We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finglen- a haven for explorers, travellers and holiday makers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finglen House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Finglen House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Finglen House Bed & Breakfast
Campsie Glen G66 7AZ, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Campsie Glen B&B and Inns
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Finglen- a haven for explorers, travellers and holiday makers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Finglen is the perfect retreat for anyone exploring the Trossachs, taking a city tour of Glasgow or Edinburgh. Set in an idyllic woodland location, the house is a homely, yet stylish place to relax and is lovingly maintained by Sabrina and Douglas, who are always on hand to provide refreshment, advice or information on local walks and eateries. Our family of four were warmly welcomed and encouraged to treat the house as a second home. The girls loved the friendly dogs, cats and chickens as well as the tasty Scottish breakfast and comfy beds. We cannot think of a nicer place to stay when visiting the area and would heartily recommend everyone to pay Finglen a visit. We guarantee you will want to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Welcomed by a friendly host and two lovely cocker spaniels. A very pretty location not too far from Loch Lomand, Glasgow and Stirling. They had a fire, tea and cakes ready for our arrival. The room was spacious and the bed was large and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with fresh eggs straight from the chickens. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Finglen House was a perfect stop-off for us on our outward and return journeys to Kintyre. We were travelling with two young children and found our hosts to be extremely helpful, accommodating and flexible with regard to our needs. They managed to acquire a travel cot in time for our stay so we didn't need to fit ours in the car. They provided a small room perfect for our 4 year old, complete with a nearby shelf of children's books! It was great having our own sitting room complete with roaring fire to relax in after a day of driving and our double room with en suite was very comfortable. The breakfasts were particularly delicious and the surrounding countryside, although we didn't get a chance to explore it, was beautiful even though just north of Glasgow. Our hosts were great with the children and more than tolerant of messy and prying fingers! We would definitely recommend Finglen House to others. However, what particularly stood out for us above other B&B's was the friendly and personal welcome we received on both our visits that make you feel like you're being welcomed as a valued guest into somebody's home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here just for one night on our way further north. We were four adults and two dogs and were very comfortable indeed and made to feel very welcome. The photos on the Finglen website do not do justice to the surroundings or the house. The drive is shared with a current or former 'Schoenstatt' (Beautiful Place) community who knew what they were doing when they chose this spot. Inside the house is warm and welcoming and clearly a well loved and well lived in family home. We were lucky to see it still decorated for Christmas with log fires and a huge Christmas tree. It is more than 'dog friendly' - it is 'dog appreciative'. The bedrooms are large and very comfortable indeed. In the morning we enjoyed a delicious breaksfast and lingered over conversation with Sabrina one of the owners. Sadly we only had one night to spare other wise it is the kind of place where you could simply unwind and relax for days without noticing the time passing. We cannot thank them enough for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful - the bathroom that is en suite is slightly easier for anyone with mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here with our two retrievers on a trip to the Vet school - what a lovely house in a pretty location and a lovely couple who made us very welcome. We had the beautiful lounge with log fire all to ourselves in the evening and we spent a very comfortable and peaceful night here. The bedroom was spacious and quiet with nice views over the garden. Breakfast was delicious - we would highly recommend staying here and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Finglen Bed and Breakfast was a lovely place to spend a few days. It's a great location near Glasgow and Loch Lomond and many other places to visit but it's in a beautiful, quiet, restful location. There is a burn running through the property which adds to the peaceful feeling. Everything about this house was welcoming; not just Sabrina, our hostess, but also the fires in the living areas and the pets. We would highly recommend this b and b and would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We were wanting a few quiet, relaxing days during our 2 month+ travels from Australia.How fortunate we were to discover Finglen House; a real find! It is in a superb, peaceful, wooded setting, only 15 minutes from Glasgow, although you would think you were deep in the highlands. Also close to Loch Lomond.
We were warmly welcomed by Sabrina and later by Douglas. We immediately felt relaxed and at home, and really enjoyed their company and appreciated their recommendations for dining out and places to visit.
Breakfast was yummy, especially Sabrina's muesli, and Douglas's poached eggs were perfect. We had the use of a charming living room with open fire blazing and fresh flowers. Our bedroom was extremely comfortable and conducive to sleep.

We thoroughly recommend this property and its delightful hosts.

Thank you very much Sabrina and Douglas; we would love to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finglen House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finglen House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Campsie Glen G66 7AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Dunbartonshire > Campsie Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Campsie Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finglen House nestles at the foot of the spectacular Campsie Hills just 30 minutes to the north of Glasgow & 30 minutes South of Loch Lomond. Finglen enjoys an idyllic setting bordered on one side by the Fin Burn, home to herons, dippers. Grey wagtail and mallard, and on the other by mature woodland. The beautiful eight acre garden gives a feeling of complete seclusion, rare for a property so close to Glasgow. Finglen provides an excellent base for expeditions to Glasgow, Edinburgh and Stirling or for exploring and experiencing the sublime beauty of Loch Lomond and the Trossachs. You could even ride your bike all the way to Edinburgh or Glasgow without touching a road. Douglas works as a documentary cameraman and has travelled extensively in Scotland and is happy to give advice on expeditions further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Finglen House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finglen House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.