We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuaotunu Bay Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kuaotunu Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Kuaotunu Bay Lodge
State Highway 25 | Kuaotunu / Wharekaho, RD2, Whitianga, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 38 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Shipley, West Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Kuaotunu Bay Lodge is a fantastic B&B accommodation, the room we had was very comfortable and the views from our room accross the bay are quite spectacular. The gardens are beautifully tended and all in all a very peaceful location.
Breakfast was exceptionally good to start the day, and a bottle of wine on the decking outsde our room in the evening was the perfect ending to the day. Bill and Lorraine will even provide plates and utensils in your room if you wish to have a snck in your room to go with that bottle of wine. As I say Perfect!
Bill and Lorraine were so helpful and their local knowledge second to none, providing maps and information whenever we asked, plus the bonus of free wifi and they even let us use their laptop.
All in all a wonderful stay and would love to go back if we are able.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful location, right on the beach at Kuaotunubay bay. Superb views from the bedroom window. Bill & Lorraine were perfect hosts, helpful in every way and produce an excellent breakfast. The B&B is appointed to a very high standard, with very comfortable beds etc. we would love to stay again?

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very friendly hosts. Stunning views from the room. Excellent breakfast. The perfect B&B!! The only disadvantage is that the B&B is not very easy to find. However, once you are there.. this is easily forgotten.. ;) For travellers: take care: the B&B is not in Whitianga but in Kuaotunu.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Bill and Lorraine have created a wonderful home in the Coromandel and it was definitely the wow factor for us four Brits touring New Zealand. The vast window views and the breakfast deck outside are breathtaking, all enhanced by a well thought out garden and local mature plantings. We stayed in the well appointed studio and our friends in a room that looked out over the lawn and coast. Breakfasts were excellent and the rooms comfortable and if the area wasn't so beautiful there would be no incentive to get out of the comfy beds with quality linen. I should simply write: see the other 5 star comments - they are all spot on.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

When you arrive you know it`s like going back to your old home and when you look from your room across the well tended lawn and gardens to the beach beyond, you know there is no better place.Wether it is the warm friendship of Bill and Lorraine, the freedom to wander through their spacious yet cosy home, the garden setting or the views across the bay, I don`t know but it all adds up to a perfect stay. Breakfast on the wide deck is wonderful and we stayed four days and on each we walked the 2km beach and only once met one person.There is no need to dash about to tourist spots just stay here and soak it all up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

A truly wonderful place to stay. Our room was spacious, beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean, from which we enjoyed breathtaking views across the ocean. There is a big, bright open plan aspect to the property yet it retains a very cosy ambiance. However, the overiding memory we will take with us is the warmth and generosity of Bill & Lorraine, our delightful hosts, who made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

This is a wonderful place to stay in the Coromandel Region. We loved the remote location, very scenic and quiet. The lodge is stunning. We had an end room that was spacious and beautifully appointed with a large private bathroom. French doors opened to a lovely private patio with a view to the sea and the beach. Breakfast was wonderful and so elegantly served. We ate on the main patio with a beautiful view. Bill and Lorraine were most welcoming and informative. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kuaotunu Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuaotunu Bay Lodge

Address: State Highway 25 | Kuaotunu / Wharekaho, RD2, Whitianga, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Kuaotunu Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuaotunu Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.