We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food if you are visiting at the hospital” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cabin Restaurant

The Cabin Restaurant
1172 Knollwood Rd, White Plains, NY 10603-1099
914-592-6682
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 231 Restaurants in White Plains
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Clinton, NJ
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food if you are visiting at the hospital”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Location is great if you are visiting the hospital and want better than the chain food there. Something on the menu for everyone from pizza to steak. Juicy burgers cooked as requested. Service was good to get us in and out on our way again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elmsford, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tasty food, usually.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice little place on the corner sort of place that has been a bit up and down (inconsistent), but more often up than down. Reasonably priced, service is usually ok (no more, no less).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York, United States
1 review
“Good food but has it's weaknesses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I used to go to the Cabin a lot, but after a while I just got tired of the place. Parking is limited and with the bar crowd they attract it can be difficult to get a spot sometimes. The food is good but they don't change their menu, and on more than one occasion they were inconsistent with serving entrees to everyone at the table. Again, the food is good and it's a nice place to go to, but it does have it's drawbacks which will keep me from going back for a while.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cozy Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

For me, The Cabin is local and a good place to eat. The interior is rustic and a little dark but is is cozy. There is a large bar area on the side so it does not interfere with the diners. It seems to be a great place for people to meet friends after work. The downside is that because it is often crowded at dinner time, the parking lot gets filled quickly. They have individual pizzas and comfort foods like meatloaf, which is quite good. They have a varied menu with steaks, salad, and seafood as well. Unless it is very busy the service is excellent. It is also great for large parties.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were told about this place when relatives were visiting someone in the hospital (WMC). Since we also were visiting someone in the hospital we decided to give it a try. Dont let the odd entrance deter you from entering is rustic cabin decor. We were able to sit where we liked the menus followed us. Concise menu, we startes with a bowl of cream of crab and Grandmas chicken soup. Each one was outstanding. As for meals we had a seafood linguini, steak salad, cobb salad and baked calms. Each one was reported to be delicious. No desert or coffee, however I have a pet peeve about soft drinks when you pay over $2.50 for a soft drink they should refill for free, not the case here.....dissapointing. Otherwise it was very good.....go there you will like it!!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cabin Restaurant also viewed

White Plains, Westchester County
 
White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 

Been to The Cabin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cabin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.