We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people and great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mana-Nui Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mana-Nui Motel to your Saves list
Mana-Nui Motel
20 Albert Street | PO Box 35, Whitianga 3542, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
München/Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great people and great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Mana-Nui is for sure not the most modern motel you have seen. But the cordial and friendly hosts, the location in the city centre and the fact that it's really clean, tidy and well kept make totally up for that.
I recommend this place and would come back anytime.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your great and honest review. We do appreciate constructive comments and would certainly welcome you back. We host guests to the best of our ability within the limitations of our building and property. Thank you from Merv and Jo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds with great linen and well appointed rooms. Love the huge flat screen TV that I can plug my camera into to view pics. Had a swim and spa on site and walked to restaurants, river and ocean whilst being right in town. Genial hosts who protect their clients with their long experience in the industry. Stayed 4 days and will be back. Maureen and Gordon

Room Tip: 2 bedroom with full cooking facilities for families Studio for couples wanting less cooking facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. Your repeat custom has certainly been appreciated, we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Thank you Merv for going above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. You took great care to ensure Jacqui and I had everything we needed and her wheelchair could fit into the bathroom & bedroom easily.

Unit was close to everything, clean & tidy with comfortable beds and plenty of space. I found the retro chic decor charming and was happy to have the heat pump & a nice big TV in the room. We both thought the price was very reasonable

Thanks again Merv & we hope to come back

Room Tip: If you are in a wheelchair the front unit is great and has heaps of beds if you are in a group - 3 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Great guests do make our hosting easier. We enjoyed your stay and hope to be of service to you again in the future. Thank you from Merv and Jo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fantastic service, great location. Loved the spa pool... a little expensive we thought for the dated rooms (were were in the older section) but they were very clean and tidy and had everything we needed. Beds were nice and firm and the best ice-cream shop in Whitianga is right across the road! Also the best fish n chips we've had in a long time (the one right on the corner, not the other one). Thanks heaps. We had a fantastic time Easter weekend.

Room Tip: Choose the unit(s) closest to the spa pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Merv and Joanne run a great operation with fantastic customer service. If you want a great location, clean and presentable units and a well managed motel this is the one for you. Some may say the units are a bit old, but the owners do a very good job of maintaining them and they would be hard to fault. Thanks for taking such good care of us and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Your kind words appreciated by us both. Great guests make for enjoyable hosting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Thanks to Joanne and Merv for the best service in a motel we have had yet! Exactly what we booked and asked for. Rooms were always well kept; with plently of space for three archers and their gear. Perfectly located for a walk to the beach, dinner in town or an icecream across the road. Thanks for having us, this is our first choice for the tournament next year!
Sarah - Hamilton

Room Tip: This unit suited us three adults, but could take two singles and a couple no worries. Washer and dry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trebes, Owner at Mana-Nui Motel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thankyou for booking and staying with us followed by your kind words in your review. Your patronage is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Spent two nights in Whitianga at the Mana-Nui Motel, great central location. Our Unit 11 appeared to be nicely updated, very clean, fresh look. Hosts Joanne and Mervyn were attentive to all our needs, right down to the morning paper! Great location, we would definitely recommend it. Beautiful part of New Zealand! Thanks for the memories, Paul and Lilli

Room Tip: One set of the units are newer, our Unit 11 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mana-Nui Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana-Nui Motel

Address: 20 Albert Street | PO Box 35, Whitianga 3542, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mana-Nui Motel is Centrally located in Whitianga and has 12 ground floor units offering a clean and comfortable stay. 5 family and 7 spacious studio units. Swimming pool, covered spa pool, Large LED LCD Flat Screen Televisions, 5 channel Sky TV, WiFi available. All units have some form of cooking facilities, kitchens / kitchenettes. Most standard motel items / facilities available. Family environment, closest motel to shopping centre. Short flat walk to beach, cafes, restaurants, shops, wharf, marina, museum and bowling green. Ample parking. Phone or visit our web site for the best and cheapest guaranteed rates. Owner operators Mervyn and Joanne Trebes extend their hospitality and welcome your patronage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mana-Nui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mana-Nui Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.