We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Hale Avenue, White Plains, NY 10601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
White Plains, New York
1 review
“Very Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have stayed at many Crowne Plazas and this was one of the better ones in terms of overall stay. In spite of the confusion at check-in because they had trouble locating my reservation, the room was clean and easy to find.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Elizabeth M:

We wish to acknowledge and thank you for the time taken to write a review following your visit to the Crowne Plaza White Plains.

We regret and apologize that there appeared to be confusion at check-in, but we were delighted you found your room clean and that we're one of the better Crowne Plaza's. Thanks for that as well!

We very much appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    66
    38
    14
    4
See reviews for
33
21
5
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I recently reserved a block of rooms at the White Plains Crowne Plaza for our March, 2014 wedding. From top to bottom, we could not be happier! We worked with Miguelina and Deana, who expertly guided us through the entire process. The hotel is newly renovated and is beautiful and elegant. The guest rooms are comfortable and offer all the amenities. The location is fantastic—easy access to the train station and located right near countless downtown restaurants and bars. It also offers a free shuttle to and from Westchester airport, which many of our guests used. We got married in New Rochelle, and the White Plains location was perfect for us.

We were given an excellent price on our block of rooms, which made staying at the Crowne Plaza an easy choice for our guests. Once our block was reserved, we were given a website link for our guests to easily make their reservations online (they were also able to book over the phone). We were given access to a tracking website where we could see which guests had booked and how many rooms had been reserved. The process was very easy for us and our guests (we ended up booking almost 120 rooms). The Crowne Plaza also offers rewards as you book more and more guest rooms.

My husband and I stayed in the Executive suite, which was spectacular. The living room was large enough for myself and 10 other girls to have hair and makeup done on the morning of my wedding. On our wedding night, my husband arranged for a romantic welcome of rose petals, champagne, and chocolate covered strawberries. Working with the staff at the Crowne Plaza was a joy, and we had an absolutely wonderful wedding weekend. The hotel itself is elegant and comfortable and the staff are friendly, helpful and professional. The Crowne Plaza has my absolute highest recommendation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Miranda S:

Thank you very much indeed for writing such a comprehensive overview of your recent visits and planning activities at the Crowne Plaza White Plains.

Suffice to say, we were delighted to learn all went so well before, during and after your big day! We appreciate that entrusted our team to work with you to ensure a smooth execution of events.

Business works both ways: while it is our obligation to fulfill your requests as contracted, it certainly makes our job a little bit easier to have cooperation and keen interest from our group contacts and their guests. It was our pleasure to assist with this lifetime milestone!

Best wishes to everyone for much happiness and success, and once again we thank you very much for your trust, for your partnership, and for your business.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I travel to White Plains for business routinely. I rotate between two properties. I like the Crown Plaza for convenience and locale. They've done a lot of work to the property and it has a contemporary feel. The gym is improved. The rooms are clean but could be more spacious. Overall it gets the job done.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Saxtell:

On behalf of all our associates, we thank you for writing a review.

We're of course pleased you enjoy the improvements and the contemporary feels well as the (two) new fitness rooms!

We appreciate your business very much and look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have stayed at this property over twenty times. Front desk staff is inconsistent. Either very professional or extremely rude. Restaurant is below par and wait staff is rude. On the plus side, Outback Steakhouse, Cheesecake Factory, PF Chang's and Morton's are all within walking distance. Hotel does not respond to noise complaints. Overall tone of this property is rude. 75+ night per year Platinum IHG member guest.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear smkerry:

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you.

It is of very serious concern to us that you find "rude" employees when you visit with us. Anything less than stellar hospitality is not acceptable to us, and certainly shouldn't be expected from our guests.

We typically receive excellent reviews regarding our service culture, so we are truly disappointed to read your review. We can only hope you'll place your trust in us again for a future visit.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Nothing spectacular, nothing horrible. Biggest negative was the very rowdy group in the lobby one night (whose behavior the staff apologized for); apparently this is a popular hotel for wedding parties, etc, who sometimes get boisterous.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Sweth C:

Thank you very much for the time taken to write a review following your stay with us.

If there was a group getting boisterous in the lobby, then security should have dealt with that. We do apologize for any inconvenience this group may have caused you.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and thank you for your business.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

What a wonderful experience at this property. Customer service was outstanding and great attention to detail is shown from housekeeping to food presentation in the restaurants. Wonderful personable staff made our stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear 53Susie:

On behalf of all our associates, thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Crowne Plaza White Plains.

We're naturally very pleased to learn you had a wonderful experience and that you noticed the attention to detail shown from housekeeping to food presentation in the restaurants.

We sincerely appreciate your business and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Landed here for a funeral and was pleased. The ront desk guys were nice, joked around with us appropriately. Our room was nice. Corner room so spacious and modern. Fairly basic but comfortable beds. Having the corner room gave a little L shape which would be good for extra people if you had them (child or cot). The matress and sheets were comfortable and good, but the top blanket was not my style at all. No fluff and made out of fabric that is very rouch and 3D…hated it. Very strange art work…nice bathroom with basic amenities. Coffee maker for individual cups was nice, but attached under the counter so very awkward to use. Hmmm. Not much view but don't know about other directions. Had breakfast in the AM in the restaurant in the lobby. I think it is separate owner, not sure. We had the buffet which was a very bad idea. Poor quality, ran out of basic…toaster machine got jammed and was burning things so smokey. bread was stale..got down to one bagel, fake scrambled eggs. There was an omelet bar but the line and wait were long, I had them make fried eggs, undercooked and very greasy…wish I had odered off the menu but who knows. Service good but very expensive, especially for bad food.

Room Tip: Corner rooms good for cots
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Meema21:

We gratefully acknowledge and thank you for the time taken to write a review following your recent visit.

Certainly we're very pleased you found the reception guys nice and the guestroom spacious and modern.

We are obviously not pleased to learn of your breakfast experience. Rest assured we do not find that acceptable either and will be reviewing our buffet standards with all stakeholders to ensure nothing but the very best quality. Rest assured too that we do not use any "fake" ingredients - the scrambled eggs on our breakfast buffet are whipped to a fine consistency, but they are indeed fresh top-shelf eggs.

We appreciate your detailed review and really value your business. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown

Address: 66 Hale Avenue, White Plains, NY 10601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza White Plains Hotel is situated in downtown White Plains, NY, the heart of Westchester County. This White Plains New York hotel is only 30 minutes from Manhattan. Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike, it's accross the street from world class shopping at The Westchester Mall with Neiman Marcus and Nordstrom, among other fine retailers. New York Airports - La Guardia, JFK and Newark, are all easily accessible from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza White Plains features all non-smoking rooms and all guests can enjoy a new level of comfort with the Sleep Advantage program, which includes quiet zones, a sleep CD with relaxation tips, sleep amenities and a guaranteed wake-up call. The hotel also has wireless high speed Internet access throughout the entire facility. If you are planning a meeting, the Crowne Plaza White Plains Westchester Hotel is 'The Place to Meet' with the Crowne meetings director to work with you hand in hand until your event is completed. We'll ensure that you have one point of contact for all of your needs during your events by providing a daily meetings debrief. This Crowne Plaza White Plains NY hotel promises a better meetings experience for the meeting planner and a better night's sleep for the meeting attendees and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Hotel White Plains
White Plains Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Westchester County, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.