We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not beachside as described” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans Resort Whitianga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oceans Resort Whitianga to your Saves list
Oceans Resort Whitianga
18 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Chester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not beachside as described”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

We had a two bed apartment but used as a one bedromed one. Nothing wrong with apartment but would have apreciated air con. Our only complaint that the property is decribed as beachside and it is not.It is a street back & maybe some parts may have an ocean view we expected to be beachside !!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    39
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
145
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Loved our stay at Oceans Resort.
The apartment was spacious, well appointed and immaculately clean.
Whitianga is a great little town and the Oceans Resort is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Stayed here for three nights in December '10. Excellent accomodation. As noted on tripadvisor it is a place with individual owners. Our unit was well equiped and spacious. Not that clean, but it was off season, so it might have been empty for some weeks.

The place has a strange feeling, as the resort is a combination of holiday homes and permanent residents, so we sometimes felt like a kind of outsiders. However, this doesnt change the fact that it is an excellent place to spend your holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceans18, Owner at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
We appreciate your review of Oceans Resort Whitianga. We apologise that you felt our usually high standard of cleaning was not met during your stay and we have raised your concern with our cleaning team. We are pleased however, that overall, you enjoyed your stay at the resort and found the accommodation standard excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW SOUTH WALES
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We absolutely loved the Oceans Resort. The 2 Bedroom Apartment was spotless and beautifully presented with an Ocean View. The Hosts were also very friendly and informative.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stopped in Whitianga for a rest day between hikes. It was perfect, the drive here was stunning and the apartment was immaculate. Everything you could ask for. The self catering facilities were brilliant, much better than we'd come to expect. It was just what we needed to recharge our batteries. The beach was round the corner and The Lost Spring spa was a short walk away. Whitianga is a very sleepy little town but for a one night stop it was everything we needed. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Brand new motel, highly recommended. Rooms are very modern, well-furnished. Kind staff. Very clean and well located.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Checked in by Vicky, a perky Kiwi, if there ever was one. Got an upgrade because a friend recommended the place to me, a nice bonus.
Place can be confusing, as we stopped to check in where it first says “Oceans Resort”, but where we stayed & actually checked in was behind all that.
The place was clean, modern, plenty of room, easy walk to beach, downtown area & restaurants. Interesting tidbit, is there are no shelf's in the bathroom at all, have to use windowsill.
Vicky personifies the entire Kiwi’s we came to know on this trip throughout New Zealand north & south, helpful, courteous, charming, just an absolute delight. The real bonus for us on this trip was the Kiwi’s, without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Address: 18 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitianga
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans Resort Whitianga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.