We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Upstate Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn in Westport

The Inn in Westport
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn in Westport
Save
You added The Inn in Westport to your Saves list
1234 Stevenson Rd, PO Box 390, Westport, NY 12993 (Formerly The Inn on the Library Lawn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Westport B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Upstate Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was in Westport for a wedding and stayed at this super cute inn. I love the book theme that runs through it and that they have a little cafe. It was great. We were not sure what to expect in such a small town, but this inn was more than we had hoped for.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Emily Dickinson room which was great. As a corner room there was a ton of natural l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My sister & I stayed here for an overnight get-away. Our room was very large with a view of the lake & the park. The whole Inn is nicely decorated with an interesting library/author theme. The bed was very comfy, the bath is updated and well-stocked with supplies.
The Innkeepers were very nice and let us stay until the train left at 2:00.
I know the web site said there would be no breakfast offered on the off season, but just a muffin would have been nice since we ended up having to drive a distance to Elizabethtown to find a cafe. The cafe across the street was closed for renovations & would be opening in the Spring so this should not be an issue with others staying there now.
I took the train which is less than a mile from the Inn. A light packer could easily walk to the Inn. The train station is right out of an old movie, beautiful.
I am giving this a 4 instead due to the inconvenience of no place to eat breakfast and I also felt the rate was quite high for being off season.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have a beautiful view of Lake Champlain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We've been to The Inn in October. What a surprise! If you want calm, it's THE place. It's very beautiful, welcoming, private and quiet (apart the grandfather clock). The rooms are exceptionaly comfortable and clean. The host and hostess are particulary kind. They certainly respect your privacy. You'll see them at your arrival. After that, you won't see them unless you need something. You'll need a car if you want to do activities or go to restaurants, but the Adirondack region is so amazing during Fall that it's not a problem at all. Perfect weekend! A real little treasure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexra4, Owner at The Inn in Westport, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review, there is no greater compliment than to have a guest "feel like they are home". Alexandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, IA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Booked ahead based on website, price and the Inn being in town. Owners are very friendly and everything was fine. Near the end of our trip and we booked the second cheapest room to have a Lake view from the second floor. Most of the view was power lines outside the window, so not much view. Off street side is probably a better choice. Roamed the book store on our own in the evening. Ate breakfast at the small town restaurant down the street. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexra4, Owner at The Inn in Westport, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for the review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Three of us were bicycling aound Lake Champlain the weekend of October 13. Our goal for the day was Essex, but due to bout of illness and a mechanical problem, it was getting dark and cold, and we were just coming into Westport -10 miles short of our goal. We decided that discretion was the better part of valor, and that we should look for something in Westport. Quite by chance, we passed the Inn in Westport and decided to see if they had any rooms at the last-minute. What a find! They had two rooms and the rooms were spotlessly clean, very tastefully decorated, recently painted, comfortable, and very reasonably priced. We snapped them up. The host and hostess, Anthony and Alexandra, were unbelievably friendly and accommodating. Not only did they find a place for our bikes in their mudroom, but even drove us to dinner (and picked us up afterward) because the restaurant we chose was a bit too far to walk and too dark to bicycle safely. You could not find a more gracious couple. I would highly recommend the Inn in Westport to anyone - based on any of the criteria that one might use to evaluate a hotel: service, ambiance, value, cleanliness...

Room Tip: We didn't see any bad ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night this past weekend and left rather disappointed. Based on the great reviews here, the pictures and written description on the Inn's website, we thought we were in for a real treat. When we arrived, we found out that the bookshop was closed and under renovations. (One of the reasons we booked this property was for the book theme.) The guest floor had a bit of an odd odor about it, not overpowering, just a bit odd. The room was very clean and we have no real complaints, it just did not quite live up to what we were expecting based on the pictures and reviews here. The issue of primary concern, and the main reason for our rating on this property, however, is the fact that it was impossible to sleep until midnight due to the noise level. The rooms have no insulation for sound. There was a large family using the hallway as their personal conversation and children's play area. We could hear everything. Then when they retired, their TV could be heard word-for-word through the wall. Not exactly the relaxing evening in the country that we had sought after. The innkeeper was quite nice and we wish that we could provide a more positive review, but overall the property fell short of our expectations, even when the price of $93/nt is taken into consideration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here this weekend for a family weekend. Anthony was there to greet us with a warm welcome upon arriving. Our room was well appointed and comfortable. As frequent travelers who stay at high-end hotels throughout the country, we were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed staying at a smaller type inn. Before arriving, we read some of the reviews. Admittedly, some of the reviews that we read, caused us a bit of concern. I can tell you with 100% certainty; ignore the complainers! Our stay was top notch all the way, and Anthony was the most caring and helpful person we've dealt with in quite some time. We were sad to leave. We will make it a point to stay here again on our next trip to Wesport, NY.

Room Tip: While we can't speak for all rooms, the JRR Tolkien suite was phenomenal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn in Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn in Westport

Address: 1234 Stevenson Rd, PO Box 390, Westport, NY 12993 (Formerly The Inn on the Library Lawn)
Location: United States > New York > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 11 room Victorian Inn overlooking Lake Champlain in the Adirondack Park. Each room has a private bath and is richly decorated. Continental breakfast is included with the room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn in Westport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.