We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prime rib” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Inn II

Wilderness Inn II
5481 NYS Rt. 86, Wilmington, NY 12997
518 946-2391
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Herat, Afghanistan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great prime rib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Nice little family run restaurant. All the food is great but the prime rib on Saturdays is what we go for. Go early as they will sell out of it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
long island
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“never a bad meal here!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

the steaks are excellent, as well as the specials
the salad bar could use more of a variety of greens and vegetables though.
service was very good, the bar has plenty of beers and wines to choose from.
outside dining can be alittle buggie, so be advised.
my friends and family always request atleast one meal or more during our stays.
remind the waitress that you are staying at a local hotel and you may get a 10% discount
on the meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

The food was good, I would recommend the stuffed pork chop, which was over 2 inches thick. Prices were fair. Service was quick and very friendly. I would definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Average but Best Restaurant in the Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Food & drink selections are very ordinary. Salad bar is iceberg - no olive oil. If you eat meat, you will be better off. Very limited veggie options. But, it's well located & has friendly service in a nice setting.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We went twice, and both times my finance had the prime rib, and he loved it. The portion looks impressive too, and it's juicy and delicious (I tried some too, there was so much of it :) ) They have abundant salad bar, and I really enjoyed it (I love salad bars). I also tried scallops, but they put too much butter for my taste, and roast beef.
Also, we had escargot in mushrooms caps - creative and delicious.
Prices are very reasonable, and the service is excellent.
And definitely try the chocolate truffle pie - to die for!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderness Inn II also viewed

 

Been to Wilderness Inn II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Inn II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.