We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Motor Inn : Hardly a resort!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Hungry Trout Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hungry Trout Resort
Save
You added The Hungry Trout Resort to your Saves list
5239 Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wantagh, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Upscale Motor Inn : Hardly a resort!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed two nights as part of a weekend package with the Santa's Workshop attraction. With the package you got two nights accommodations at the Hungry Trout with Dinner Friday and Saturday night and Breakfast Saturday and Sunday. Also, Santa's Workshop had set up entertainment for the kids each night.

When we arrived Friday afternoon precipitation had just started but I noticed that the parking lot was completely covered in ice....at first I thought it was a little odd but then started to think maybe that was the norm in the North Country.

Regarding the facility... it's a not a resort.... lets call it what it is... a roadside motel that happens to abut a river famous for trout fishing and has a restaurant and bar on the property but far enough away from the rooms that the property could be sub-divided and the restaurant sold off and no one would know any different.

So, this mixed precipitation comes down for the next two days and there is the owner Jerry (a very nice enough older chap) totally unprepared. I'm not sure if he was caught off guard by the weather or just didn't want to spend the money on salting and sanding the lot. He used what ever salt he had sparingly to try to coat the walkway to the restaurant but every time you left your room you took the risk of falling on your behind,

The room was clean and fine, but it was just a room. The Bathroom had upgraded fixtures and seemed clean. The pictures on their website make the place look more resort like than it really is.

So, as I said we had the room for 2 nights as part of a package with Santa's Workshop and then we planned on staying on our own another 4 nights. On Sunday the ice was so bad that they closed Santa's Workshop so around 11AM we headed to Lake Placid and did some shopping on Main Street which had no ice or snow on it.

I had booked my room in June and was quoted a rate of $109 a night but we were told by the people in the room next to us that they were paying $79 and night and Jerry even thought we were paying $99 a night...so I have no idea if they just pick prices out of thin air.

Sunday night after we return from Lake Placid we are unwinding and watching TV when the power goes out....well along with the power being out so was the heat. I sleep with a CPAP machine and none of us got a good night's sleep in the cold with my snoring.

The power finally came back at 6 AM and I discovered I could get a room at the Crown Plaza in Lake Placid, which is a real resort, for $11 more a night. So I walk in to the office and Jerry asks if we are leaving. I explained that I can't risk being without power and the use of my CPAP machine nor risk falling on the ice as I have already had 1 hip replacement. He was cordial but never offered to comp the room or give a discount....frankly, while I realize the weather was out of his control but when you rent a room you expect it to have power and heat.

That said...I don't know if I would go back there because there are a lot of other choices in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryBot, Owner at The Hungry Trout Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
The day this wonderful man arrived at our facility, a major ice storm hit our community that lasted three days and nights. It devastating trees, roads, power lines and, of course, driveways and sidewalks. It was the worst weather event here in two decades.
This facility spent $2,000 in plowing and sanding fees in three days trying to keep up with an unending barrage of rain that traveled through a 48 degree temperature elevation (that of Lake Placid) prior to landing in 30 degree temperature here at this facility. No ice in Lake Placid and higher elevations, MAJOR ice accumulation here next to Whiteface Mountain (which closed for a day because of it.)
We worked each day and into the nights trying to keep up with the work required to maintain a safe condition for our guests. We would sand, it would freeze over, sand again...freeze over again. We have over 300 yards of driveway to maintain on this 10 acre property.
There were 12 power company trucks with 30 employees parked a few miles away ready to fix the power lines that were surely expected to break that evening and they did. This owner immediately got dressed and went to every room handing out flashlights and detailing the problem to our guests, all of whom were very understanding and appreciative of my efforts and happy the power returned in the night . For this man to suggest that less than every effort was taken to keep our sidewalks and driveways safe and walkable is preposterous. That chipping sound you heard that night, sir, was me removing yet another ice build up in front of your door!
Regarding his rate issue, I, like every other owner or manager in this business, am very happy to discount a room to guests who have been inconvenienced in some fashion during their stay, even if it's a result of something not of our doing. It's easier to do so, however, if the guest is pleasant, understanding, polite and appreciative.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 6th anniversary at The Hungry Trout in Oct 2013. I wish we would have gone a bit earlier in the month when it was NOT snowing, but we managed to have a great time anyway. We forgot my fly reel and Evan at the (closed but open for us) fly shop was kind enough to loan me one vs. making me buy one. Many thanks, Evan. He took some time to encourage us to try lobbing the kitchen sink( sculpin pattern) at late season feeders and the first day we had no luck. The next day hubby saw some trout surface feeding at a "beginner's paradise" right behind the restaurant and I was able to snag a nice 13-14" brown on an elk hair caddis. BOOOYAH! Made my whole trip!! We loved the convenience of the two on site eateries with great food and drinks. Our room was newly renovated, modern, clean and the BED was SO comfy, as mentioned by previous reviewers. The staff/owners showed personal attention and it was greatly appreciated. I will spread the word to fellow fishermen and friends to stay w/ you in the future. We WILL be back. Thanks so much for a great weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Cozy rooms and wonderful dining experiences await you at the Hungry Trout. Our room was comfortable and afforded us a beautiful view of the mountains. The restaurant has excellent food. Our steaks were done perfectly! The soups are very tasty. We have stayed there before and will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our group of 7 walked in on a saturday night, no reservations, and were immediately seated in the large dining room with a great view of the river. The dinners ranged from pan fried trout, prime rib, pork chops and grilled trout. No one had any complaints. the food was hot and the service was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. The prices were in line with the area, which i have No problem paying for as long as it is very good, which it was.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This a review of the main restaurant only. I found the food to be wanting. 2 people in our party had steaks that were tough. One came out undercooked and was sent back. Soups were excellent. Everything else was middle of the road. For the price, I would say it's not worth the money anymore.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you are looking for a nice place to stay while stalking trout, this is it. Very nice rooms and really comfortable. Fly shop and restaruant on site. Good fly fishing directly behind the property. We stayed in a double queen room with the family, me the wife and 2 boys and it was fine. The bathroom was very upscale. The location is close to Lake Placid and on the west branch of the AuSabel.

Room Tip: No fitness center, hit it by accident. Oops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavelle, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

great location, beautiful views, very nice rooms, pool and playground nice for kids, very helpful and friendly staff. the only downfall (in August) was you had to travel for breakfast because the restaurants on the premises don't open until 4 & 5pm and the motel doesn't offer any type of breakfast. there are coffee pots and coffee in the room. the closest place for breakfast was just a few minutes down the road. the two restaurants at the Hungry Trout were great.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms like brand new
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hungry Trout Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hungry Trout Resort

Address: 5239 Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Hungry Trout Hotel Wilmington
Hungry Trout Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hungry Trout Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.