We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally Had Dinner Here, Worth the Wait!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Formaggio

Cafe Formaggio
307 Old Country Rd, Westbury, NY 11590
(516) 333-1718
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 98 Restaurants in Westbury
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Massapequa, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Finally Had Dinner Here, Worth the Wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I'd been wanting to have dinner here since the restaurant opened and finally had my chance a few weeks ago. The food was very good, I had the Veal Marsala, my special someone had the Veal Parmigiana. Excellent Tiramasu for dessert; wine & after dinner drinks tasty. The atmosphere was not necessarily romantic but very nice, classy and warm. The service was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This One!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Formaggio's was an unassuming restaurant in Garden City, NY. Amazing food, friendly wait staff and food they could have priced higher than what it is. Seriously, the food was phenomenal and the portions were huge! All of that and live entertainment in the form of a guy named, wait for it...SAL! What a voice! The atmosphere in the restaurant was warm and inviting. If you get the chance to stop in you'll be glad you did.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in the area! Did you know they serve pizza too?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is the best place to have Italian food. They have everything you could think of to enjoy a fabulous italian meal. Their apps are tasty and lots of varieties to choose from. The meatball sliders are my favorite(yes it's not quite italian but who cares they are that good!). The judge of a great italian restaurant is their red sauce...this place rocks! What I also like is that you can buy pizza to takeout or delievery(locally). They have the best grandma pie...they make it a thin crust version with lots of garlic flavor. This restaurant has valet parking and great service. Go try the specials they have often and check out their extensive wine list...a great date place with good service and ambience. Make reservations is always a plus but this place is really good!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carle Place, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Not so tasty. Had the chicken marsala. Over priced as well. The appetizers were better then the entrees. The staff was attentive but we felt rushed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson Station, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Really Gluten Free”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Recently we joined friends for dinner at this Westbury restaurant. Our friends selected this restaurant because I have celiac disease, and they offer a gluten free menu. Sadly, while this is nice restaurant for anyone else it was deadly for me. I ordered my meal from their extensive gluten free menu and spent the next three days suffering with the side effects of having ingested gluten. At first I found it hard to believe it was possible as the only food I had was from their select menu for me. When I shared my experience with another friend who also has celiac disease, she related that she had a similar experience there with the food. it seems that she too was sick after ordering supposedly safe gluten free food. Both of us have contacted this restaurant with our concern about their ability to deliver what they promise. This is a serious health issue, and restaurants cannot make false promises about the product offered. I would NOT recommend this restaurant to ANYONE who is looking for a safe gluten-free meal!!! Their gluten free menus are anything but gluten free. Eat somewhere else.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Formaggio also viewed

Westbury, Long Island
Westbury, Long Island
 

Been to Cafe Formaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Formaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.