We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carole” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mana-Nui Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mana-Nui Motel to your Saves list
Mana-Nui Motel
20 Albert Street | PO Box 35, Whitianga 3542, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Carole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Been here a few years ago. Very clean,comfortable bed. Microwave and tea,coffee facilitys. Handy to everything. Very nice hosts,made our short stay enjoyable,also enjoyed the pool.
Carole & Bob Larnder

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Repeat business is very important to us. Thank you for your kind words. Phone or direct email for our best rates. Regards Mervyn and Joanne Trebes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Loved everything about our 3 night stay here.
Owners very friendly and knowlegable and want to make sure everyone enjoys their stay.
Unti was spacious, clean and well equipped. Loved the separate bedrooms and the concrete walls in our older style unit kept it cool and soundproof.
Location is excellent, very central with easy walk to beach, ferry and town.
Pool was clean and inviting.
Would reccommend this little gem to everyone and hope to stay again soon.
Free wifi vouchers given- one for each device, only small amount, but all I needed.
Rate was good for Xmas time for family of 4.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the older style concrete block with 2 separate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for staying. We look forward to hosting you for any future stay. Phone us and you will get our best rate. Regards Mervyn and Joanne Trebes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I love Whitianga and The Coromandel region. One my fave places to visit in NZ. Mana Nui is a great little spot that is central to everything in Whitianga. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable and there was a big screen TV mounted to the wall. I stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed my stay. I found the owners to be friendly and accommodating. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
It was great hosting you, and Yes, Whitianga and the Coromandel is one of the premier destinations in New Zealand. Safe journeys and maybe a return trip in the future. Regards Mervyn and Joanne Trebes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I have just read a few reviews on this Motel. I can only but speak very highly of the Motel, the units, location and the cleanliness. The owners go out there to make my accommodation perfect. I have been staying at this Motel for a number of years and have always been happy with my stay. Where else could you stay in Whitianga at a reasonable rate and just about on the great beach etc.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for returning often and we hope to be able to keep up the good service. Great guests who understand the real world make hosting enjoyable. Regards Mervyn and Joanne Trebes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

If you like lots of rules, this is the place for you! They include: take your shoes off before entering your unit, sleep between the sheets and not between the sheet and the blanket - $30 fine if you do (why would you and how do they know?), don't use the Spa without letting the owners know, $30 for late check out, $5 if you don't wash up etc. Coffee and tea supplies will be topped up each day but if you want any more, they will be charged.

Wifi is free for the first 100MB only - surely like water and electricity, it should be free these days.

The motel consists of an old wing, built about 40 years ago and a much newer wing. We had a studio in the new wing for three nights. It was of good size with a large TV and comfortable bed although the pillows were rather lumpy. There was a small kitchenette but only really suitable for simple breakfasts. There was no chest of drawers or similar for clothes so it is a matter of living out of your suitcase. There was poor sound insulation between neighbours and although we had pretty quiet ones you still hear them snoring, farting and going to the toilet during the night. Our unit was clean and tidy with modern fittings.

It is situated in the main road so is handy for shops and some cafés and fast food restaurants. It is within easy walking distance of the ferry jetty and one of the excellent beaches.

Really there is nothing wrong with this place but for some reason we just didn't like the owners ethos. We come on holiday to get away from petty rules and bureaucracy and although we know there are behavioural standards we should comply with, we would prefer that they were not listen so completely. Considerate people do most of these things anyway, inconsiderate ones will ignore them.

They just need to chill out a bit more to make it a pleasant stay. As it is, it's rather like being back at school.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your great comments. We live in the real world here at Mana-Nui Motel of multi culturalism, differing society and guest expectations, where as you put it "Considerate people do most of these things anyway..." may be true of certain groups but are not true and relevant as what they use to be for many travellers of differing cultures.
As such, thanks for promoting our policies and expectations as we again chill out and look forward to another great 10 years of hosting our valued and future considerate guests in the knowledge that we are providing them with clean, comfortable and presentable units.
Keep up the "livingwhilewecan" attitude.
Regards Mervyn and Joanne Trebes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at this motel for 3 nights last week and were pleasantly surprised at how clean and tidy the unit was compared to the price. The prices were quite reasonable so we were not expecting sure a nice unit. The owners are very accomodating and friendly and went out of their way to accomodate us for the third night. The kids enjoyed the movies that were played in the TV system and the spa pool and cold pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thanks for the kind words. Real people, real expectations and great guests
Regards Mervyn and Joanne Trebes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Had a short stay in one of the newer units, very clean and tidy with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Bathroom a bit small especially the shower box , could add to some laughs for some body shapes! The hosts were very good, they obviously really love the area and provided some great tips of what to do. Location is right at the end of the shops, a short walk to beach and Cooks beach ferry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Regards Mervyn and Joanne Trebes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mana-Nui Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana-Nui Motel

Address: 20 Albert Street | PO Box 35, Whitianga 3542, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mana-Nui Motel is Centrally located in Whitianga and has 12 ground floor units offering a clean and comfortable stay. 5 family and 7 spacious studio units. Swimming pool, covered spa pool, Large LED LCD Flat Screen Televisions, 5 channel Sky TV, WiFi available. All units have some form of cooking facilities, kitchens / kitchenettes. Most standard motel items / facilities available. Family environment, closest motel to shopping centre. Short flat walk to beach, cafes, restaurants, shops, wharf, marina, museum and bowling green. Ample parking. Phone or visit our web site for the best and cheapest guaranteed rates. Owner operators Mervyn and Joanne Trebes extend their hospitality and welcome your patronage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mana-Nui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mana-Nui Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.