We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Boats, Whitianga

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Banana Boats, Whitianga
Buffalo Beach, Whitianga, New Zealand
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Rotorua, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I was concerned about my 7 year old on the banana boat but nothing more important for the owners than safety!! All had a great ride! Extremely fun, very friendly owners, worth every dollar you spend!!! Enjoy the experience!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"WOW"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Banana boating at Christmas for the first time and got roped in to trying the hellbender!! Eeek!! It was Awesome and had to do it again!! Worth the pain the next day from having to pull myself back up after falling off! Tip: don't fall off!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good fun but tainted by lack of organisation on owners part”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

A really fun experience, thoroughly enjoyed by our 7 yr olds-but ruined for the adults by the fact we were told the wait wd be 1 hour (which was fine), which turned into TWO hrs as they continued to put other families ahead of us in the queue, despite us enquiring several times what the delay was-and continuing to be fobbed off by ridiculous excuses.
How difficult is it to write a name on a white board, with a time beside it-and cross names off as you go...?? Hardly rocket science. Guess that's why these people run a BANANA BOAT for a living... We wont be back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great value entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This has to be one of the best value entertainment deals around.
The scenic tour to Cooks Beach is great fun.
I would be wary of taking kids under around 7 on anything but the kids ride along the beach (which they will love) as the trips are quite long and the sea can be rougher than it looks so a lot of hanging on involved - fun for the adults and older kids but could be difficult for littlies .

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you're after an activity for anyone then give this a go. We had a 4 and 6 year old with us and went with dad on a kids ride with the kids and they loved it.. The older ones went on a thrill ride they also loved it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Boats, Whitianga also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Banana Boats, Whitianga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Boats, Whitianga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.