We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Westchester Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Westchester Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 West Red Oak Lane, White Plains, NY 10604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in White Plains
Elmont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I would recommend this place to anyone who is in town and want to a hotel to enjoy the nights.This place is wonderful. the staff are nice. the engineers are nice. they greet you. I will always choose this hotel far away from NYC. The pool is fantastic, i see no sign of "racism" no belligerency. OH man. just book your stay NOWWWWW

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    61
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
57
43
7
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at the Renaissance Westchester Hotel. Great experience. Lovely room, food in restaurant delicious. Relaxing stay. Only drawback was that they were repairing the walkway to entrance of hotel rooms and there were times we could not get in or out and had to walk around. Hopefully, this will be remedied soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Judith B,

Thank you for taking your time and writing to us about your time as our guest here at the Renaissance Westchester Hotel. It makes me very happy to hear that you had a great experience with us. Please allow me to apologies for the inconvenience our renovation to our guest entrance had on you. Please know we are nearing the end of this project and we have a temporary entrance in place so our guests do not have to walk far. We appreciate your feedback. I hope you have a wonderful day!

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, MA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here recently and enjoyed the convenience of the location -- just off the Merritt and 287 but set back from the roads in a nicely wooded setting that included a short (10-minute) walking course partly in the woods (and partly in the parking lot).

Our room was stylish, spacious, and well-appointed, and the bathroom was also decent (although we had to ask for service to clear a clogged drain). The breakfast buffet (which we got with a bed and breakfast rate) also was very good, with lots of fresh fruit and other usual options. Service was very friendly -- very staff person we saw greeted us with a "hello" and a smile.

The only downside of our stay was that we could hear hall noise at night -- the walls for such a seemingly nice place seemed surprisingly thin.

Even with this caveat, we'd probably stay here again if we needed a spot off the beaten path but still very handy to local roads and outside the hubbub of downtown White Plains -- it was definitely a better-than-average place to stay for a couple of nights.

Tip: As you approach Red Oak Lane, be sure to get way over into the right-hand lane; otherwise, you'll overshoot the turn and have to do some backtracking by following Westchester Avenue, crossing over 287, and then looping back to the entrance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear DGandSAG,

Thank you for taking time and reviewing your stay with us. I appreciate the information you provided to our future guests especially the information about getting to our hotel. We know how confusing the roads can be. Thank you again. We hope you visit us again soon.

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Renaissance last weekend. We arrived in the restaurant late...around 10:00pm exhausted and weary after 3 days of packing our house. Chef Ryan was actually out in the dining room, and when we pointed to a table we wanted to sit at he actually cleaned it himself. He has an amazing attitude and provided us with an amazing dinner. He is a great brand ambassador and made us an amazing dinner and is friendly and social with all the guests.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear yummymummyToronto,

Thank you for your review! We are very lucky to have Chef Ryan on our team and we are delighted to hear about the pleasant experience you had! We hope your move goes well and we look forward to seeing you again.

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night , as it was close to my families 50 reunion. The room was clean, bed comfy and shower worked great! I dined at the Bar, with Steve the bartender, who was attentive and professional. I had some of the best angus beef sliders, that I have had in along time! Leticia from the the front desk, helped me when I need to print out directions . So overall I would recommend this hotel, andI think it is also pet friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Andy05255,

Thank you for the review! We are so pleased to hear all the great comments about our team. I will be sure to pass this along to them. We hope to see you again!

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was excellent ....courteous ....and joyful
I would definitely make that my westchester hotel...
Oh did I mention FREE PARKING!!! The malls and shops are just 10 minutes down the street and the palisades mall is just 15 minutes over the Tapanzee Bridge along with the Woodbury Common premium outlet.....great location right off the highway

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear TINAMARINABoston,

Thank you for the review! We are so pleased to hear all the great comments about our team. I will be sure to pass this along to them. We hope to see you again!

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for my niece's Bat Mitzvah weekend and the staff was very accommodating. I had asked for and received connecting rooms: 1 King and the other with 2 Queen beds. Despite the dated 1970s appearance from the outside, the rooms are clean and modern, newly renovated to look retro, but in a good way.

This hotel is not for the out-of-shape, it feels like there are miles of corridors between the rooms and the lobby, breakfast and bar areas. Each short hallway segment is divided by sets of heavy fire doors that you have to maneuver your luggage through, including those on the covered walkway that connects the reception building to the rear of the hotel. After the 4th set of pulling and tugging exercises on the way to my room the first time, I was irritated that there were no buttons to automatically hold these doors open to be able to pass through easily. My other family members had driven from the lobby to the rear parking lot, so they could not relate to my annoyance over navigating the hallways.

My sister had arranged for the Friday night dinner in the attached "mansion," which was very convenient for both the older and younger guests. The food served at the buffet was very good, but there must have been some misunderstanding on the tables because they were awkwardly arranged in a closed square, making conversation rather stilted. Those of us without small children stayed up late after dinner catching up at the lobby bar, a very pleasant place to hang out.

The breakfast is expensive, for both the buffet and ala carte items, but I will gladly pay for the convenience of feeding my family a hearty on-site meal on the morning of the Service. The wait for the elevators when everyone was heading to their cars for both the Service and the evening gala proved so long that we descended to the rear parking lot via the stairs, and found most of our family and friends doing the same. (again, not ideal for anybody with a disability)

It's a shame the indoor swimming pool was under construction-- when staying here for a previous family event 2 years before, that venue provided a gathering spot on the Saturday afternoon. Since the pool was closed, a group of us drove off-site to nearby Mamaroneck Beach to spend a couple of hours.

The location is convenient to the highway, but a bit tricky to find the first time. Red Oak Lane is a tiny sign, a quick turn which feels not yet clear of the exit ramp. Overall this hotel is adequate for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for easy access and mention any disabilities in your party when booking a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear BmoreStyle,

We are so happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us. We certainly appreciate your comments. Please know I have passed this review along to our team. The positive and the constructive feedback help us to keep our focus on the areas that we need to. Thanks for sharing your experience, and please join us again in the future.

Delighted,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Westchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Westchester Hotel

Address: 80 West Red Oak Lane, White Plains, NY 10604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Westchester Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Westchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance White Plains
White Plains Renaissance
Renaissance Westchester Hotel White Plains, Westchester County, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Westchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.