We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA
Save
You added Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA to your Saves list
77 Fox Farm Road, Wilmington, NY 12997   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for the weekend in one of there cabins with the family. Showed up short one sleeping bag and too late to hit a store. One of the staff - Bill, fixed us up with his own blankets. Thanks Bill! This campground is one of a kind. It really is what a campground should be. It is clean and up to date. My teenage boys love it and that says alot. I like the location too. It is an easy drive to all the other things to see and do in this part of the Adirondacks. Check out the flume and the cliffs for diving.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My friend and I have camped here a few times, while doing some hiking in the area. The camp sites are a good size, with trees in between, which give at least an illusion of privacy. Each campsite has a fire pit, and a picnic table. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. The tuck shop has lots of items for sale, if you forget anything (like a toothbrush or towel....) or if it's cold and you need an extra blanket. They also don't gouge you on price for these items. Ice and firewood are also for sale.

There are lots of activities for kids, including a small playground. (We didn't have kids with us, so I can't review these amenities.) It's fairly quiet at night, at least the times I've gone.

The comfort station is heated, with flush toilets and sinks, soap and paper towels, and showers with hot water. Every time I've been, the comfort stations have been clean.

The only down side is that it's a little far from some of the hiking trails (Mt. Jo, Algonquin Mt., etc.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Although we only live an hour away from Lake Placid, we chose to pack up the RV and head there for our Memorial Day Weekend. It was a great choice! The KOA campground is just outside Wilmington in the direction of Lake Placid. Just a mile further down the road is Whiteface Mountain. Keep going another 7 miles and you're in the heart of the Olympic Village. We were all very pleased with our KOA experience. The grounds are clean, spaces are plenty large,with many pull throughs available, with hookups. Being new to this type of camping, I had no difficulty pulling in and getting set up. Staff is friendly and helpful. The lodge/store has anything you might need that you left at home. Unfortunately, it rained all weekend so we didn't get to try out the pool. However, the game room and playground offered the kids some diversion from being cooped up inside during the foul weather. This KOA is dog friendly and offered our four-legged companions a nice doggie walk. As it was a holiday weekend, the campground put on a free BBQ dinner of pulled pork or chicken for anyone with a three night reservation. I would give this KOA the highest rating for both services and location. Compared to the high hotel prices in Lake Placid, the KOA was just what the doctor ordered. We're already making plans for another summer weekend in Wilmington.

Room Tip: Some sites have dumping stations. If you can't get one of these, an easy to use dumping station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

First off let me start by saying that this was our third trip, it was by far the worst, we have 36 feet fifth wheel and we were give a 2 services site that was sized for a 25 feet trailer, there was no way a trailer the size of ours could fit in, the KOA refused to chg our site so we went back to site and went in the "wrong" way, it was the only way we could go in, provided the the extension were not all out? The next morning we tried changing our site once again and the older lady at the front desk, she is a long term employee as she had been there at least since our first trip 3 years before, was just not in a good mood, she clearly was not going to help, since we had reserved for 5 days we decided to stay, on the third day, we again tried to chg our site, I had noticed a youger individual at the front desk and sure enough she changed our site without a fuss, after finishing the transaction the older lady walked in and was clearly upset with the youger one, to this day I still don't understand why? We finished our trip on the new site and had a nice time but I will never go there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We love the adirondack atmosphere, camping and campfires. One night while having a fire and spending some quality time together, the mood turned romantic. We temporarily retired to our tent for some private alone time where we could also see the fire. NOT FOR LONG! A golf cart swoops right up, attendant comes into our site and drowns out our campfire and our mood. Clearly he was sitting not too far away watching us.... Creepy creeper... The next day we get sited for leaving our fire unattended. I suppose I should have cleared our " alone time" with the park first. Will never go back there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stay at a KOA and I was a little wary as we like more remote camping. We were pleasantly surprised. The sites are treed and have lots of privacy. We stayed with friends and had two sites between us one of which was a lean-to. The lean-to was very spacious and a great site. Lots to do in the area with being so close to Lake Placid. Lots on site also. Very clean and a great experience. We will definitely be back next summer.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to find this one of the best campgrounds we have been to in New York. The owners, Richard and Sylvia Nagamine are on the property and take great pride in the campground. They actively work hard to help make the stay here a great experience. The location in Wilmington is along the Ausable River and affords spectacular views as you head into Lake Placid for activites. The ease of access to sites of all sizes on well-maintained roads made it a breeze to maneuver any sized unit throughout the campground. Good hiking trails, a good store, plenty of services, super clean and well-appointed showers and bathrooms all help to make the stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: All sites are good depending on your unit. They offer everything from secluded tent sites to full-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA

Address: 77 Fox Farm Road, Wilmington, NY 12997
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Wilmington
Number of rooms: 262

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid / Whiteface Mountain KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.