We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than Shish Kebabs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ayhan's Shish Kebab

Ayhan's Shish Kebab
477 Old Country Road, Westbury, NY 11590
(516) 222-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 97 Restaurants in Westbury
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Westbury, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“More Than Shish Kebabs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ayhan's has a varied menu from individual pizzas to fresh fish and meats along with an expansive all you can eat Sunday brunch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Tasty fair, Small Fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

FIrst let me say, we have been going to Ayhans restaurant Fish Kebab in Port Wahington for years. It has never dissappointed us. We went to the Westbury location to meet friends and it is a half way point between where we live. Everything from the salad to the main dish seemed smaller, The salad was half the size of Fish Kebabs. I always order Branzino. The fish was incredibly small. Three of us ordered the same fish and they were all small. The Branzino at Fish Kebab is more than double the size. Our friend commented as such. I must add that it was delcicous. But why such a big difference in size from their other restaurant? The prces are about the same. I ordered a side of steamed carrots. The looked like frozen carrots and their was spaggetti strands in it. I did not eat them. They did not look appetizing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“You like octopus? It is awesome at ahyan's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Most people shy away from octopus, mostly because it is never cooked well. Go to Ayhan's and give it another try! They have an appetizer, personally, I like their mixed seafood grilled over greek salad. Don't see it on the menu, don't worry, ask for it, and make sure you ask for the one with the octopus. Excellent Greek appetizers, nice wine choices, nice ambiance. Great for a nice family get together.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Restaurant was busy, but my friend and I still had privacy and were able to hear one another. The server was great and attentive. I ordered the energy platter and the spinach dip w/pita app - they were both delicious. I would definitely come back again. The traffic around the area is very congested, but on a Saturday night, I was able to find parking in the back lot. They accept rest.com gift certificates as well as opentable res.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

this is part of Ayhan's Mediterranean Restaurants. Loved the Turkish pita and tzaziki. Great kebabs. the saganaki appetizer was amazing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayhan's Shish Kebab also viewed

Westbury, Long Island
 

Been to Ayhan's Shish Kebab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayhan's Shish Kebab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.