We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickel and Dimed; Not getting what was promised; Get it in writing and notarized” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Hale Avenue, White Plains, NY 10601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in White Plains
ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nickel and Dimed; Not getting what was promised; Get it in writing and notarized”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Prior to setting up a 50 room block for our wedding guests, we asked about having a breakfast the morning after our wedding for our guests. We were told the breakfast would cost $15 per person by the sales manager (both verbal and email). We felt this was a little high for breakfast since there is still a 8% sales tax and 18% gratuity to be factored in but decided we could squeeze it in our budget. We signed the room block contract a few days later. Then a couple days go by and we receive an email with a pdf containing the breakfast menu and the price for adults was listed at $21.95. We contacted our sales manager about the price difference and we were told nothing could be done because this needed to be set up "prior" to signing the contract. We made it clear at the time of signing the contract we wanted breakfast and mentioned the $15 rate that we were quoted. I guess bringing in $6500 worth of business isn't enough for the Crowne Plaza to honor their verbal and written (email) breakfast quote. Not to mention we were planning to have our after party at their hotel bar. We are extremely frustrated and are considering canceling our September room block with them to avoid future problems for our guests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
16
1
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this property over twenty times. Front desk staff is inconsistent. Either very professional or extremely rude. Restaurant is below par and wait staff is rude. On the plus side, Outback Steakhouse, Cheesecake Factory, PF Chang's and Morton's are all within walking distance. Hotel does not respond to noise complaints. Overall tone of this property is rude. 75+ night per year Platinum IHG member guest.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear smkerry:

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you.

It is of very serious concern to us that you find "rude" employees when you visit with us. Anything less than stellar hospitality is not acceptable to us, and certainly shouldn't be expected from our guests.

We typically receive excellent reviews regarding our service culture, so we are truly disappointed to read your review. We can only hope you'll place your trust in us again for a future visit.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing spectacular, nothing horrible. Biggest negative was the very rowdy group in the lobby one night (whose behavior the staff apologized for); apparently this is a popular hotel for wedding parties, etc, who sometimes get boisterous.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Sweth C:

Thank you very much for the time taken to write a review following your stay with us.

If there was a group getting boisterous in the lobby, then security should have dealt with that. We do apologize for any inconvenience this group may have caused you.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and thank you for your business.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthington, Ohio
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful experience at this property. Customer service was outstanding and great attention to detail is shown from housekeeping to food presentation in the restaurants. Wonderful personable staff made our stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear 53Susie:

On behalf of all our associates, thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Crowne Plaza White Plains.

We're naturally very pleased to learn you had a wonderful experience and that you noticed the attention to detail shown from housekeeping to food presentation in the restaurants.

We sincerely appreciate your business and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Landed here for a funeral and was pleased. The ront desk guys were nice, joked around with us appropriately. Our room was nice. Corner room so spacious and modern. Fairly basic but comfortable beds. Having the corner room gave a little L shape which would be good for extra people if you had them (child or cot). The matress and sheets were comfortable and good, but the top blanket was not my style at all. No fluff and made out of fabric that is very rouch and 3D…hated it. Very strange art work…nice bathroom with basic amenities. Coffee maker for individual cups was nice, but attached under the counter so very awkward to use. Hmmm. Not much view but don't know about other directions. Had breakfast in the AM in the restaurant in the lobby. I think it is separate owner, not sure. We had the buffet which was a very bad idea. Poor quality, ran out of basic…toaster machine got jammed and was burning things so smokey. bread was stale..got down to one bagel, fake scrambled eggs. There was an omelet bar but the line and wait were long, I had them make fried eggs, undercooked and very greasy…wish I had odered off the menu but who knows. Service good but very expensive, especially for bad food.

Room Tip: Corner rooms good for cots
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Meema21:

We gratefully acknowledge and thank you for the time taken to write a review following your recent visit.

Certainly we're very pleased you found the reception guys nice and the guestroom spacious and modern.

We are obviously not pleased to learn of your breakfast experience. Rest assured we do not find that acceptable either and will be reviewing our buffet standards with all stakeholders to ensure nothing but the very best quality. Rest assured too that we do not use any "fake" ingredients - the scrambled eggs on our breakfast buffet are whipped to a fine consistency, but they are indeed fresh top-shelf eggs.

We appreciate your detailed review and really value your business. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a well run professional organization.
We checked in on a Friday afternoon and considering it was over 25 family members it went as smooth as silk! Not a single problem or issue and you know how an entire family can be at the check in line. Nothing but a warm smile and tons of professionalism.
The rooms were clean and spacious with any amenity's you would need if forgotten. Security safe in closet as well as refrigerator made for a perfect touch.
Unfortunately the family member who was suppose to figure out dinner Friday evening forgot to do so. This could have turned out to be a big problem but instead I asked to speak to the food and beverage director. He approached me with a warm smile and put me at ease. He explained to me that there were many options he could supply me with. Basically he took a stressful situation and made it stress free! This is what hospitality is all about. Congratulations Mr Sean Doherty on a well run well executed team. We will return.
Jeffrey Nathan

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear jeffnjc:

We really appreciate the time taken to write a review following your recent visit to the Crowne Plaza White Plains. Thank you!

We're very pleased that the check-in process was smooth and professional, and that your room was equipped with everything you needed. It was especially gratifying to read that our Food & Beverage Manager Sean Doherty was able to put everyone at ease and accommodate your group with little notice.

We value your business very much, and certainly hope to welcome you back as our guests again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is my first time at this property and it will definitely not be my last. Great location downtown with chopping great places to eat within a few steps out the front door. The staff is very friendly and I received a room on the 11th floor, what a view!
The club lounge is on the 12th floor if you get access a nice place for a drink and tonight the appetizer was coconut shrimp, Awesome.
I will try and hold a business meeting here this year as this is such a great place.

Room Tip: Stay as high up as possible for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Louis320:

On behalf of all our associates, we gratefully acknowledge and thank you for the wonderful review!

Naturally we're delighted you found everyone to be friendly and that you enjoyed the food offerings as well.

We appreciate your business very much and most certainly look forward to welcoming you or a group of your colleagues back to our humble inn in the near future.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Hotel
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Hotel White Plains
White Plains Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Westchester County, NY
Address: 66 Hale Avenue, White Plains, NY 10601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza White Plains Hotel is situated in downtown White Plains, NY, the heart of Westchester County. This White Plains New York hotel is only 30 minutes from Manhattan. Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike, it's accross the street from world class shopping at The Westchester Mall with Neiman Marcus and Nordstrom, among other fine retailers. New York Airports - La Guardia, JFK and Newark, are all easily accessible from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza White Plains features all non-smoking rooms and all guests can enjoy a new level of comfort with the Sleep Advantage program, which includes quiet zones, a sleep CD with relaxation tips, sleep amenities and a guaranteed wake-up call. The hotel also has wireless high speed Internet access throughout the entire facility. If you are planning a meeting, the Crowne Plaza White Plains Westchester Hotel is 'The Place to Meet' with the Crowne meetings director to work with you hand in hand until your event is completed. We'll ensure that you have one point of contact for all of your needs during your events by providing a daily meetings debrief. This Crowne Plaza White Plains NY hotel promises a better meetings experience for the meeting planner and a better night's sleep for the meeting attendees and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.