We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a monument to our nation's history and military!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of United States Military Academy

United States Military Academy
Trophy Point, West Point, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/bus tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The premier US military academy.
Lindon, Utah
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wow! What a monument to our nation's history and military!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

For someone from Texas and the West, a trip to the Hudson River Valley is a huge eye-opener. I was astounded by the views from Trophy Point overlooking the Hudson River and the steep cliffs. We took a one-hour bus tour that included the Cadet Chapel and a drive through the campus. Green lawns and historic buildings and homes. We just happened to be across the street at Trophy Point when a cadet proposed to his girlfriend--that was cool. We were there on a Friday before a home game--excitement in the air. I think it was even Army vs. Navy! Be aware that there are no bus tours on the day of football games, so check the schedule. Also be aware that you cannot make advance reservations except for very large parties. We wanted to take the 2-hour bus tour, but it was sold out when we arrived 45 minutes ahead of the start time. Luckily, we were able to take the 1-hour tour. Lastly and most importantly, you must pay cash!!!! for the bus tour. They do not accept checks or credit cards. I don't think this was stated on their website--very important piece of information!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    35
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
mattpoisett
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We visited West Point and took a bus tour. The tour was excellent a two hour tour of the facility. We saw the formation, cemetery, chapel and football stadium. A lot of history and nice to see the cadets.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stb1228
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go For a Football Home Game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was there over a weekend and stayed at the Thayer. The tour is the best way to see and experience the campus. I did the one hour tour and it included the Cadet Chapel and Trophy Point. Both are incredible.

On our second day we attended a home game. The cadet section is incredible to see and the pre-game ceremony which includes cadets parachuting into the stadium was awesome.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Everyone needs to see West Point”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great tour. This is a beautiful setting and the tour adds that to the details of the Military Academy. The tour lasts an hour and covers the monuments, buildings and history of this american treasure. Add this to a tour of the Hudson River Valley

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The visitors' center is very informative. It has many interesting displays to capture your attention while waiting for your tour. The tour is a MUST. We thoroughly enjoyed the 2 hour tour with a very knowledgeable guide.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed United States Military Academy also viewed

 

Been to United States Military Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage United States Military Academy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.