We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Esplanade Hotel

Save Saved
You added Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Esplanade Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Lyon Place, White Plains, NY 10601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in White Plains
Stony Point, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Decided last minute to stay in White Plains so I could be close to where I was taking a big exam. No other hotels were available as a result of the hurricane. What a horrible place! Upon check in they didn't even tell me about breakfast and upon check out the front desk was closed. I had to walk across the street in the cold to check out at the senior housing. Walked into my room and it smelled horrible. I opened my deodorant and left that on the night stand next to me to try and help. My shower had hair and dirt all over! I had to shower so after running it for a little and the dirt remained, I used a towel to line the floor of the shower. Then the water wasn't draining. Oh and the towels are so small. The carpet was coming up in the room, the bed sheets were yellow. Slept in long pants and long sleeves and grabbed a blanket from my car to line the bed. I did not complain to anyone because I was focused on my exam and didn't want to work myself up. They will get an email from me though. That being said, I did not leave a tip in the room!! Thank goodness i only had to spend about 12 hours there. I feel horrible for anyone needing extended stays and getting stuck there!

Room Tip: Don't book any room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    7
    10
    32
See reviews for
14
8
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We were victims of Hurricane Sandy. We paid for 5 days. On the 3rd day, although we locked our door & put do not disturb sign on the door, we returned from the playground at about 3:30 to find our room burglarized: there we were without a home & about $800 worth of items was stolen! There security was greatly lacking. The management credited our 2 remaining prepaid days but wouldn't even refund the day of the theft. Also, tv didn't work; they did not provide adequate sheets; grungy bedding, empty beer can greeted us in the closet....a nightmare experience...they really took advantage of people in need ...probably even an inside job.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these White Plains hotels

Westchester, NY
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Because of Hurricane Sandy, we had no electricity, heat or hot water in our house. All of the hotels in the White Plains area were sold out, and Esplanade was the only one available. I should have known that there is a reason why no-one wants to stay here. With no other options, I booked Esplanade. After reading other reviews, I knew I wasn't going to get 5 stars but also this hotel is not cheap 150$/night you should expect it to be at least decent. But I wasn't prepared for how horrible my experience would be. Stay away from this place. Upon arrival, the room had a strong stench of cigarets, it was nauseating. The carpet wasn't vacuumed. So I attempted to cleaning the floors and found multiple items of drug paraphernalia. When I ran to the front desk to ask for something to be done, manager was not surprised and said they can't do anything for me not even clean the room. I asked for a vacuum cleaner and vacuumed the floor myself. The water faucet wasn't working, you couldn't shut it off. They didn't have a plumber onsite, it took them a day to find a plumber that could fix it. The sheets are not cotton (polyester type of material) which makes your skin very itchy. There was white powder underneath the bed and dresser which I think is boric acid for roaches but I'm not completely sure what it is. I wanted to check out early and they said they can't check me out earlier than my intended stay and will not refund me. I will never come back here and advise anybody who can stay somewhere else to do so.

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I was on a business trip with two other people. We were booked here due to a shortage of places to stay in the area. We had to check in at the front desk for the Sr Living Apts (which are attached). The poor girl working there had to do EVERYTHING by herself. She was great! There was no Internet in some of the rooms, the carpet was awful, the bathroom totally outdated. Definitely not worth the cost of the hotel. Shower was mildewed. The staff does all they can but they can only do so much in this dumpy place. They have a 48 hr cancellation notice and I can see why as no one would want to stay. There isn't even parking. Thank goodness I only had to stay one night!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Excellent location and service, we stayed 2.5 months and all the staff/management made us felt like home, they provided us with EVERYTHING we need since we were staying with our newly born baby. We really enjoyed our stay in The Esplanade.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are glad you gave us the opportunity to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the near future.

Michael Evans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Pro's

1. Good Location. A few minutes walk to major stores and restaurants..
2. Front Desk try their best to do their best but Service is nothing to Brag about.
3. Nice soft beds :) - If you are stopping by for a night just to get some sleep, Its not bad.

Cons

1. Carpets are worn out. Rooms are shabby.
2. No Breakfast. On days there was breakfast, the menu is bad..
3. Right opposite a Funeral Parlor

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael E, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear AlvinSaldanha08
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for the condition of your room and the hallway carpets. We are in the process of starting a big renovation that would address these issues. Also, I would like to remind you that breakfast is available everyday between the hours of 7:00 AM and 9:30 AM Monday through Friday and until 10:00 AM Saturday and Sunday. I have also addressed the issue of customer service with the Front Desk staff. Our goal is to provide excellent and friendly service to all our guests.
If your travels should bring you back to the area, we look forward to the opportunity to serve again.
Michael Evans
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is probably my worst business trip experience. This building is archaic; there's no WiFi - how is this even possible? They charged me $9.99 to use an ethernet cord. They don't have the most basic amenities - IE: I forgot my toothpaste, they don't have any. There is no hair dryer.

For almost $200, this is ridiculous. I will never stay here again and encourage others to find alternative places to stay if possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: 4 Lyon Place, White Plains, NY 10601
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Esplanade Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of White Plains, The Esplanade Hotel and Corporate Housing is Westchester New York's most convenient choice for business and leisure travelers. Rich in American history and vibrant as it creates its High-Tech present and future, White Plains is perfect for getaways, short-stay housing and corporate extended-stay relocation. The Esplanade Hotel is your suitable hotel choice as well when you attend business meetings throughout the area. MetroNorth rail station within walking distance, and be in Midtown Manhattan in 30-40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel White Plains, Westchester County, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.