We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashokan Dreams Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Shokan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashokan Dreams Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Ashokan Dreams Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
111 High Point Mountain Road, West Shokan, NY 12494   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 West Shokan B&B and Inns
Hackensack, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We rented two rooms at Ashokan Dreams B&B as a weekend getaway for my mom's 60th Birthday. Anne-Marie couldn't have been nicer in helping us to plan, thinking of our comfort and the weather and how we could have breakfast together easily. She even upgraded us to a bigger room for no extra charge! Her breakfasts were scrumptious. She was very helpful and attentive (but not overly so), and the rooms were relaxing and very beautifully decorated. The views of the mountains & reservoir are out-of-this-world, and we had fun roaming the property and viewing the plants, birds and deer nearby. It's centrally located near Kingston, Saugerties, Woodstock and easy to get anywhere. A lovely weekend with family, we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ossining, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Wow! What a place! Even if you are like us and are not generally a fan of B&B's Ashokan Dreams is a world apart from anything else you might have experienced. Gourmet quality breakfasts are left outside your door (for those of us who'd rather not talk to ANYONE before coffee)...rustic decor with huge bluestone fireplace, adirondak seating, incredibly comfortable four-posted bed, panoramic views of Ashokan reservoir from your private patio, private outdoor jacuzzi (for those in the Ashokan Reservoir suite)...owner Anne-Marie was extremely well-versed in the best places to go, see, eat, etc. and effectively balanced helpfulness with giving us our privacy. We are avid cyclists and she directed us to lesser-known, scenic stretches along the reservoir where we could fully appreciate the Catskills. A small mini fridge let us keep our wine chilled and an electric tea kettle meant late night tea was a snap. The outdoor pavilions would be great if we decided to have a larger gathering/event there sometime in the future. Overall Ashokan Dreams was a truly memorable weekend, and one that we plan to make an annual event. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here about a week and a half ago for two nights while on honeymoon. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

The room we booked was very big, with a dining table, sofa and open fire. Bed was four poster and very comfortable. Breakfast was granola first morning and hot sandwich the next. Both were very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Ashokan Dreams is a beautiful Bed & Breakfast. We stayed there this past weekend in the Reservoir Suite and had an absolutely wonderful time. The Suite is very large, with several different areas to hang out. We enjoyed sitting by the fire, lounging on the couch watching a movie (they have a GREAT selection of DVDs), playing darts, reading in bed, and having tea at the dinning table, looking out over that amazing view. That said, the porch is the real star of the show--very private and the view is breathtaking. We will definitely be back, and we've already started recommending this place to anyone that will listen.

Room Tip: The Reservoir Suite is huge, extremely private, and the only room with access to the hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Perfect retreat while the kids away at camp! Enjoyed the wonderful views from the patio off the Resevoir Suite -- sitting out there enjoying Ann Marie's exceptional breakfasts! -- or the jacuzzi! So helpful and welcoming! Great place -- removed enough, but was easy to get to Woodstock and to our events.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We got shut out of a favorite spot (Kate's Lazy Meadow - love the Airstreams) for Visiting Day weekend at our son's camp. Decided to try Ashokan Dreams on a referral and what a decision it was. From the wealth of pre-arrival correspondence to the front door, it felt like we were staying with an old friend, very comfortable.

The property was impecably kept, beautifully appointed and well, the view - you'll have to see that for yourself!

Anne-Marie was an incredible hostess, I'm not a big breakfast eater - more of a utility meal but, even I had to stop and savor her creations (especially the Blueberry, Cream, French Toast on Sunday...) Breakfast on the patio facing the reservoir was as wonderful as it sounds. She also made some great recommendations for area dining including The Country Inn (about 15 - 20 minutes away).

All in all a wonderful weekend!

Room Tip: The Resorvior Suite was wonderful, private entrance around back, patio facing the resorvoir, huge st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This place is wonderful! From the spacious Reservoir Suite to Anne-Marie's mouthwatering breakfasts, including the privacy of the suite, I could not be happier. The views are amazing, the hostess gives her attention to every detail and is more than happy to lend her extensive expertise on things to do and what to see. This is the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashokan Dreams Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashokan Dreams Bed and Breakfast

Address: 111 High Point Mountain Road, West Shokan, NY 12494
Location: United States > New York > West Shokan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Shokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic converted Catskill Mountain barn with breathtaking mountain and reservoir views in a quiet country setting. Decorated in rustic comfort reminiscent of the Adirondack "Great Camps." We are close to Woodstock, historic Kingston, Phoenicia, New Paltz, Saugerties and High Falls, NY. The newly restored Reservoir Suite is now available. With a separate entrance, spectacular mountain and reservoir views, massive stone fireplace, private patio and gardens, this is an extraordinary retreat! We also now offer the Meadow Suite overlooking the Ashokan Reservoir, High Point Mountain and the Catskill Mountains. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashokan Dreams Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.