We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flaxhaven Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flaxhaven Lodge
Save
You added Flaxhaven Lodge to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   995 Purangi Road | Flaxmill Bay, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 38 Whitianga B&B and Inns
Auckland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

We only spent one night at this B&B but thoroughly enjoyed it. We arrived mid-afternoon and were met by our very welcoming hosts, who laid on coffee, tea, and freshly baked cakes!

Before showing us to our room (very clean and well maintained), John and Lee provided us with tips for dinner, daytime activities, and gave us some background to the area - useful as we're new to NZ.

Breakfast the next morning was great and we were definitely made to feel at home. Our hosts sat and had coffee with us and chatted, even though we were supposed to have checked out already. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great so we weren't able to make the most of the beautiful gardens and surroundings but we would definitely go back a second time.

Definitely recommend a stop here, if you like beautiful scenary, a relaxing stay and want to get away from it all.

  • Liked — Fantastic hosts, and great location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed at Flaxhaven Lodge for two nights in March and wish we could have stayed much longer. The property is situated in the most picturesque settings and everything about our stay there was simply delightful. Our hosts John and Lee are not only professional but warm, gracious and extremely helpful with arrangements we had to make while staying there. When we arrived, they not only suggested a great local restaurant for dinner (Eggcentric) but also offered to make our reservations. We enjoyed our meal there so much, we returned the following night.
The rooms were amazing, beautiful and stylish decor, and we also had fresh flowers waiting for us in our room.
The breakfast was a treat in itself and easily one of the best meals we had: different kinds of muesli, an array of fresh fruit from their garden, fresh avocados, as well as beautifully prepared hot breakfast. The hosts made us feel completely at home. We would not hesitate to go back and stay there again and I'm sure we will!
Thank you John and Lee.

  • Liked — everything!
  • Disliked — no complains
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed at Flaxhaven lodge and found it superb it was very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were great - although i found that the breakfast museli and fruit were taken away quickly and i would have liked to have taken a second helping as i didn't take the hot breakfast selection. The hosts were very friendly and informative and our stay was very relaxed in a fantastic spot.

  • Liked — relaxed atmosphere and cleanliness
  • Disliked — the breakfast choice was taken away to quickly would have liked second helping
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

This property has only been open just over a year and i'm so glad we found it and spent three nights here.

The lodge has two rooms, which consist of a large bedroom, spacious bathroom, lounge with some kitchen facilities and outside decking area set in beautiful gardens (complete with a family of quail). They have been decorated to a very high standard.

It's just five minutes walk to the beach and you can get to Whitianga by ferry (2 minutes trip - $4 return) in just 15 mins walk.

John and Lee are perfect hosts, happy to advise on what's going on nearby, various walks, book restaurants on your behalf and they even lent us a shovel when we visited Hot Water Beach. They used to run an award winning cafe and the breakfasts at Flaxhaven were fantastic.

We were really sorry to leave Flaxhaven. If you want to stay in a beautiful part of the Coromandel but don't want to be in the main tourist area then this is the place to come - peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings with bars/restaurants a short walk / drive away.

  • Liked — The perfect hosts
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2007

Wow what a find! John and Lee have created a most enjoyable accommodation that is within walking distance to the beach and the ferry to Whitianga. The property is new, clean and very comfortable located in a quiet garden setting. They are great hosts and even anticipated our need for a restaurant reservation when we arrived late on the first day. I wholeheartedly recommend Flaxhaven if you are planning a few days on the beautiful Coromandel peninsula.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flaxhaven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flaxhaven Lodge

Address: 995 Purangi Road | Flaxmill Bay, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Flaxhaven Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flaxhaven Lodge is uniquely situated alongside picturesque Flaxmill Bay, near Cathedral Cove Marine Reserve and Hot Water Beach, yet central to countryside and town. 4 white safe sandy beaches and a great restaurant are within a few minutes walk. At Flaxhaven Lodge there is a glimpse of the sea, but essentially this is a garden setting, spacious quiet and peaceful yet with bars/restaurants a short walk, drive or quaint ferry ride away. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flaxhaven Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.