We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Brook Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Brook Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Brook Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5712 NYS Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Bridgeport, New York, United States
1 review
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed Friday to Monday and had a very enjoyable time. Our room was cozy with Adirondack style decor. The room was clean and comfortable. We quickly made friends with the hosts, Al & Alicia and their dogs Annie and BamBam.
We plan on returning this fall and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.
This is an affordable place to stay...worth 3x as much!
Great mini-vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    27
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
68
77
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Orono, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We just traveled down from the GTA (Ontario) and spent 4 days at the Mountain Brook Lodge. Our visit here was like no other.....Al & Alicia are so welcoming and they treat you like family from the moment you arrive. We have traveled many places, from Australia to Japan to Belize....there are no kinder and sweeter host than this lovely couple! We can't wait to go back. The only down side about the Mountain Brook Lodge is that it's sad to leave...
D&S

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

With Winter conditions extending into Spring this year we decided to take a last minute ski trip over the Easter weekend to Whiteface. As we had not planned for it we wanted to keep the costs down. Mountain Brook Lodge provided a very reasonable rate close to the mountain. It also provided much more than that with great hospitality. Al and Alicia were great hosts, even before we arrived. When booking the room Al suggested the room with bunk beds since we have two young children and the kids loved it. We arrived late after midnight and found our room ready with the lights and heat on. The room was very comfortable and clean.In the morning we checked in and enjoyed the breakfast which was included in the price of the room. The microwave and fridge in the room was handy for snacks and small meals and one evening we used the bbq on site. As well as being close to the mountain there is also a small grocery store with a deli near by and Al and Alicia can provide you with suggestions for going out for meals. On our final day we were able to check out late in the afternoon which allowed us to ski the day and then come back to our room to pack up and checkout.The kids loved everything about the lodge and the whole family had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Mountain Brook Lodge on the way to Boston for the Boston Marathon - Al and Alicia were again most welcoming! The rooms were ready when we got there - the weather was not too nice so the drive took us longer than we planned, but everything was good. We were with another couple - they enjoyed their stay as well.

If in the area, I would definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Personally, I prefer the rooms with two beds - but I am 6'5" tall and prefer the extra spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Brian and Melanie,
It is always a pleasure having you here!
Thanks for bring your friends, Jim & Linda. Great folks!
We are so happy the you finished the marathon in Boston safely!!!
XO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I never thought I would write a hotel review, but staying here was the best experience I ever had staying some where. Al treated us like we were his kids home from college, he was that caring and friendly. He gave us good tips and brought us the ski report for whiteface. They really go out of their way to be great hosts. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al A, Owner at Mountain Brook Lodge, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review!!! We can't wait to see you again!!!
Al & Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We chose Mountain Brooke Lodge because of the reasonable price and that fact that Al and Alicia offered my boyfriend, an Iraq vet, a free night for his service. (How wonderful is that???!!!). We will return to Mountain Brooke Lodge because staying with Al and Alicia felt like visiting family. They are warm and welcoming. We actually got hugs from them when we arrived! Our room was spotless and very comfy, with memory foam beds and an hdtv. Breakfast has options for everyone, and Al left it out for us on the day we slept in :).
The hotel is quiet and close to all attractions.
We plan on making Mountain Brooke Lodge our hotel of choice for all trips back to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I'm thinking of returning to the Adirondaks just so I can stay at the Mountain Brook Lodge again. Al & Alicia make you feel like you are staying with friends or family. The rooms have that wood panel Adirondak feel; but also have HDTV, minifridge, microwave & coffee maker. Our room even had a goldfish tank! The room was quiet (we couldn't hear our neighbors) and very clean with new carpet, new bed mattress & ample supply of towels. The included breakfast was suprisingly substantial with fresh bagels, english muffins, fresh fruit, hardboiled eggs, cereals & packaged pastries. We were able to get an extended checkout so that we could change in the room after skiing. Al & Alicia also pointed us to some very good local restaurants. This has to be one of the best motor inns that we have ever stayed in and the reasonable price makes it an excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with the fish tank in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Brook Lodge

Address: 5712 NYS Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Brook Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 miles from beautiful Whiteface Mountain, where the 1980 Winter Olympics were held, in the heart of the Adirondacks! 12 miles from Lake Placid!! Free late check out for skiers. Go home comfortable!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Brook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Brook Hotel Wilmington
Hotel Mountain Brook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Brook Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.