We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans Resort Whitianga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oceans Resort Whitianga to your Saves list
Oceans Resort Whitianga
18 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We tried the Information Centre and was pointed in this direction. A two bedroom apartment on two levels, downstairs bed room with own toilet facilities and everything else on the first floor. Well maintained and heaps of room with a balcony. Wifi great reception and virtually free, 200gb per night. The only downside was the lack of Air con which was desperately required on those sticky nights. Reception really helpful. Give this a thumbs up even though the Air con was missing. Oh by the way you have your own parking spot/garage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    39
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
145
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

our third visit and the quality is still maintained and the resort is always clean and well maintained.We actually for various reasons stayed about a month there in two different types of apartment, all well stocked with equipment in the kitchen and good TV etc. Wifi continues to be a bit hit or miss but this is down to the area rather than the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful review. Pleased to hear affirmation of our hard work pays off. It's lovely to have guests return over and over again - knowing each time, the standard will remain high. We are in line for new wifi! Thank you for your continued support and I look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I must tell you all about the wonderful place I have been staying at in new zealand. The name of the town is Whittianga, which was awesome, but more to the point the property I stayed at was simply perfection personified!! Number 32 Oceans resort was just stunning. From the amazing decor, art work, to the space itself - everything about number 32 was excellent! The beds were superb. Fully equipped laundry,kitchen, sky tv, lounge area, and even a bike I could use. Plenty of room for 6 to stay comfortably. Lovely neighbours, very friendly. Great pool, and tennis courts. Great views. Exceptionally well managed. All in all a simply perfect place to stay. I would recommend it to anyone one.

Room Tip: Number 32 has great views of the sea and we even saw dolphins
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Annie, thank you! You are so kind! What a wonderfully genuine review. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was on three levels with fairly steep steps, so those with young children beware. The apartment was nicely furnished with a full kitchen and laundry. The fittings were nice, though there were a couple of minor maintenance issues (blown lights and one broken fitting). Convenient to town, heated pool, tennis courts and a great outlook from the upper levels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piha, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You get personalised service as soon as you get to the reception, you get escorted to your apartment by the manager on a bike, you soon realise why he has one to get around the spacious complex. The welcome includes a tour of the apartment and its facilities. The apartment is spacious, clean and well presented. If only we had longer than a night to enjoy it. I will say though that they are well insulated so the rooms are hot at night. This may make autumn, winter & spring stays even more enjoyable. A great place to retreat to!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I were experiencing our first international trip, our first New Zealand hotel night - we were not disappointed with our inaugural accommodations! From the hosts teaching us how to pronounce "Whitianga" (with a "Ph" sound for the "Wh") to giving us a complimentary Oceans Resort shoulder bag that held all of our extra stuff for the remainder of the three-week tour of New Zealand, the service and accommodations were excellent! Our spacious and clean condo was beyond adequate, with the bonus of having our own washing machine and dryer to wash the clothes we'd been in since leaving Boise, Idaho, over 24 hours earlier! We love the protocol that we experienced almost everywhere in showing us to our accommodations, putting the milk in the fridge (always having a fridge and coffee fixins') and providing informative answers to all of our touristy questions (what's up with the shovels?)!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Bet, Thank you for your lovely review. We're pleased we were your first stop and happy to set the bar high. You're not the first to ask about the 'shovels' - Plenty of our guests don't know what they're for but it only takes 3 words for them to know... Hot Water Beach.
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and trust the rest of your travels were just as good. Enjoy! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, wished we could have stayed 5 nights and ended our trip on a positive but alas they were booked solid. Great spacious apartments, private laundry and outdoor hanging area, very comfortable bed and pillows, great large windows for a beautiful breeze, clean, private deck and drive. Quiet resort (some are privately owned), a block from the quaint town and in walking distance from the grocery store. Pamela is a great asset to the Resort. I left my rings and watch in the apartment one day while on a day trip and was happy to see them still there on my return (trustworthy housekeeper). Fresh towels every day. We would stay here again if in the area. Only con was that there is no bathroom counter just a small sink. We had some nice pies in town, don't know the name of the place but the word Bakery was on the roof and it's near the end of the main street across from a gas station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Address: 18 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitianga
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans Resort Whitianga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.