We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“geat stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceans Resort Whitianga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oceans Resort Whitianga to your Saves list
Oceans Resort Whitianga
18 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Whitianga
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“geat stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was one of our best apartments we ever had in New Zealand. Stylish, clean, perfect located...simply great! We can surely recommend it for families. Will coime back :-)
The price was absolutely OK - 210 NZD / Night.

Room Tip: Some houses with two levels offer an nice sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much. We are flattered to hear we were the best apartment you stayed in! Like you, many of our guests choose to stay an extra night or 2 after they see how well equipped the apartments are. I trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Safe travels, see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    40
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
61
146
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I would echo all the positive reviews in this forum. We were given a fully equipped 2 storey condo for excellent value... Wifi was non existent but when we needed it, we stepped out to the children playground and did the Internet while the kids played... Would stay again if ever we went to Whitianga again.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights last week and it was better than we had hoped for! The apartment was lovely, well kept and spacious. The heated pool and playground were a big hit with the kids, and the location - right on the beach and a short walk to town - couldnt be better. We had an apartment with wi-fi and while it wasn't a strong signal it was good enough for us. Ive heard wi-fi is not good anywhere on the Coromandel Peninsula due to the hills, so having any at all was great! Also, if your room doesnt have it you can still use the free wi-fi in communal areas - like the sunny courtyard or around the pool. The staff were friendly and helpful, cant wait to go back again!

Room Tip: Decide if wi-fi or a view is more important to you, they told us that they are working on upgrading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our second longish stay at Oceans Resort. This time for 8 nights and in apartment 63 again. This is a wonderfully spacious place and really is a home from home. The apartment is really a semi- detached 2 storey house and as we were using it as a one bedroom apartment we had the upper floor plus the washing machine on the ground floor. The kitchen was well equipped and the large TV in the lounge had a large array of channels including 3 Skysports channels. the complex has a swimming pool and tennis court. Towels are provided. Location is excellent as it is really close to the town, the main supermarket and the beach. Other brilliant beaches are at Kuaotunu and Matarangi both 20 to 25 kilometres away on the road to Coromandel town.
The resort has free wi-fi and even though our apartment was really close to reception, we found that the signal failed frequently. we always got it back but service was often annoyingly slow and we kept expecting the next fail. We found the bed a bit soft.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed here two nights in February in a one bedroom apartment. We were very impressed with the accommodations - it was like a townhouse! The open plan kitchen/dining/living area was spacious and tidy, and the balcony was great, with a wonderful sea view. The washer/dryer was a great feature and allowed us to catch up on laundry from our earlier travels. Walking to the downtown area with the restaurants was only about 10 minutes, and the beach was only a few steps away. We didn't go to the pool, but it looked very nice and appealing. Personally, I feel that it is MUCH nicer than the website leads on. I knew it would be an OK place to stay when I booked, but after visiting, I would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

As other reviews state, this is a beautifully maintained suite for a good price. The only issue with my suite - #13 was that the mattresses were pretty poor quality, and super hard. I don't know if I'd stay in this suite again because of this. Otherwise, everything was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We've stayed here each year for the last few years and love it! Our family stays in two apartments and they have everything you could want. I would seriously live here if I could! It's quiet, clean, great pool and play area, scooters and bikes available for free hire, walking distance to town and beach. I can't wait to come back, I miss it already!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceans18, Manager at Oceans Resort Whitianga, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Amazing review! Thank you! Lots of our guests don't know the bikes are free to use, but they are! I'm glad you and the family still continue to enjoy it here as much as we do! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceans Resort Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceans Resort Whitianga

Address: 18 Eyre Street, Whitianga 3510, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitianga
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next holiday in apartment style accommodation at competitive rates. Oceans Resort offers contemporary motel accommodation in self catering apartments. Choose to utilise the upper floor at a 1 bedroom price (serviced daily) perfect for couples or business travel, or choose to use the full apartment at a 2 bedroom price or include the use of the the 'sleep out' - both perfect for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceans Resort Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceans Resort Whitianga Hotel Whitianga
Oceans Hotel Whitianga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceans Resort Whitianga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.