We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down B&B not worth the TravelZoo discount offer” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Beach Lane, Westhampton Beach, NY 11978   |  
Hotel amenities
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Run down B&B not worth the TravelZoo discount offer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Beware is an understatement - this run down B&B is an embarassment to the Hamptons. It's an old historic home turned into a B&B with creaky floors, shared bathrooms, minimal heating, a non exisistant kitchen and even an empty commercial Snapple beverage cooler in the living room area. We arrived on Friday Oct 12th to find keys laid out on a table where we could help ourselves to our room. We carried our luggage up 3 flights of narrow stairs to find "our suite". Inside was a large bed that slept 3 adults, a dresser, a tv with cable and a small bathroom with a tub and a shower head that you would have expected to see outside at a beach since you could turn it side to side to adjust the direction of the water. The highlight of the bathroom was a tissue dispenser with a Martha Stewart logo on the outside - as if they were proud that they paid up for the Martha Stewart logo. This is not what I expected having visited the Hamptons for years - it's the equivalent of staying in a youth hostel at best.

There are typed signs everywhere - telling you what you can and can not do. For example, don't run the microwave while using the toaster in the kitchen area or you will blow a fuse. The shared refrigerator is scarey - I would not put anything in there even it was completly sealed and packaged.

If you are looking for some good news, their location is within walking distance of the main street area of West Hampton and there is plenty of parking in front of the B&B. We had a 3rd person in our room that they did not charge us for. They are also located down the street from Rogers Beach - hopefully it survived Hurricane Sandy.

Overall, please do not stay at this Inn for any reason. A free night is not worth it. We were thankful to have avoided bed bugs. Find another place to stay and enjoy your time out East!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westhamptontennis, Owner at Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
I hope anyone who is considering staying in the Hamptons will take the minute or two to read this response. Any, if you have any concerns, you are welcome to call me at home. I provide my regular home phone number to all guests, prospective guests, and it is all over the internet. 914 234 9462. I have a family and would not do this if we didn't treat people really well and provide realistic expectations and then exceed those 99 % of the time. Our first priority is cleanliness. Regardless of whether one pays $50 or $600/nt for a room, cleanliness is non negotiable. Our housekeeping staff has no time pressure to do anything but a thorough job. Their only incentive is to do a great job or they will not have a job. Once a housekeeper is completed with a room, another housekeeper must inspect this room. Subsequently, a front office person must also sign off on the room prior to a guest being shown the room or permitted to stay in one. When possible, a second front office person will inspect !! Redundancy with second and third sets of eyes is required. Another priority is safety and a pleasant stay. Our area is incredibly safe. However, we have staff members sleeping on every floor in guest/potential revenue producing rooms to make certain all guests are safe and receive the peace and tranquillity they are entitled to. We want to make certain no guests are disturbing other guests. Obviously, we are somewhat successful. As mentioned, the President of Israel, a high ranking Obama staff member, CEO's of public companies, Good Morning America hosts, and other dignitaries have stayed with us after having a representative preview our property and specific rooms. Re Key left out on counter. We waited for the guest. They arrived quite late and we could not reach them. We only have 14 guest rooms and cannot keep someone waiting around all day for people. So, the front office person stepped out. Yes We do this all the time. So, if that is unacceptable, do not book with us. However, to say one had to walk up 3 flights ot stairs is patently ludicrous. We only have 2 flights !! Additionally, we do not have a bel staff. Sorry. Shared bathrooms. We have 2 rooms on each floor that share a hall bath. All other rooms have private baths. If one books a private bath, that is what they get. IF you book a shared bath, that is what you get. Re Suites. This comment is also patently ludicrous. We don't advise anyone staying this time of year they are getting a suite. We only have 2 suites in the back building. Nobody was promised a suite in the main building. If you are looking for neat, clean, safe accommodations at a reasonable rate, we should meet those expectations. IF you are expecting a Ritz, you will be disappointed in most places in the Hamptons. Peter Kaplan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    78
    16
    11
    23
See reviews for
53
98
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Grassmere is clean, comfortable and pleasant. It is an excellent value for the money. Rates an A in my book and is worthwhile considering whenever you are in the area. Service is very good and the atmosphere is perfect whether you're on a business trip or there for a holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We never did redeem our voucher for this place but did reserve the first night directly with them with the information we had from TravelZoo We requested a refund for our voucher and it was refunded. Thank you for that.
But I must warn you about this deal. The establishment was run down, dirty (not clean) and unprofessional. When we arrived, the two girls at the front desk didn't even have us listed as guests. After they called Mr. Kaplan, we were escorted to a room in a separate building from the Grassmere Inn. We had to hike through foot long grass and then watched the hostess wrestle the door to the suite open. When we walked in, the room was dark and dingy, the floor was dirty and had not been swept and the counters were dirty with cup stains. Needless to say we were not impressed. My wife and I decided that we would not stay here as it was just not acceptable. We informed the young lady helping us that we would not be staying there and she said her father would not refund our money, but would offer us another room. We thought that if this was an example of the rest of the property, we were not interested in staying here at all. Who knows what was living in their beds? We informed them that we would not be staying and they said fine you will not get your money back. I said, " You do what you have to do and I will do what I have to do. We could always use the review process." He said that I should not threaten him. I ended the conversation there. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME GOING HERE. SAVE DISAPPOINTMENT.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Grassmere numerous times in both summer for a casual tennis camp and beach vacation and in the off season. At all times, Peter is a most accommodating host. The facilities are clean and neat and the young staff members are terrific. The tennis pros are fabulous and set up our group clinics any way we wanted each day.

This is not a 5 star resort and it is not advertised that way. It can use some updating but I emphasize, it is very clean. The towels were new and thick; sheets are clean. Great place for a family. Kids are welcome and tracking sand from the beach in is not a big deal.

It is the best location for the price in the Hamptons. Right off Main St with numerous shops and restaurants and just a mile from the beach. If you don't have a car, they will pick you up at the train station and drive you to the beach and tennis courts.

My group tries to go every year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place was amazing. Not a 5 star hotel, but very cosy and lovable. Did manage to get a discount on some tennis lessons as well, the instructors were great. And the best part, its just 10min walk from the Westhampton Beach!!!
See you next year folks ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Inn is located right in town and less than a mile away from the beach, which make it perfect to not have to worry about driving. The tennis academy is a little further but the staff can drive you there if needed. The staff is very friendly and accommodating at the Inn, and the tennis pros are very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. They offered a few clinnics during the day, which is perfect to combine tennis and the beach without problems.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

3 main rules of real estate: location, location, location. The fact that the grassmere is located right on main street, minutes away from the beach and the train station and only 1:15 hours from new york city is enough for me to make the whole trip worthwhile. On top of that, the service is very welcoming and accommodating. I got beach passes, a ride to tennis and help with places to visit in the area. Peter is very knowledgeable and friendly. A 5 star resort? I wouldn't think so, but I knew the type of place it was from talking to peter and reading the description beforehand. Guests that stay there are mostly friendly and sociable. I am definitely going back this fall and next summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 Beach Lane, Westhampton Beach, NY 11978
Location: United States > New York > Westhampton Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Westhampton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Westhampton Beach, the Grassmere Inn Hotel has been completely refurbished. Our 25-room hotel is the largest historic accommodation in the Hamptons. Our location in Westhampton Beach is within 75 miles of Manhattan. We offer rooms with private baths, shared baths, and suites. Daily maid service, complimentary newspapers, daily events listing, internet access, and continental breakfast are included. Afternoon beverages are served on the porch. Use of Eastside Tennis Academy is included in the various packages we offer. Beach passes are also available for our guests. The beach is within walking distance of the hotel. Use of outdoor grills, playground set and bocce ball are encouraged. No smoking in any of the buildings or on the porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassmere Hotel Westhampton Beach
Grassmere Inn b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grassmere Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.