We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their name deceiving.. Food is not bar fare but a 5-Star Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dog Bar Restaurant

Dog Bar Restaurant
1913 Davis Rd, West Falls, NY 14170
(716) 652-5550
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in West Falls
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Their name deceiving.. Food is not bar fare but a 5-Star Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were in the area late and decided to drop by for some light fare and found this restaurant delightful and surprisingly good. They had the usual entrees such as steak, chicken, lamb and seafood but the meals are not to be considered usual. The aroma within the establishment made us hungry and we opted for the lighter items on the menu. My spouse had shrimp and rice. I had scallops and salad and it was exactly what we wanted in the quantity and quality that we wanted.
The staff are charming and helpful. The restaurant has artifacts throughout to inform you what was in the area. The rooms are nice to feel that you are not inside a large room and lends itself to a romantic feel. We will be definitely drop in again when we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome atmosphere..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

After winning $40 worth of gift certificates in a raffle, we decided to take the 30 minute drive out to this restaurant. It was worth the drive. All the employees were very nice, very interesting artifacts, large dining area with enough privacy from room to room. At first we thought it was a bit pricy, but boy were we wrong. The amount of food definitely fulfilled the price. All three of our meals were delicious. Let's say we didn't leave hungry! I will definitely recommend the Dog Bar to others, and we will be back again!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Our favorite place for steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and I go here whenever we're craving a good steak. I WILL NOT order steak anywhere else because I know it just won't compare. It is considered casual fine dining so, in other words, your jeans are acceptable. At first glance the price might seem a little high, but you'll get more food than you know what to do with.

Service can be slow, but each dish is prepared fresh as you order it...nothing is pre-prepared. I have often recommended The Dog Bar to our friends with this one warning. "This is NOT a dinner and a movie kind of restaurant. This is the kind of restaurant you go to when you are prepared to wait for good food and have a nice conversation with whomever you're with". If we go in knowing that, the wait doesn't usually bother me or my husband.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, better atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Over the years I have been to the Dog Bar. I have always had great tasting food, whether it was meat or seafood, it was always tasty. We live approximately 45 minutes from the restaurant, but always look forward to the nice ride. After dinner, we usually stop for dessert at the Butterwood Bakery, very close by. If you like great food, casual attire and friendly people, stop at the Dog Bar for dinner and drinks. You won't be disappointed!!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York, United States
1 review
“Awesome food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had the sea bass and it was the best sea bass I've ever had and it was a generous portion. Soup, salad, sea bass, potato, vegetable & roll for $23 - how can you go wrong? The lamb and lobster also looked great. Highly recommend a visit to the Dog Bar!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog Bar Restaurant also viewed

Been to Dog Bar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dog Bar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.