We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Power - Grateful for Surge Protector” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Pole Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added North Pole Resorts to your Saves list
North Pole Resorts
5644 NYS Rt. 86, PO Box 68, Wilmington, NY 12997   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Dirty Power - Grateful for Surge Protector”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We chose a 50 amp RV campsite to ensure our heat pumps would be enough to keep us warm without needing to use the diesel boiler for our motorhome furnace. Thankfully we have a surge protector because of the multiple spikes (over voltage) during the evening, overnight, and into the early morning. Yes the staff is great, the sites clean, large and well maintained. BUT if you don't have a surge protector one visit could leave you with very expensive, and extensive electronic repairs.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPole92, Owner at North Pole Resorts, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you experienced issues with the power last night, but we wish that you had informed us when it happened. This is the first we have ever heard of such a problem. Our electrical system is just two years old. If you had called us, even if it was after hours, we would have addressed the problem. Our electrician could have come to see what the problem was. We apologize that this marred your stay with us, but would have appreciated the opportunity to rectify the situation.
-Jim Carmelitano
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    26
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
70
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at a campsite at this resort a couple of years ago and had such a great experience that we decided to book our family vacation there now that we have kids. The campsites are always well maintained and the bathrooms and showers are as clean if not cleaner than some high end hotels. This resort also offers two swimming pools, mini golf, and waterfront access for fishing or launching a kayak/canoe.

One thing that they did change since the last time was the front office and general store. Not only is it well stocked with the usual camping supplies, fishing equipment including a good selection of bait, and other misc items, it also has a HUGE selection of craft beers available. That's right this resort in the middle of the gorgeous Adirondack Mountains has a selection of craft beers that rivals many big city stores. Whether you like IPA's, Red Ales, Porters, Oatmeal Stouts and more, you'll find something to pique your interests and please your taste buds here. You can mix and match your own custom packs since they sell them by the bottle as well.

If all these things weren't enough to already make this a fantastic place to stay the customer service sets this even farther above the competition. On the second day of our stay it rained all day and night our youngest got sick with a cough and fever. The staff was able to get us into a resort room and apply the cost of our campsite as a credit towards the room. This was our first time staying in a room at the resort and we were so happy with the extremely spacious room and comfortable beds. The design was rustic with a Christmas theme and the large Adirondack chairs and attached tables on the patio in front of our room were great to sit down and enjoy our beer after the kids were tucked snug in bed.

Having stayed in resorts in the village of Lake Placid we can say that besides having the convenience of walking to a large selection of restaurants and shops, North Pole wins hands down for overall value, cleanliness, and customer service. Oh and beer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massena, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the 100 Acres portion of this campground in mid - September as it was close to all the hiking we wanted to do in the Whiteface/Keene area. The site we had was delightfully treed and so very quiet.( #46) The staff- each one we encountered - were friendly and helpful and the toilets and showers were new and very clean. It was a great experience. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family loves the Adirondacks and this was our first stay at the North Pole. We stayed for 2 nights. The price was very reasonable and the room decorated very comfortably (loved the log chairs!) But most of all, the room was spotless, including the shining chrome in the bathroom and the surprisingly soft towels. Owners are very accomodating and friendly. It was nice and quiet with a beautiful view. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here July 14-17, 2012 and had a great time. Our son, daughter in law and grandkids had one room and we had another. Our room was decorated so cute with the log furniture and pictures of Santa.We had no complaints about this place; our room was nice and clean and the price was very reasonable. We spent most of our days sightseeing but took full advantage of the game room and used both swimming pools. The miniature golf course was a lot of fun too. It's not too far from Lake Placid so be sure to check and see what's going on in the Olympic Center if you like ice skating. We went to the ice show that Saturday night and they had a guest skater-the men's 2011 US Champion, Ryan Bradley.
Across from the North Pole inn is an A&W with good classic food and if you want some great Italian food, Rosalia's Italian Kitchen is very good. We weren't sure there would be any restaurants in Wilmington so we were happy there were some so close.
I could tell by the number of campers at North Pole that their campground is very popular too. I would go back to North Pole Inn, for sure.

Room Tip: If you want a microwave and fridge, ask which rooms have them. We only needed a queen bed so our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We just completed a quick trip to the Lake Placid area and stayed at the North Pole Resort. I had stayed there many years ago and it was better than I remembered. Nice clean rooms, a great staff, two pools, playground, camping, boating, canoeing, game room, mini-golf, store, and the right location. The price was amazing and with family there is no other place we will ever stay! We plan on renting a cabin next time. The place receives our highest recomendation! See you next year. Marty, Cheryl & the kids!

Room Tip: No matter what you are looking for a room or two, tenting, RVing, a cabin this is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delanson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

One of the cleanest and friendliest campgrounds we have ever visited. After 14 years RVing that says a lot. Bathrooms are always clean and staff are very friendly. Our family always stay at the Inn and visit us at our campsite which makes for a very happy vacation. Fishing is always a challenge. Thats why they call it fishing and not "catching".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Pole Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Pole Resorts

Address: 5644 NYS Rt. 86, PO Box 68, Wilmington, NY 12997
Location: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family resort featuring a 20 unit motel, 5 suites and cottages, miniature golf, two pools and two campground facilities featuring a full array of camping hookups. Gift shop and store on site for all your personal and camping needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your North Pole Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Pole Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Pole Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.