We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eggsentric Cafe

Eggsentric Cafe
1047 Purangi Road, Whitianga 2856, New Zealand
07 866 0307
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 37 Restaurants in Whitianga
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Coromandel, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely meal with 3 of us ordering seafood and the 4th person ordering the duck. All meals were well presented and very tasty. Disappointing was the lack of choice for dessert. They had run out of 2 of the 6 dishes offered. The chocolate was 'to die for' but not good for the waistline!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    9
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decor and setting tatty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by for lunch and could only get seating out back. The table and chairs looked dirty and the decor was very tatty. The food and coffee were excellent but did not compensate for the setting. Others may find it quirky, I found it hill billy. The location deserves better. As does the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quirky relaxed restaurant with interesting food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay in Whitianga.

The place has quite a boheimian / hippyish feel and I believe they play live music regularly.

We had some very nice dishes including Green lipped mussels in a sort of oriental sauce and local fish well cooked with Lemony rissotto. Very nice and fairly priced.

they even lent us their mozzie spray.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WLG
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yummy cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Only went here for dessert as we were still full from a previous meal, the cheesecake was worth it though and yummy! Great ambiance!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Overall had a good evening. I chose the veggy option on the menu and it was great. Then I had the sticky toffee pudding - which I saw being put in the microwave from my table, which isn't too good.
The service isn't great at this place, but the food has some finesse to it.
It's a bit overpriced but there aren't many other options in the area. The atmosphere is nice though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eggsentric Cafe also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Cooks Beach, Whitianga
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Eggsentric Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eggsentric Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.