We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Inn II

Wilderness Inn II
5481 NYS Rt. 86, Wilmington, NY 12997
518 946-2391
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value and charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I were recently visiting the Lake Placid area. We were advised to try the Wilderness II restaurant.

We both loved and appreciated how "old school" the restaurant is. This is the place to come when you want good, home-cooking without pretension. The restaurant is cozy and the staff is very welcoming. The dining room is romantic, but it also lends itself to families.

We sat beside the fireplace and we remarked how magical this place would be in the winter.

There is a salad bar with the usual fixings -- try the potato salad and spicy corn salad!

Warm buns also accompany your dinner!

We shared the shrimp cocktail and we both really enjoyed the homemade cocktail sauce. For dinner, I had the stuffed pork chop with homemade applesauce. My husband had the stuffed chicken. You could tell that both entrees were made from scratch, but the cranberry sauce that was served with the chicken was from a can.

We were both too full for dessert.

With drinks (wine and rum punch) our meal was less than $60!

We would definitely return to this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have eaten at the restaurant many times as it is conveniently located near our cabin. The food is always mediocre although the steaks can be very good. The price is high for what you get. Our last meal was the dry, bland rainbow trout. Dinner is served with a potato or rice and corn and the salad bar. The salad bar has iceberg lettuce, under ripe tomatoes and not a lot of variety. You can count on having two starches and one meat or fish item on your plate with little or no green veggies. They do have a children's menu, which is nice but the cost is not much less than the standard entrees. Vegetarians should note that they won't find much to eat here but that is true of many Adirondack restaurants. The drinks that I have ordered (martinis) have been good enough. The beer selection is limited but probably suits anyone who is not looking for microbrews.

The restaurant is cozy and the service is usually pretty good. We like the owner and the fact that it is a family run restaurant and not a chain. They have a weird (but fun) window display with flowers and random decorative things that make a good I Spy game to keep kids busy if you sit near the display. I would avoid taking kids who are likely to misbehave to this restaurant. The tables are very close together and it is easy to disturb other guests. They do not have a changing table in the bathroom but they do have high chairs and booster seats.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Popular for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This place is always packed and for good reason. They serve up great food with great service, all for a good price - $17 for most dinner entrees (included salad bar, veggie, starch). We had the rainbow trout & salmon entrees. We left feeling very satisfied, with no room for dessert, although they looked good. The Mountain Brook Lodge (located nearby, also in Wilmington) gives a discount too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Our first night in Wilmington the parking lot here was packed. On our second night we decided to give it a try......now we totally understand. The dining area is warm and inviting and the service staff welcoming. The dinner entrees come with the salad bar which is basic but fresh. All of our entrees were delicious. The winners on the table were the Roasted Chicken and the Queen sized steak. But the Rainbow Trout and Salmon were very tasty.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Must Do Each Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have stayed down the road from this place twice and love the food. The first time we ate there the food was absolutely amazing and the service great. So when we planned our next trip to the Adirondacks the following summer we made sure to return. I ordered the same steak meal as before and was just as happy as the previous visit.

Fact is, my stomach just growled thinking about it. If you're in the area and looking for a place to eat, look no further.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderness Inn II also viewed

 

Been to Wilderness Inn II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Inn II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.