We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ichi Shogun Restaurant

Ichi Shogun Restaurant
7590 Transit Rd, Williamsville, NY 14221-6018
716-631-8899
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 133 Restaurants in Williamsville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lockport
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I decided to visit the restaurant because he loves japanese food.We waited 45 minutes at the table for a chef.We ended up with the bus boy who was told to fill in as our chef because we were waiting so long management sent him over to grill our food.He broke all the eggs 4 of them all over the table. He dropped the utensils ,spilled the condiments and seemed monotone.He overcooked our steak and shrimp ect, We were very disappointed.He was a nice person but not a chef.The waitress was friendly and very apologetic but it was not as we had it enjoyed it before! Very rundown and They did not wipe tables down in between meals,I watched them put new plates down for the next diners and not wash the table,YUCK.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“First-time for hibachi.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited Shogun with literally years if anticipation after hearing so much about hibachi-style dining. We were immediately seated and attended to by a polite waitress. I got steak and chicken while my wife got steak and shrimp. Salad was okay but nothing special. Dumpling as appetizers, again nothing special. Our meals were just 'okay'. My chicken and steak was cooked correctly but I am NOT someone that can tolerate grizzle or fat. Since we didn't receive knives (custom I believe) I had to chew and chew and then spit out the grizzle into a napkin. Most people can chew this and swallow, I can't... Flavor was good, portion sizes were large. My wife brought home two meals' worth in a to-go container. The chef was mildly entertaining but didn't really 'WOW' us. But then again this was our first experience with hibachi. Overall I just left with a feeling of mediocrity. I would go back again but only if I had a coupon (which we did have a$35 'Groupon').

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have never had a bad meal. The steak just melts in your mouth. We love watching them cook the food in front of us. Always entertaining and each chef contributes something different. Jump at the chance to go!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fun for groups, food a bit better than ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Shogun is great for those who like the hibachi grill Japanese knife twirling chef prepared meal. Those who need to avoid sodium should beware. Salt and soy sauce are used extensively. The staff is friendly and does an excellent job of entertaining as they prepare your meal. The food is good but in my opinion not great. However to be fair my wife and son love it. Shogun is a great place to go to celebrate birthdays or for groups to be entertained while eating. Just a bit pricy but you are paying for the chef to put on a private show at each hibachi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Best Friends Birthday Dinner Was A BLAST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

About 20 of us meet here for my best friends birthday dinner at the end of April. We had reservations & were glad we made them, because this place gets busy! The service was excellent, even if our group was slightly tipsy. The show was amazing, the food was great, and the price was good too! We all had a great time & brought home leftovers because the portion size is huge. The flavored saki as great. Overall - this is a must see! The show alone would make us go back , but the enviroment is fun & friendly. Perfect for a date, night out with friends, or a young childs birthday.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichi Shogun Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ichi Shogun Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichi Shogun Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.