We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thayer Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Thayer Hotel to your Saves list
The Thayer Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   674 Thayer Road, West Point, NY 10996   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

A beautiful property on an incredibly scenic location. Incredibly view of the Hudson out our window.

Great service, courteous staff, food was exceptional, and we had a great Friday night at the bar. Room service the following night was prompt. Trying to think of something bad to say, but having trouble.

The $11 breakfast was a great deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    152
    76
    36
    47
See reviews for
162
196
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Employees were incredibly helpful. We were stranded at the Thayer after my brother's wedding due to a hurricane. The entire staff were accommodating and very flexible. The rooms were nice size, restaurants lovely and overall the place was beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nice room, a bit small but still comfortable. Staff were friendly, grounds beautiful with amazing view of the river from wonderful rooftop bar. Breakfast is expensive but you can get deals on their website. We used the family deal with included breakfast for 4, and the tour of West Point, which was great. Kids loved exploring all the army memorabilia in the lobby.

Room Tip: As for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

From the time we arrived until we left,the hotel employees and front desk made us feel very welcome ...we enjoyed our meals and hospitality...
Its great to know you can still enjoy old time courtesy and helpfullness -
from a large and busy hotel like the Thayer-In West Point....
and the food and drinks were superb...and our room was great-
it's nice to be able to send you a Thank You..for a Job "Well Done"
Sincerely
Gene B.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had our wedding reception at the Thayer Hotel, and I would recommend the place to anyone. The hotel has put a great deal of money into renovations, and it shows. The guest rooms are lovely, and the reception space is stunning. Some of the rooms are still undergoing renovations, but outside of those the hotel is amazing.
Everyone at the hotel went above and beyond to make sure our wedding was everything we wanted.
For the reception, we used the large ballroom, which gave us use of the outdoor patio and grassy area. This was great, especially when it got hot during the reception and people could get outside for some air. I note that the hotel materials say the ballroom can hold 240 - I would suggest, for a seated dinner, not to go near that number. We had approximately 170 people and I wouldn't have wanted more than a few above that to be comfortable, and as I mentioned, when everyone was up and dancing it did get warm in the room.
The appetizers were very well received, and dinner was even better than during our tasting. The food arrived hot - which isn't always a given for a large event, and was very tasty. If I had to find a negative, it was that the portions were huge! The wedding package comes with a cake from a local bakery, and it might be the best cake I've ever had.
I could not have been more pleased with my experience, and my wedding was everything I dreamed it would be. I am so glad the Thayer management has decided to renovate and update this beautiful and historic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My husband was at West Point to play in a golf tournament & we spent one night here. We have stayed at the Thayer several times (years ago) & this was our best stay ever. The personnel at the front desk were very friendly & helpful at check-in and were able to give us a room with a river view. The room was fairly large with a king size bed, desk & chair, a sm. couch that could be converted to a bed, sm. dresser and a flat screen TV. The room was very clean & the carpeting looked new. The bathroom was large and had 1 sink. Our room was on the 2nd floor & faced the outdoor Zulu Bar. It was a very rainy night so the bar was closed. I did wonder had the bar been open if I would have heard any noise or music in our room. The lobby and public areas were very nice. We had dinner in the dining room and were given the choice of the buffet or ala carte. We chose the buffet which had a wonderful selection of salads, main courses and an incredible dessert table. Our stay was not over a busy weekend so we received an excellent rate.

The hotel still needs to provide better towels. One of our bath towels had a very large hole in it (over 4 inches long) and it was thread bar with another area about to tear. We had at least 3 different brands of towels in the room. We did get a replacement towel from the front desk. Two small items - 1. we were provided with only 1 coffee mug instead of 2 mugs and 2. The wallpaper around one end of the tub was peeling.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Historic trust facility with great sports bar But unfriendly bartender and fine restaurant dining with excellent service
Out king room was spacious with a great view and the newly renovated bath was nicer than most
The fitness center was closed during our visit and novations continue in the banquet area of the facity

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Thayer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thayer Hotel

Address: 674 Thayer Road, West Point, NY 10996
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > West Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in West Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thayer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the most unique addresses in the world, The Historic Thayer Hotel at West Point has been a celebrated part of American history since 1926. The Thayer Hotel at West Point consists of 151 luxurious guest rooms with 23 recently renovated executive suites and 10 elegant venues for meetings, weddings and special events. The Thayer Hotel offers a perfect home base for amazing group itineraries in the historic Hudson River Valley with a plethora of nearby attractions, cultural institutions, historical landmarks and award-winning dining options at MacArthur's Riverview Restaurant, General Patton's Tavern, and Zulu Time Rooftop Bar and Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Thayer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayer Hotel West Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thayer Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.