We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to revisit the past” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Point Museum

West Point Museum
2110 New South Post Rd., West Point, NY
845-938-3590
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The mission of the West Point Museum is to collect, preserve, exhibit, and interpret historically significant artifacts pertaining to the United States Military Academy, United States Army and the Profession of Arms. The Museum will supplement cadet academic, cultural and military instruction and provide educational programs and services for military and civilian personnel. As a public institution, the museum stimulates interest in the United States Military Academy, the United States Army and the Military profession. In addition to the main museum building in Olmsted Hall, the Museum also administers Fort Putnam which it operates seasonally. The Museum also maintains part of its collection on display on Post with the cannon collection on Trophy Point, The superintendant portraits in the Cadet Mess and artwork in many of the academic and administrative buildings. All visitors to the United States Military Academy are encouraged to tour the Museum to view what is considered to be the oldest and largest diversified public collection of miltaria in the Western Hemisphere.
Bullard, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A great place to revisit the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The West Point Museum has many artifacts that depict the growth of the Academy. I learned a great deal about many of our great military leaders. A must see if you are visiting the Academy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    50
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
north bergen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Trip to West Point to celebrate July 4,2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My sister and I spent July 4, 2013 visiting West Point, not only was it fourth of July, but my nephew happened to be there. He is in the United States Army serving his country, his unit was just sent there to train new cadets who just arrived, if any young men and women are interested in attending West Point is it a great institution..as we also toured the the Visitor,s Center,and Museum, tour was well worth it, great military artifacts, great scenes of Hudson Valley our only disappoint--we did not get to see my nephew, even thou he and his unit marched in parade down Main Street--he had orders that he had to return to his barracks,,,,I wish him the best and pray he never goes overseas, so it was kind of bitter sweet to visit West Point on this Fourth of July 2013!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Military Fabric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've been to WP several times, once in 1975 with my parents, 1981 on a class trip, 1985 for a military recruiting event, then 1987 for a high school social, and lastly a family outing in 2000. Each trip was a little different and I did not go to the museum each time.

Though the museum is one of the great attractions at WP it is recommended to leave some time to explore the areas nearby; take in the views of the Hudson and imagine the part that the artillery pieces played in defending the mouth of the river.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent History of West Point and Military History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you are a history buff, you cannot skip the West Point Visitor's Center and West Point Museum. They are filled with interesting exhibits, kiosks and movies about The US Military Academy as well as the history of major battles, history of war and small and large weapons displays.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“For History buffs, "a must see"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Not only a great museum, but a wonderful scenic ride to get there too! Museum is small enough to really enjoy in just a few hours for the casual history buff, but longer for those with the time to capture the feel and soak up the history here.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Point Museum also viewed

 

Been to West Point Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Point Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.