We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Westchester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Westchester Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   80 West Red Oak Lane, White Plains, NY 10604   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dix Hills, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at the Renaissance Westchester this past weekend and it was an amazing experience. All the hotel staff members were very friendly and accommodating. The entire hotel from the lobby to the rooms were beautiful, very modern, and clean. I would definitely recommend this location to stay and the downtown area is perfect for a weekend getaway! Awesome experience all around!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, General Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for that wonderful review!
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    116
    37
    11
    8
See reviews for
95
76
12
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Webster
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I can't say enough great things about our stay. Everything from start to finish was just wonderful.
The Room - we stayed in a room with 2 queen beds, and there was ample space for the 3 of us. The rooms were super quiet; there was a large party going on and we never head a thing.
Food - we had a special rate that included the breakfast buffet and the food was great. There was a nice variety of hot and cold foods - way more than just stale danishes and cold cereal!
Facilities - everything was super clean. There is a small pool, and on warm days, some of the doors slide open to let in outside air. There is a large courtyard with chaise lounges, bar-height tables and chairs as well as tables with built-in fire pits for evening use. The exercise room was adequate, but there was a sign saying that they are expanding it in the fall. The business center is also VERY small - only 2 computers, but the service worked well. There are also tennis courts (which we didn't use) and extensive grounds for walking.
Service - everyone, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff were super friendly and helpful. This was an unexpected pleasure.
The hotel is only about a 10 min car ride from the Metro North Train station, so it's a perfect place to stay if you want to go into New York City. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, General Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear mamabug7,

Thank you for that impressive review!
It’s so nice to hear that everything went well with your stay.
We look forward to your next visit with us where you will be able to enjoy our new fitness center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This is my third time at this hot and it gets better each time.. The hotel completed a lobby/restaurant renovation recently and it's great! I love the theme, library and living room setting.. It's great.. Customer service is awesome too!! Can't wait to come again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, General Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear natlove007,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
It’s a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the service of our wonderful staff and the improvements made by the renovations.
Come back soon, we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This Renaissance recently completed a total renovation of the lobby, restaurant and rooms. All have been updated and the public areas are much more open and spacious. The rooms have been modernized and a very comfortable. The hotel staff could not have ben more professional, courteous or friendly. We'll definitely be returning when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, General Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear ray027,

Thank you for that marvelous review!
I’m very happy to hear that you approve of our recent improvements to the hotel, and the service provided by our staff.
We’ll be here to welcome you on your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Customer service from quality staff is definitively above average, will all staff members always making their very best to assist you. This is great.
However, the hotel facilities are as such much in the average: rooms are clean and of decent size, but the carpet in the room is showing clear signs of usage, mini-bar is empty, bathroom is just fine.... so no real wow on this.
Common sections are very nice with decent breakfast and food options.
Last but not least, the hotel is lost in the middle of te forest and a couple of corporate buildings. Meaning you are forced to have a vehicule if you want to go for shopping or dinner.
If the RItz-Carlson is fully booked, I would go back to the Renaissance if this is a pure business trip.
Be also aware that this is a 100-150 USD cab trip from/to JFK airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, General Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Fred,
Thank you so very much for the great feedback! I am really happy that you felt our Customer Service is above average, and my team really appreciates reading such a great review. I also appreciate you mentioning that your room was clean and fine. We don't have mini-bars, just refrigerators in the rooms for your convenience...but we do provide In-Room Dining, so we can bring whatever you desire in a jiffy.
While we do offer a terrific menu and service in our Hive Living Room + Bar (3-meal restaurant), we know that sometimes folks like to Discover Something Wonderful and New in the area. It is just a $12 taxi ride into the heart of White Plains (and next time you visit, we have a great partner who can pick you up with Private Town Car Service at JFK for under $100 each way!)
Please come back soon! And thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel has recently had a great remodel, and looks fantastic. We found the food and service to be top notch, but the rooms were dressed up nicely, but a bit on the dirty side. I found strands of hair and even nail clippings. The bed pillows are really small, and ultimately unsatisfying. Maybe I just got a badly serviced room, and the rest was great because the personnel I had any interaction with were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, General Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear TrevorNYC-
I am grateful to read your feedback on TripAdvisor. Thank you so very much for your wonderful comments about the way the newly remodled hotel looks and feels! I am also happy that you enjoyed Chef Jean-Claude's meals tasty, and my Hive Living Room + Bar staff (and the rest of the Team) friendly and helpful. I am very disappointed to read that your room was not perfectly clean, I am truly sorry about that. I have been working closely with my Styling Team to ensure that we go back into the rooms with a better inspection program. I am confident that when you return you will be so pleased!

Thank you again for the excellent comments on service and food. We are such a quick train ride from NYC, I hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Booked this last minute and didn't know what to expect. It was above and beyond and we had a wonderful time. Great room and facilities. Everyone was so nice and service was great, especially Stephen Bruce (Renaissance is very lucky to have him). Will definitely come back and recommend to friends!!.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine S, General Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Noni0529,

Thank you for the terrific review!
Even though your trip was unplanned, it is great to hear that you enjoyed our hotel & staff services.
Stephen is one of our essential staff members and I will be sure to pass your comments on to him.
We look forward to you staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Westchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Westchester Hotel

Address: 80 West Red Oak Lane, White Plains, NY 10604
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in White Plains
#2 Romantic Hotel in White Plains
#3 Family Hotel in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Westchester Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Westchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance White Plains
White Plains Renaissance
Renaissance Westchester Hotel White Plains, Westchester County, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Westchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.