We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Nice place for holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans Resort Whitianga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oceans Resort Whitianga to your Saves list
Oceans Resort Whitianga
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place for holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were allocated a triple story 2 bedroom apartment for a family of 5. there was a ground floor where you entered with garaging and half finished downstairs room but bathroom was complete, 1st floor living/dining and kitchen with balcony off lounge, and top floor bedrooms and bathroom. I hadn't read the comments on the listing from TripAdvisor that these are privately owned and managed by third parties. When we had feedback/issues (maintenance etc) we were told "we'll let the owners know". So felt there was a bit of lack of responsibility from the otherwise very helpful people at the front desk.
Pros: a spacious area for families, very quiet at the end of the complex (we were in 35) and noise between apartments (they are joined on each side) minimal. Facilities such as the pool and playground are great for the kids and the driveways safe enough for scootering. Lots of kids and families about so everyone was very careful. Sea view from the master bedroom window was nice.
Cons: noise travels up the stairwell to the bedrooms and can be a problem if you have young kids that go to bed early. 2 flights of steep stairs a hazard for infants/toddlers, and a lot of climbing which may not be a bad thing. Linens could do with an upgrade - thin polyester sheeting and duvet, weird memory foam mattress and odd smell in the master bedroom (think it might have been the mattress) and the quality of furniture and bathroom fittings on the cheap side. deck was missing an umbrella and sunny only in the first half of the day, went into shade in the afternoon due to the design of the partitions. No view from here except that of the opposite apartments. Sky TV advertised to have a lot of channels but none of the movie ones which is really all you want to watch when on holiday in the evenings. Would be a good idea for a 2nd TV in kids room to keep them entertained. The clothesline at the back of the apartment is cold and in shade so the washing never dried. Use the dryer or do the unsightly thing and hang out on the balcony!
I'd stay here again but ask about the apartments available first. It would be good to have the units rated here by number as I'm sure they differ vastly.

Room Tip: Ask about the apartment first - as they are all owned privately and differ in features and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    47
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
70
161
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were allocated a very spacious, modern and well-equipped apartment, which had a very homely feel with the ornaments and pictures. We were also fortunate in having sea view. We appreciated the full laundry facilities in the garage, the well-equipped kitchen and free Wifi. We also liked the heated pool and being able to borrow spades for our visit Hot Water Beach. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and everything is within walking distance (or a short drive). There is also access to the beach. The only thing it lacked, which might be an issue for longer stays, is some drawers or shelves (we lived mostly out of the suitcase as a result) and I could imagine the bedrooms on the top floor get very hot at the height of summer - bit this is really only nit-picking as we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed for the second time at Ocean's Resort and weren't disappointed. Large, modern, spacious apartments a stone's throw from the the beach and town. Tennis court and swimming pool available. Really good value for money, even at the holiday premium rate. My only suggestion would be a bbq on the balcony and a doorbell / pager at reception. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is across the street from the beach and within walking distance to restaurants. The one-bedroom apartment is quite big and modern. There is a full kitchen which is well equipped, dishwasher and washer/dryer. There is a good size balcony and free wifi. Nice outdoor pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked a one bedroom apartment through Oceans Resort via booking.com and we were not disappointed. We to given an apartment with a ocean view - lovely. Apartment was modern and well set out and very good value. Staff friendly, great service. Would highly recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thanks for the review! Was lovely having you here! see you here again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Excellent accommodation in a lovely setting. The apartment was terrific - plenty of space, very well equipped kitchen, washing/drying facilities and a nice little balcony with a view to the ocean. Parking right outside was a bonus and it's only a short walk to shops,restaurants and the beach. Free wi-fi too, which we discovered is quite rare in NZ. Staff were very helpful and we would highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

These apartments are an almost perfect holiday choice. The apartment itself is over two levels with a garage beneath, giving it three levels. Don't be fooled into thinking these are "just a few stairs" as they aren't of course, going straight up from one level to the next. If you are disabled, have health issues, or babies to lug up and down this might be worth bearing in mind. However if none of these things are going to bother you, the apartments are terrific - extremely clean, tastefully decorated and free wifi thrown in (thank you so, so much!) for good measure. We were only able to stay for two nights but the washing machine and powder supplied were a godsend for travellers like us. Very well equipped in every other possible way too. Our unit faced east-west and as it was an abnormally hot period, some electric fans would have helped. Unlike some other reviewers, we did not get any help whatsoever on anything like restaurants or places to visit from the reception desk (we even backed onto the hot pool but didnt know it!) so unlike us, it might be worth asking them. I recommend the little boat trip to Cathedral Rock. None of the apartments is beach front and only very few have anything one would regard as an ocean view apart from glimpses from verandahs. But it is only a few minutes away so it is actually nicer to get out and walk along it than just look at it! Town centre about 10 minutes walk away and good supermarket is a small drive. It sounds like I am grizzling about this Resort where I really am not - it was warm, very roomy, well equipped and comfortable and a delight to stay at. I highly recommend it and would go back in a heart beat. Wish I was there now!

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing east-west as they can be very hot indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Address: 18 Eyre Street | 50 Metres Down the Drive, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitianga
#2 Family Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceans Resort Whitianga 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans Resort Whitianga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.