We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value close to home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn White Plains

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn White Plains to your Saves list
Residence Inn White Plains
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Barker Avenue, White Plains, NY 10601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent value close to home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We are locals--my wife and I were looking for a place to spend a night to celebrate her special birthday.

We used Marriott Rewards points (at a lower rate than other nearby Residence Inns) and had an excellent stay. The staff, as has been noted in many reviews, is very attentive and cheerful.

Free USA Today and Wall Street Journals in the lobby. There is also a mini-business center--but this one allows free computer access, which is a nice touch. Small but high quality exercise area, which we both used, that had treadmills and elliptical machines.

Room was extremely spacious. Large living/dining room, large frig. TV remotes did not work so well, although there was a good selection of stations. Nice king bed. Separate bathroom also a nice touch.

Room Tip: If you have a large car, do not use the hotel parking lot as the spaces and lot in general are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    57
    21
    10
    2
See reviews for
61
20
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsburgh, ON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Residence Inn by Marriott in downtown White Plains, NY was an absolute delight. They are in need of some renovation, although the lobby is complete and very comfortable. Our accommodation was extremely spacious, the bed was comfortable and in general it was perfect for our brief stay. The room's/suite's furnishings were dated, but everything was neat and clean - no complaints.

The BEST part was the staff - greeted late at night by Matthew was a joy. Sheldon and Kelly were awesome during the day and the rest of the staff was always more than gracious and courteous. Staying an average of 250 nights per year in a variety of hotels over the past 20+ years, I can say that this appears to be one of the BEST run hotels ever!! To me it is basically a headspace for those who work in the hospitality industry. You either love what you do and it shows in the way you treat your guests, or you don't! This property has a great attitude throughout the entire hotel. Yes, they have challenges and their facility is not perfect, but they are cheerful, accommodating, and more than generous when something needs to be addressed.

A huge thanks to all for making a personal trip for family reasons so very pleasant - you guys ROCK!!

Room Tip: The corner suite was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay F, General Manager at Residence Inn White Plains, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Valued guest-

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear that you had and enjoyable and memorable experience here. We have been striving to provide impeccable service to all of our guests to leave a lasting impression. I will share this success story with our entire staff and make sure tey are recognized for their efforts. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,

Jay Finney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MInneapolis
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is well located, in a walking distance to shops and businesses in general. It is also easy to access from the airport, by taxi it took me 15 minutes and $26. The people at the reception is great, very friendly and really concerned about serving guests well. Check in was fast and because I have a Marriott rewards card, I got a bag with a bottle of water, and energy bar and snacks, well appreciated. They also gave me a paper with instructions about internet access, gym, the small market at the lobby, etc.
The room is huge, as others commented already. My room was clean, at a good temperature and well decorated. A good size flat screen TV, good bath room and a nice bed.
In the morning I hushed to the buffet breakfast included in the daily rate and I found it really good.
The only mixed feeling is that this hotel misses a modern atmosphere, it is more a feeling that is difficult to describe. My impression is that it would be a great place for a long stay, when you want to have more than just a room - in this case, I think it would be a good choice. But for one night only, sometimes is better to have a smaller room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Residence Inn White Plains, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback from your stay. We are happy to hear that you enoyed your experience here and we hope that you will retuen on your next visit to White Plains. Thanks again!

Sincerely,

Jay Finney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Residence Inn is a good spot for the business traveler. I just finished three days of interviews there; the hotel is user friendly, provides a huge hot buffet for breakfast, holds a social hour in the late afternoon, provides clean rooms, has a friendly and helpful staff and is centrally located. You'll find a restaurant on site as well. There is a parking garage (free to hotel guests) but be careful; tight quarters require special attention as you ascend and descend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Residence Inn White Plains, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review your experience at the Residence Inn White Plains. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay again some time. We hope your interviews went well. Thanks again.


Sincerely,

Jay Finney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I booked the hotel because it was adjacent to the apartment building where my son lives. The hotel may not look too nice from the outside nevertheless I can recommend it. The lobby is modern and friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean. Though the furniture may show some signs of being used they're still in a very satisfactory condition. I had a bedroom, a living room with kitchenette and desk, two flatscreens, nice bathroom and an additional lounge corner with a comfortable chair.
The hotel offers breakfast with a wide range of food in a very nice breakfast room next to the lobby.
They even offer a meal there in the evening from Monday to Thursday which I didn't try out. I will definitely be back at this hotel. Unfortunately you have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed on January 19th for one night. Upon arrival the room was not ready, they had us park our car and bring our stuff in; when we returned the room was ready. Went to the room and neither one of the two room keys worked.

Left my wife in the hallway with the luggage and went to the desk and they issued us two new keys. Went back up and finally got in. Tried to turn on the TV's and neither one was working. Called the front desk and someone from housekeeping came up and finally got both of them working.

Took showers and lay down on the bed only to find that it was a sheet and a very thin blanket. Searched the closets and dressers for extra blankets but found none. Did not want to call down again because we had already complained twice. Not our fault but we just decided not to call again. This hotel has no Pay Per view Movies which we were very disappointed in. Coach was very uncomfortable, and the room had large windows. We did not realize that people from the surrounding buildings could see everything we were doing. We actually left the room and went somewhere else that night. Just felt very uncomfortable for some reason.

People at the front desk were great so that was not an issue. Next time we are in the area we will look at one of the other Marriott hotels since there are so many to chose from.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Residence Inn White Plains, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at the Residence Inn White Plains. Please accept my heart felt apology for the invonveniences you experienced with the guest room keys, cable service and linens. We complete understand your frustration. I hope you understand that is not the norm here and my team was very disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations. I hope that you will give us another chance if you are ever returning to the area. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly and I will persnonally make sure your next stay is an enjoyable and memorable one.


Sincerely,

Jay Finney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

First time staying here and would come back if in the area. Chris (I think) at the front desk was cheerful, informative and made a very good first impression.......wish other hotels would realise how important this is to travellers who have been on the road all day !!

Room was huge, comfortable and suitable for a longer stay. Evening social and breakfast fare was fine and overall I had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn White Plains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn White Plains

Address: 5 Barker Avenue, White Plains, NY 10601
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in White Plains
#4 Business Hotel in White Plains
#4 Family Hotel in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn White Plains 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn White Plains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn White Plains Hotel White Plains
White Plains Residence Inn
Residence Inn White Plains Westchester County, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn White Plains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.