We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming hosts, lovely accommodations, and delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On the Way Bed & Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wevertown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
On the Way Bed & Breakfast
2021 Rt. 28, Wevertown, NY 12886   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Wevertown B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming hosts, lovely accommodations, and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is a wonderful B&B! We stayed for a couple of nights over New Year's and it was such a pleasant time. Amy and Mark were incredibly gracious and friendly. They were terrific with my dog, and the food was incredible: omelettes, french toast, fruit compote with yogurt and oatmeal, brownies, snacks, casserole, all done to perfection. The house is beautiful, there's a warm fire, and our room was tidy and clean with well-thought out details. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Pictures on their website don't do the rooms justice. We stayed in the Rose Room, which was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I took advantage of the ski and stay package On the Way offered. We skied two days at Gore and one day at Whiteface (the passes work at both mountains). We have stayed at a lot of B&Bs over the years while skiing and On the Way is one of the best we have encountered. Mark and Amy go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. We felt like we were staying in our own house and they really let us make it our own while we were there. Mark made the most amazing breakfasts; pancakes, omelets made to order, banana bread french toast, hash browns. All of the food is local or grown right at their house, including the eggs from their chickens! The breakfasts were so large that we usually weren't hungry again until about 2-3pm so we could ski right through lunch!

Amy also brought out snacks (mixed nuts and chocolates and homemade brownies) for us to eat while we sat by the fireplace after skiing. If you are a pet lover, you will also enjoy the company of their two dogs and two cats (they only let them out upon request, so if you are not a pet lover, don't worry)! :)

All in all, we will definitely be returning to On the Way the next time we ski Gore and highly recommend to anyone traveling up north!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at On the Way during an overnight trip to Gore Mountain for snowboarding, and it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Amy and Mark were incredibly friendly and accommodating, our room was spotless and very cozy, and the breakfast that Mark prepared for us was perfect for the day of snowboarding we had ahead. We would look forward to a repeat visit, and strongly recommend the B&B for those traveling through the area

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to go to Gore Mountain for some skiing over the MLK long weekend. We decided to book at "On the Way" because it was close to the mountain (~5-10 minutes door to door) and had a very reasonable three day package deal. We were not prepared for how amazing this place was. Some of the highlights:

1) The owners, Mark and Amy, are incredible people. They were so gracious and friendly through our whole stay, and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable. For example, Amy would bake brownies and Mark would have the fire started when we got back from skiing. They would also call ahead to restaurants so we could get a reservation for dinner. On the last day, they let us stay past the official check-out time so that we could get another day of skiing in and then take a shower before getting on the road.

2) Breakfast every morning was home-cooked, hearty, and very delicious. Mark would cook up fresh eggs from their own chickens, along with breakfast meats from the smokehouse down the road and a variety of freshly baked goods. All this plus fruit salad, yogurt, and other manner of goodies. We often didn't need to eat lunch on the mountain because we had such a good meal in the morning.

3) Rooms were very comfortable. The house was warm and comfy, even when the temperature was below freezing outside. The showers had great water pressure and plenty of hot water. The house has their own well so all of the tap water was great tasting, and I say this as someone who is used to New York City tap water.

4) If you are a dog person, this B&B comes equipped with an amazingly friendly and well socialized Doberman. Definitely a highlight of my trip to have a furry friend who was so excited to see me (despite me being a complete stranger at first) and so willing to cuddle in front of the fire in the evenings.

All in all, "On the Way" gave us such a great B&B experience. It was really like being part of the family over the three days that we stayed there. Amy has a long history working in the hospitality industry, and it really showed in the large and small touches around the house. I would recommend this place unreservedly to anyone looking for a place to stay in the area. Especially for a ski trip, there is nothing better than waking up to a great breakfast, driving five minutes to the mountain, and then coming back to a fire in the living room, snacks on the table, and a warm dog to cuddle with.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to On the Way Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Way Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2021 Rt. 28, Wevertown, NY 12886
Location: United States > New York > Wevertown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wevertown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Way Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added On the Way Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list