We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the Ritz but better than the Renaissance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Hale Avenue, White Plains, NY 10601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in White Plains
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not as good as the Ritz but better than the Renaissance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Crowne Plaza is not an impressive hotel but if you are going for business meetings in the White Plains Area and you need to be near some food and shopping choices and the budget is not too much then this is the one for you. Other nearby Hotels are the Renaissance and the Hilton, but both are located in the outskirts of the area.

Minus: looks a bit run down. not good food choices. The gym is very basic.
Pluses: Location, location, location. Vibrant area, lots of places to go considering we are in Westchester and good restaurants. I believe you get what you pay for. Until there is anything better I think this is the choice for a budget business trip or if the Ritz is crowded.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Pahvis:

We are grateful that you took the time to review our services and facilities. Thank you!

We are sad and disappointed that you report that we are "not an impressive hotel". Certainly there are 160 long-term associates here who would like to debate you on that point, and we are indeed proud of our recent $10M renovation program.

We sincerely appreciate your business and do genuinely hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the near future.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    80
    42
    18
    6
See reviews for
40
25
5
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Had an unexpected over-night stay due to the recent snow storm, I was taking a class and the instructor held us late, by then the roads were heavily snow covered and Rte. 287 was a parking lot. I chose to leave the parking garage, paid $12, did a 3 mile loop and came back to same garage, paid $12 again on the way out the following morning. Room pricing was expected, but added $30 in taxes, a little irritating. We were forced to eat lunch in class (snow) and also ordered room service as all dining in area was closed, $25.00 lunch $32.00 dinner- just a couple of sandwiches. Overall Rooms were very clean, Food was OK, and I was thankful not to have to deal with what would have turned into a several hour, rough commute.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Stephen H:

Thank you for the time taken to write a review. We remember the snow that day! Many of our associates and their families were also affected by, and had challenges, with the commute.

We do charge for covered / secured parking with full in and out privileges @ $12 per day...not per stay, so it would appear that the billing was correct. - it is not $12 per stay.

We hope you arrived to your destination safely and we certainly hope to welcome you back as our guest again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The room was decent for the price. The conceirge was fantastic. She was very nice and helped call the shuttle back when they left early. I had just told the driver I would be right back down and he left early, unbelivable. She called a cab and when they weren't here in a reasonable time. She was the major reason I gave to hotel an ok score. The bar is very overpriced as well as the food. Outback which was across the sreet served the same drinks at half the price and they had great friendly service. I do not think I will stay at this hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear TravelingLaxman:

We are grateful for your time taken to write a review following your recent visit...thank you!

We are pleased you found Emily our Chief Concierge fantastic; we agree! In following up with our transportation services there appears to have been a misunderstanding regarding the departure timing. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused.

We hope to welcome you back as our guests again soon.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My daughter my wife and myself had a wonderful time from December 22nd until what was supposed to be January 2nd. Unfortunately the entire North East Coast was frozen in because of bad weather. We ended up staying in the ditional 3 days and all in all we had a wonderful time

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Gregory R:

With time so valuable these days, we're always very appreciative when our guests write a review of our services and facilities. Thank you!

We're very pleased you had such a wonderful time in your "Home away from home" over the holidays, and you can be sure your family wasn't alone in having to extend your visit due to the major storm the New York area experienced! Nevertheless, we were pleased to have you, your wife and daughter with us safe and cozy.

We hope to welcome you again as our guests in the future. Thank you very much for your business.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagdad, KY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I stay at this hotel on business occasionally as it is close to my home office. There is nothing like the pleasure of checking out of this hotel and going anywhere else.

Before the faciity was updated it was remarkable for its tired and dated decor and the hallways that smelled like old broccoli. The bright spot of the entire hotel was the kitchen and the room service - the food was very good, and the staff was really very good.

The food hasn't changed - still very good.

The updated rooms and lobby area are nice - I wish I could say the same about the awful customer service attitude. Even though my company has a corporate agreement for this hotel and have stayed there a dozen times in the past six years the desk clerk didn't recognize me, didn't acknowledge my Priority Club membership, and actually didn't look at me! That attitude was exemplified in the Lobby Bar. At this point, I am an expert in getting service from the Bartenders who do not like middle aged women. However, the heavyset young woman who sat near me in the bar wasn't so lucky. After waiting for 10 minutes for someone to acknowledge her presence, she got up and went over to the bar to order. By my watch, she waited another 5 minutes before being recognized.

By comparison, the tall blonde in a funky patterned dress waited exactly 4 seconds before the Bartendeer came running over to wait on her. Hello! It's 2014! Overt chauvinism is no longer in fashion, even in White Plains.

I'll probably give this hotel another shot in the event I have to travel in bad weather. But if it looks like the temp will be above 40 degrees and the sky will be clear, Residence Inn here I come.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear cindy_weinmann:

We wish to acknowledge and thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit.

We're very pleased you enjoyed the renovated product and that you find our food good and our staff really very good.

Regarding some of the service afforded you, we have had a fair degree of turn-over at the reception desk which may explain why you weren't recognized...but the fact that your IHG Rewards status wasn't acknowledged - or that the receptionist didn't apparently even look at you - is simply not acceptable. You can rest assured too that your comments regarding the service (or lack thereof) in Mix Cocktail Lounge has been shared with all concerned parties. We strive to afford every guest the same level of service excellence, and we apologize if we fell short on this occasion.

We certainly hope you'll reconsider a return to our hotel in the future, and we thank you for your business - it's important to us.

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was very disappointed to pay for parking after driving from Georgia but our experience at this hotel wiped away all my disappointments. Wife and I stay there for two nights and from the moment we entered the lobby area we were brown away by the exquisiteness of lobby. The front desk attend was very pleasant, professional and treated with great customer service.

The room was very spacious, clean, and very inviting. The wife is looking how she can adopt some of the bathroom features in our house. Way to go Crowne Plaza. As a Gold Elite member I am very proud to be associated with IHG. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Westchester County, NY.

Room Tip: All rooms seems to be good but we were on the tenth floor with a great view, room 1014.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Yardman71:

In a time where compliments are few and complaints made too easily, we were really pleased to read your most comprehensive and complimentary review. Thank you very much indeed!

We are of course delighted you found you room spacious, clean, and very inviting. Five stars all the way?...we couldn't have asked for better feedback than that.

We are grateful for your patronage and certainly hope to welcome you back again soon. All the best for a great 2014!

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas while visiting family in the area. The room was very clean and the bed and bedding was excellent. The staff was friendly and courteous. It is next door to the Westchester mall.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPWPD, General Manager at Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear mgprr:

We gratefully acknowledge the time taken to write a review following your recent visit. Thank you!

We're of course very pleased you found your room at the Crowne Plaza White Plains comfortable and clean and our staff friendly and courteous.

We value your patronage and really appreciate your business. Best wishes for a great 2014!

Scott de Savoye ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown

Address: 66 Hale Avenue, White Plains, NY 10601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in White Plains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza White Plains Hotel is situated in downtown White Plains, NY, the heart of Westchester County. This White Plains New York hotel is only 30 minutes from Manhattan. Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike, it's accross the street from world class shopping at The Westchester Mall with Neiman Marcus and Nordstrom, among other fine retailers. New York Airports - La Guardia, JFK and Newark, are all easily accessible from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza White Plains features all non-smoking rooms and all guests can enjoy a new level of comfort with the Sleep Advantage program, which includes quiet zones, a sleep CD with relaxation tips, sleep amenities and a guaranteed wake-up call. The hotel also has wireless high speed Internet access throughout the entire facility. If you are planning a meeting, the Crowne Plaza White Plains Westchester Hotel is 'The Place to Meet' with the Crowne meetings director to work with you hand in hand until your event is completed. We'll ensure that you have one point of contact for all of your needs during your events by providing a daily meetings debrief. This Crowne Plaza White Plains NY hotel promises a better meetings experience for the meeting planner and a better night's sleep for the meeting attendees and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Hotel White Plains
White Plains Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown Westchester County, NY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.