We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hungry Trout Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hungry Trout Resort
Save
You added The Hungry Trout Resort to your Saves list
5239 Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My Wife and I enjoyed our short vacation at this cozy place. When placing reservation I decided to pay a bit more for the King Suite w/ mountain view. Turned out that these higher priced suites were recently rebuilt and therefore look and feel new. Even in -18F (+wind chill factor) termperatures for MLK weekend stay 2012 the room felt warm and comfortable. The bathroom had a separate heater/fan. Furuniture in the room is new. The room had a Fridge in it that came by default. Free wireless internet had decent speeds.

Absolutely recommend this place!

Room Tip: Splurge and get a higher priced room - those were recently rebuilt (after a fire in 2010?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    20
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My family of 4 booked two rooms over a three day January weekend for a ski / snow show holiday. We had wonderful views of Whiteface Mt - and the hotel is only 5 minutes to the base lodge. There are many nearby hiking trails - we went on a great 4 mile snow shoeing trek to Copperas and Owen Ponds - trailblazing in 6 inches of snow. Touristy Lake Placid is still close enough for the occasional dinner out but we found the restaurant associated with the Hungry Trout to be excellent - offering a variety choices from Pub burgers to steaks. Very good service at the pub.

Room has very warm and quiet with a king size bed.

Only concern - the linen could have been cleaner - we found crumbs and hair throughout the sheets in both of the rooms we had.

Room Tip: Avoid room # 1 (too close to the maid's storage closet).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Great service and friendly staff. The location is terrific, especially if you are skiing Whiteface, and you can't beat the price. The restaurant is a must-try, the fresh fish is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

We had stayed here four years ago and were thrilled with the location. When we booked again this year, we were intrigued by the "remodeled rooms". Over the phone, Jerry told us that they were "nice". That's a bit of an understatement! Our King room was gorgeous, with postcard views of Whiteface right outside our window! We could watch the snow makers at night, in anticipation of the next day's fun. Very comfortable bed, super fast wifi, beautiful spa-style bathroom with rainfall shower, cathedral ceiling, immaculate room, friendly owner, and the ease of being the first on the mountain will have us back again and again. P.S. Make sure to try the burgers at the resort's MacDougall's pub - delish! Also, we thoroughly enjoyed the just-opened T&T Coffee Shop next to the Wilmington Post Office.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Jerry was SO accommodating! Our family of five arrived into LaGuardia at 8pm Christmas night and still had a 5+ hour drive ahead of us into Wilmington so that we could be ready for skiing at Whiteface mountain the next day. The owners gave us a call Christmas day to confirm our plans and we explained that we wouldn't be able to check in until very late (most likely around 1am). They assured us that would be fine, gave us our room assignment and told us the room would be ready and open, to just walk in when we got there (regardless of the hour). A small but quaint room awaited us with two Queen sized beds. Our rooms were made up the three nights we were there and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this place if your plans take you to the area for skiing or sight seeing in the Lake Placid area (Just a short 9mile drive). "Up a Creek" restaurant is just down the road for FANTASTIC homestyle breakfast & great start to your day. The Hungry Trout also has an onsite restaurant which we didn't get a chance to try, but gets great reviews!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hungry Trout during labor day weekend 2011 (just after Tropical Storm Irene pushed through). even though there were many roads and bridges out the resort was open, clean and undamaged. Jerry was very helpful with driving directions so we could avoid closed roads and bridges. The room was very clean, smelled nice and the bed was amazing. The pub has amazing drinks and the Hungry Trout restaurant served the best Trout I've ever had. When we come back to the Lake Placid region we will stay here again without question.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We have been staying here for the last few years, no surprises, just gets better!
Splendid view, clean air, great motel and friendly atmosphere. Eating at the Pub is a real treat. The bartender makes one feel right at home. We really enjoyed the maids, they are fantastic! Thanks again for another spectacular stay.

Gary & Bev Allen

Room Tip: Every room has a spectacular view. The food at the motel is affordable & very good. The Ausable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hungry Trout Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hungry Trout Resort

Address: 5239 Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
The Hungry Trout Hotel Wilmington
Hungry Trout Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hungry Trout Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.