We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emma's Ale House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Emma's Ale House
68 Gedney Way, White Plains, NY 10605
9146833662
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Emma's Ale House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 231 Restaurants in White Plains
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mamaroneck Ave
White Plains
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Good food and drink. Very friendly. Small enough to think really casual. Lighting was dim. Had to borrow a flash light from the server. Still a Must try.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pub Grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Interesting neighborhood place; filled up fast for lunch. Parking is difficult to find and not well marked. lots of space available across the street.

Menu is limited and not overly creative. Hamburger choices seemed to be the best option. Hamburger tasted good, fries were okay and overall I would consider this a generally satisfactory lunch. Five of us had lunch, everyone seemed satisfied.

Price was a couple of dollars more than similar places but definitely not out of line.

I would return if in the neighborhood and seeking a place for lunch

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
530 reviews 530 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“Dependable Pub for Food and Brew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A gastro-pub experience with wide choice of beer, ale, and other drink, and terrific range of food at reasonable price. Friendly service, never too noisy. Burgers, pizza, salads, fish n'chips, all done the way one orders them. As good as it gets, for what it is.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Definitely returning!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I love Emma's, the waitstaff is always attentive and friendly. The food is fresh and very good quality!! They have a great variety of draft and bottled beers as well as an expansive wine list. Overall experience was great. I will be back soon !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Don't say you weren't warned.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

As I write this, I'm still trying to figure out if this place is open for business. Food was okay but very expensive. Not much of an ale house ---Definitely forgettable. Our waitress never smiled and acted as if she was doing us a favor. We had to ask if there were any "specials" which was also an inconvenient request for our server. The food was very blah, and the prices are high. There was some grouchy old lady at the front who ignored us we thought she was the seater person. You're not really sure who is serving you or working here. The bartender eventually sat us, my husband and I weren't even sure they were open and it was 1pm Tuesday. The staff can't figure out their shirts should be tucked in for a proper appearance rather than looking as if they rolled out of bed. The restrooms are smaller than an airplane and can't accommodate anyone of any disability. Not returning, I hope this helps anyone thinking of dining here. Buyer beware.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emma's Ale House also viewed

White Plains, Westchester County
 
White Plains, Westchester County
White Plains, Westchester County
 

Been to Emma's Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emma's Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.