooke lodge. The food here was excellent.
We would certainly come back here and can recommend it to everyone.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello! Thank you for the nice review! I hope you come see us again soon! You made a comment about the small room. You may have stayed in the room with the single Queen size bed and Adirondack comforter chair. Yes, they are a bit small but suitable usually for a couple. The next time you come I'll will show you the BIG rooms with 2 beds and full bath!!! Thanks again! Al
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
10.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
15.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain Lake Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpine Country Inn & Suites
Alpine Country Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
10.8 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#3 of 17 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Pole Resorts
North Pole Resorts
#1 of 8 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Brook Lodge

Address: 5712 NYS Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 miles from beautiful Whiteface Mountain, where the 1980 Winter Olympics were held, in the heart of the Adirondacks! 12 miles from Lake Placid!! Free late check out for skiers. Go home comfortable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Brook Hotel Wilmington
Hotel Mountain Brook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Brook Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.