We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is good, bring Jerry back from Italy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Manda's

La Manda's
251 Tarrytown Road, White Plains, NY
(914) 684-9228
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 231 Restaurants in White Plains
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Food is good, bring Jerry back from Italy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's sad for patrons of this classic "joint" that Jerry takes the summer in Italy, as his son Sly keeps us from going there till Jerry comes back. I have never met a more controlling, arrogant, pompous restaurant front man than Sly. Jerry, come back, we miss you!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rye NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ask for the baked pizza dough bread ~”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stopped just before closing on a Monday night, hungry and cranky from an unpleasant meeting. Greeted by an old man I asked if I was too late for supper? Warmly welcomed, I was offered my choice of tables and escorted to a dining room booth.

Soon a bottle of water arrived, my drink order was taken and followed shortly by the most unusual bread I've seen. Not a loaf, it was round and about an inch thick, with what appeared to be ashes clinging to it. I asked my waitress to tell me about the bread and she apologized, saying that all the regular bread was gone and that this was a pizza round that had been baked in the brick oven (explained the ashes), and drizzled with olive oil. It was warm, crunchy and delicious.

For my entre I choose Meat with broccoli rabe and pasta - I picked sausage and rigatoni for the foundation - the dish was nicely prepared with plenty of oil and garlic, just the way I like it!

I hadn't been to LaMandas in decades - it's a White Plains classic - with excellent pizza, an ample selection of menu options, cheerful wait staff and a warm, casual atmosphere. I was back two weeks later with friends - what a feast!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Just good old fashioned Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We come here every once in a while, starting when I was a kid. The same family has owned it since 1966,The sauces are old style Italian and very flavorful. The portions are good. The Dad is still around,and checks on you when you are dining, and he is so kind to everyone. The Son is running the place, and he is very social, made us feel welcome If you like that small town feel, this is the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Now run by an obnoxious guy !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The original owner , Jerry, was charming - greeted guests as if they were his friends - his son runs it now - obnoxious guy - we go there once a year for old times sake and are always dissapointed to see how his son deals with the patrons . The food is good but if you care about patronizing a small family run business with a nasty owner - don't go .

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Old Italian Reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

75 year old local pasta joint. Old school bar. Most of the patrons have been coming for 25 years or more. Families at lunch, early dinner. Couples later. Good pizza, pasta with red sauce. Reliable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Manda's also viewed

White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 
White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 

Been to La Manda's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Manda's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.